We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sewer Room - the worst in years” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn by the River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn by the River to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn by the River
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   602 West River Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sewer Room - the worst in years”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I should have known at check-in, this would not end well. The broken English, the old-style credit card processing, the lack of a "quite" room as requested. Things got worse. The room had a bad sewer smell - but it was the last available room, even though we'd booked a month in advance and got to the hotel in the afternoon. We soon found out why. When someone used the water in the floor above us - black sewer water bubbled up in the tub, filling the entire bottom. Out of desperation, we flushed our toilet, which reduced the pressure and drained the tub. Every time water was used upstairs - the same thing happened - even when my wife was taking a shower... yuk. The following morning the "three" tables in the breakfast area were full - seeing only a loaf of discount bread, two jars of "Jiff" peanut butter, and a couple covered tupperware containers - we headed straight for check-out. Upon hearing my complaint about the sewer issues, the owner offered no solution other than, "Oh, I didn't know - I'll call maintanance". I seriously doubt this was the first time this happened in that room and I doubt the next "tenant" will have a different experience. The absolute worst hotel experience I've had in the past 10 years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
29
31
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The owner went out of his way to make sure we had exactly what we wanted. He wasn't sure which room we would want before we arrived, so he had the A/C running in both so that we could choose the one we wanted. Very friendly environment, great, clean facility and in a perfect location to explore the town.

Room Tip: Second floor is great for a nice view of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice owner. When checking in the smell of curry was overwhelming. Asked for a non-smoking room which we got, however the outside smoking area was directly out side our door. The room was marginal bordering on questionable. If you have to stay here, ask for a room on the second floor or a cabin. On the first floor you hear every step taken upstairs all night, and you get to enjoy the smokers right outside your door. A suggestion for the owner - move the cigarette butt containers and the smoking area across the parking lot. Americas Best Value Inn by the River is off my list. I'm sticking to major chains from now on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. If none are available consider a different hotel/motel...unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

very nice owner, we lost car key in car, owner help us a lot.
clean and comfortable room, good location to beautiful downtown.
we very enjoy staying here,
very nice owner, we lost car key in car, owner help us a lot.
clean and comfortable room, good location to beautiful downtown.
we very enjoy staying here,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Very, very nice people who own/run the motel, but the A/c never cooled the room. We arrived during 100 F weather after a long, exhausting day only to have NO air conditioning! It was the worst stay ever! And on top of this, the food was sorry and there wasn't a decent cup of coffe to find in the whole town. I'm sticking to major chains from now on.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved staying here!! We stayed in one of their cabins, and it was a great 3 days! It was VERY clean and comfy, and the view of the beautiful downtown city was outstanding. We enjoyed walking to get espresso across the street, and walking to the bakery a block away. The pooll was a great relief on the hot days. I would highly recommend this hotel. A great hotel for the price! The owners were very helpful and kind, always doing anything for their customers!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Well located next to the river walk, heated pool, very large and clean rooms, fridge and microwave, across from restaurants, nice welcome and nice people. Breakfast is in a small room and includes cereal, waffles, breads, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn by the River

Address: 602 West River Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn by the River 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn by the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.