We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inexpensive and clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dollar Inn Hot Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dollar Inn Hot Springs to your Saves list
Dollar Inn Hot Springs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   402 Battle Mountain Avenue, Hot Springs, SD 57747 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Manitoba
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“inexpensive and clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

Great place to stay! Has a microwave and fridge in all the rooms. breakfast was poor, but we went to Dale's by Evan's plunge which has the most amazing home-cooked meals. Rooms were clean and staff were great. Lots of wasps by doors, I would suggest some wasp traps for summer.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
23
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

This is an older, single level inn. Some of the rooms are behind the office, the rest are across the street. Smallish rooms, but adequate for us, queen size beds were comfortable. Nice shower with excellent water pressure. Microwave in room, as well as a small fridge....a very small fridge, just big enough to keep a few drinks and some food for sandwiches in it.
Little, old air conditioner with seemingly no difference between 'low cool' to 'super cool' in air speed - it always kept up the same noise level, but WOW, didi it cool the room! 98 degrees outside and we considered more than a few times turning it off!!
Wireless internet was available, but only on the side where the office was, so having been across the street, I made quite a few trips over with my laptop. A little inconvenient.
Breakfast was free, but so basic even I was suprised. Donuts, a few pastries, coffee & juice. A toaster & some bread would have made a difference.
The room's window could also have done with a 'sheer' curtain - to allow the main blind to be pulled back, while still giving privacy.

Although the housekeeping was ok, it was the only real negative of our stay. Every day something was missed, alternate items on alternate days were either not cleaned properly, or not replaced.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

I was looking for a clean, inexpensive room in Hot Springs, SD for a quick overnight rest stop enroute to Mount Rushmore from Colorado Springs. I didn't want to spend over $100 just to show up late and leave early. The Rodeway Inn fit the bill perfectly. I wasn't sure what to expect since I'd never stayed in a RI before. I found this particular hotel room to be clean, average sized (which was fine for me), and quiet. The night attendant even started the air conditioning for me before I arrived so the room would be cool when I checked in (it was nearly 100 degrees that day). Hot Springs is a quaint town and this hotel is a good choice. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

This is a nice and clean hotel. Comparing other accommodations in this area, the rate is reasonable. Free wireless internet is offered and speed is good. Microwave and refrigator are in room.

The free breakfast is just so-so.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dollar Inn Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dollar Inn Hot Springs

Address: 402 Battle Mountain Avenue, Hot Springs, SD 57747 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dollar Inn Hot Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dollar Inn Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Hot Springs
Hot Springs Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dollar Inn Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.