We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of USA Stay Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added USA Stay Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Highway 18 Bypass, Hot Springs, SD 57747 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hot Springs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
NEBRASKA
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 214 cities Reviews in 214 cities
435 helpful votes 435 helpful votes
“OK Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We reserved a suite and were given the Presidential Suite w/whirlpool. The suite was VERY spacious, however, it was a poor use of the space. There was plenty of room for another bed which was not utilized. I don't think our family has ever stayed in a suite before where we still had to use an air mattress for lack of beds. Also the sink was rather small, and there was a lot of wasted space in the bathroom. Not much for towel racks either. The closet was TINY.
We were unable to get several of the lights to turn on, and found the clock under the bed while looking to see if the lamps were plugged in. This seemed rather strange. Odd that the maid didn't notice the clock was missing.
There is no pool, only a hot tub. We were able to enjoy the whirlpool in our suite.
Otherwise, our stay was pleasant and comfortable.
Breakfast was very good with the exception of the scrambled eggs which were obviously powdered and nasty.
Location is very close to Mammoth Site. Good restaurant across street.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    58
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
49
49
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Haysville, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We were stopping thru on our way to Mt. rushmore. Very nice hotel but the beds were very hard. Difficult to sleep and woke up sore. Otherwise a very nice choice, much of what we've come to expect of Holiday Inn

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Overall great stay with big rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast with hot items, close by attractions. Rooms with microwave and refrigerator. Laundry facilities on site. Only negative was that there was no pool but, there was a hot tub and exercise facility. It was a quick stop with many attractions nearby so the pool was not missed much.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We were driving through late at night and decided to stop in Hot Springs. After checking in with the front desk to check availability, I was met with a very rude woman who informed me that the only room would cost us $175 and it was a smoking room. When asked about other hotels in the area, she said that we wouldn't find anything in town. Her tone and demeanor was not appreciated! We actually found another hotel with better service down the street. Don't stop here...keep going to the Motel 6!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Quiet location outside of town. Our room was clean and quiet. But the elevator was filthy and disgusting. The halls had not been vacuumed recently. One stairway air conditioner was leaking on the floor but still running full blast on a very cool morning. There is no pool and the hot tub-jacuzzi was empty and smelled really bad. The ice machine had worked in the evening, but had quit working in the morning.

We came down at 8 am for breakfast. The dining area was not very clean with no clean tables available and no one working the food or dining area. The eggs were quite rubbery and unappealing. Very limited bread, muffin and pastry selection. One four slice toaster - half of which was broken. This meant a long wait to toast something. The water dispenser was broken. The breakfast bar was not up to the usual HIE standards; in my opinion being truly sub-par to the many other HIE's I have stayed at. This HIE Hotel is falling into disrepair and neglect. The staff (mostly young 20-somethings) seemed uncaring, obviously uninspired, not friendly and truly untrained with no concern for their customers.

We will not stay here again. We would recommend the HIE in nearby Custer, SD as a nicer property in better condition.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

It's slighltly further removed from the actual town of Hot Springs than other properties, as it's (the only one) located on the bypass.

No complaints about this Holiday Inn Express: You will get exactly what you expect from this property.

No pool, but they have an indoor hot tub. Next door to a "family fun" type center.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Located on the Hot Springs Bypass, this was a quiet, very nice hotel. The room was quite clean, the linens and pillows comfortable, the bed excellent. All staff exceptionally pleasant & helpful. Essentially full breakfast, kept well stocked. The hot tub was exactly that - HOT. Great if you like it that way! No complaints at all about our stay here, would definitely stay here another time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to USA Stay Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Stay Hotel and Suites

Address: 1401 Highway 18 Bypass, Hot Springs, SD 57747 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hot Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — USA Stay Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POOL NOTICE: THE POOL IS CLOSED FOR RENOVATIONS THROUGH FEBRUARY 86 room hotel located in the beautiful southern Black Hills. Close to all attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your USA Stay Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Stay Hotel Hot Springs
Holiday Inn Hot Springs
Hot Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USA Stay Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.