We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest staff returned money accidently left in our room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of USA Stay Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added USA Stay Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Highway 18 Bypass, Hot Springs, SD 57747 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hot Springs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Mackinaw City, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Honest staff returned money accidently left in our room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were lucky to get a room for the night. We took a chance on this hotel and it sure was nice. Easy check-in and check-out. Suite was generous and like new. Pool looked fabulous, we didn't get the time to use it but we would if we came back that way again. We checked out in the morning and we were 100 miles down the road when we received a call from the front desk that I had left my 'make-up bag' in the room with money inside. They mailed the bag to my home address for me. There was $300 in that bag. It renewed my faith in humanity to experience their pure honesty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderFalls, Front Office Manager at USA Stay Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Sheryl C, Thanks for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are glad you received your makeup bag and money safely. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    58
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
49
49
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gering, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel although we are in Hot Springs frequently for appointments at the VA. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast bar offered several options. We were impressed with our room, large and comfortable with a microwave and refrigerator. This compared to some of the higher end hotel chains where we have stayed in other cities. Room was very clean and offered a sitting area and desk. The wired internet connection was not working and I had some trouble connecting to the wireless in my room. Since I was working one of the days we were there this connection was very important. When I spoke to the manager who was at the front desk she promptly rebooted the wireless router and this resolved the issue. The bed was a bit hard but that is common in many hotels overall it was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderFalls, Front Office Manager at USA Stay Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review. We appreciate all reviews as they help us to grow and update things as necessary. I'm glad you had a good stay. We are sorry for the internet issues and inconvenience. We hope you will choose us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights while visiting Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. Nicely decorated with large breakfast area And ample seating. The breakfast bar had a great variety to choose from and all fairly good. Comfortable rooms, size wise, but the beds should be upgraded.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for four nights and the staff was terrific. One deskclerk in particular who is from the area was nice enough to give me ideas for my intinerary. She told me what sights I could see in a day and even which sights and why some were more interesting then others.
she really helped me to have a great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have stayed here before and have been treated very well. The rooms are good size. There is a microwave and small refrigerator in the rooms. The staff is very friendly. If you can't find something you like at the breakfast buffet you are not trying. There is waffles, toast, English muffins, bagels, cinnamon rolls, egg omelets, hot oatmeal, bananas, oranges, apples, and even grapefruit, along with biscuits and gravy an assortment of dry cereals and coffee. Oh, and there is a washer and dryer on site. We will stay here again next time we come to Hot Springs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Right across the street from the Mammoth site. The breakfast was nice, the staff was working hard to keep up. The rooms were good size, beds were comfortable. They had a fitness room. Location was good! Overall satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We took our two boys (6 & 4) to South Dakota to see all the sights & create memories; we had a great stay at your hotel. We had breakfast (had to get there early, but hey, free breakfast), we used the pool & the staff were very friendly & quick. I called down for more coffee in our room, & we had more in less than 5 minutes. Clean, private & comfortable--we will stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to USA Stay Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Stay Hotel and Suites

Address: 1401 Highway 18 Bypass, Hot Springs, SD 57747 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hot Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — USA Stay Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POOL NOTICE: THE POOL IS CLOSED FOR RENOVATIONS THROUGH FEBRUARY 86 room hotel located in the beautiful southern Black Hills. Close to all attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your USA Stay Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Stay Hotel Hot Springs
Holiday Inn Hot Springs
Hot Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USA Stay Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.