We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of USA Stay Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added USA Stay Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Highway 18 Bypass, Hot Springs, SD 57747 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hot Springs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice overnight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Hotel was a basic Holiday Inn Express. We had traveled all day and needed some relaxation. We fixed a couple of drinks and went to the hot tub. The jets on the hot tub did not work and then there was a sign that no alcohol was allowed, O well. We drank our drinks as we sat in the hot water and went to bed.
Breakfast was very good for a hotel with breakfast included. There was an eff omelet and waffles.
This hotel was much more reasonable then the hotels in Keystone.
Hotel was clean and very nice.

  • Liked — Close to Mount Rushmore and Custard State Park
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    58
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
49
49
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

We loved this hotel! We were in room 210, which was a kids' suite room, with a little nook for the kids with a bunk bed in it, and a tv and a little table. The kids loved it! We were overlooking the highway, but it was pretty quiet. It was so clean, I didn't feel the need to spray everything down with Lysol. The whole hotel is smoke free, so it didn't stink. It's directly across from the Mammoth Site, a site where mammoth bones were found in the 70s and that was so neat. The breakfast was good--mostly starches, but some yogurt, and fruit. Great coffee. We saw a deer the morning we were leaving just out our window. We felt it was a great value for $139.99. We asked at the front desk about where to eat dinner and the woman was very frank when she said to avoid the new restaurant that had just opened "Wooly's", although the place she did recommend wasn't that great, either.

  • Liked — The kids' nook
  • Disliked — The town is pretty small
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

We had a family reunion over the 4th of July in Hot Springs, SD. Several families stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. We were all pleased by the condition of the hotel and the staff. Several times the staff allowed us to use the breakfast area at night to hold family gatherings. The staff went out of their way to help us in any way they could. Even the night desk clerk took the time to take a family picture of all of us. The rooms were spacious and well maintained. The breakfast was quite good and had a variety of items. The hotel was on the southern part of town but with Hot Springs being as small as it is, it only took a few minutes to go to any of the tourist spots. The Mammoth Site is right across from the hotel. Next door to the hotel is an arcade which was quite enjoyable for everyone. Wonderful hotel; wonderful staff.

  • Liked — The size of the rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

The oversized 2 queen room was huge. It included a seperate sitting area with a queen sized sofa couch, a plush chair and table. Breakfast was normal HI Express waffles and cerial.

The hotel appears new and very clean.

It is in convinient location with the Mammoth sight across the street and a drug/grocery store just down the road. Hot Springs is a fairly small town, so restaurants are not too far.

We were there during the off season, so many of the restaurants were closed for the season. We ate in the town cafe on the main street in town. We had to walk through the gun store to get to the cafe in the back (this is South Dakota afterall). The food was okay, the malts were fantastic.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

Clean hotel with friendly people. Breakfast needs work - hot water not hot to brew tea. Had tour group and they took over the hotel. A little insulted by the blue wash cloth for women to use to wash their faces ( they can't get the white ones clean?).

  • Liked — new hotel w/interior room doors
  • Disliked — hard to deal with tour group there
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

This looked to be quite a new hotel and at our budget of just under $100 we booked in. We found it to be very good, clean and very welcoming.A visit to the Mammoth site just across the road was very interesting and well worth the trip.
A very good breakfast in the morning with waffles and all the usual cereals.
We enjoyed our 1 night at this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly and clean
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, WY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

The oversized 2 queen room was huge. It included a seperate sitting area with a queen sized sofa couch, a plush chair and table. The staff was friendly. Great value!

  • Liked — The big room and the nice price.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to USA Stay Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Stay Hotel and Suites

Address: 1401 Highway 18 Bypass, Hot Springs, SD 57747 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hot Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — USA Stay Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POOL NOTICE: THE POOL IS CLOSED FOR RENOVATIONS THROUGH FEBRUARY 86 room hotel located in the beautiful southern Black Hills. Close to all attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your USA Stay Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Stay Hotel Hot Springs
Holiday Inn Hot Springs
Hot Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USA Stay Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.