We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in a poor town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of USA Stay Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added USA Stay Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
USA Stay Hotel and Suites
1401 Highway 18 Bypass, Hot Springs, SD 57747 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hot Springs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Hot Springs
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A good hotel in a poor town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in the southern black hills to be away from the majority of bikers attending the sturgis rally, and we just about got that right i think when we saw how bikers took over towns further north. However, we were pleased with this hotel and it was fine for our 3 night stay; a bonus was close to the mammoth site and a restaurant just across the road (closed 2 of the 3 nights we stayed). We had a look around hot springs one evening - beautiful buildings from the past but clearly a town struggling in the present and probably has been for years. Would have liked somewhere non-chain to eat but ate at pizza hut in the end. We thought it our best choice from a limited bunch of eating places. The hotel was reasonably busy but we had no problems getting a seat each day at breakfast time; helped by several people choosing to eat outside on the patio area. The free popcorn was certainly being used in the lobby and the little shop was very useful and sold decent wine too. Also handy for bottled water before travelling. We had no problems with any of the staff and service, unlike one or two other reviewers and might just have been lucky. Plenty of parking available and the rooms were very clean and comfortable with coffee machine, fridge and microwave. Patience is required with the speed of the one lift; several customers got very irritated with the relatively long wait in either direction at peak times. We wouldn't choose to stay in hot springs again as there is so little there and would stay further north if the sturgis bike rally wasn't on. However, this hotel is good value for those who choose hot springs and we would stay here again if we needed to stay in the vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    49
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
44
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We didn't know exactly what to expect in this small corner of southwest South Dakota, but this hotel (a refurbished former Holiday Inn) is really excellent. Our room was large and comfortable, with double beds, two chairs, couch, desk and an easy chair, along with fridge and microwave and wet bar. Everything worked well and the room itself (even though the hotel was full) was very, very quiet. They provide multiple luggage carts as well as have a popcorn machine at the lobby -- obviously the way to my heart! It is also ideally located for the Mammoth Site as well as Woolley's restaurant across the street. If we return to Hot Springs, this is definitely the place we will stay, and we recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed there August 4th, 2012. Could not check in until the moment of 3 PM as there was only 1 employee working and he had not had the time to check the rooms. We asked at 2:50 PM. When we got back there at 3:00 PM, the cowboy at the front desk was less than cordial. There were 5-6 teenagers "working" or should I say runnung the halls and flirting with one another. We went to check out the small pool and on the way back the chasing each other teenagers came around the corner and almost took our 2 yr old out. The elevator has not seen a vacuum since they opened Im sure. Room was filthy!! Even wearing socks grossed us out. Never again will we stay there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Traveling and staying in rooms in the Black Hills is at best a "crap shoot". (No, pun on Deadwood). My wife and I have stayed in expensive places where the rooms were less than worth the prices, and rooms where more affordable prices gave us sweet dreams. USA Stay was one of those places. The room was affordable and in one word; wonderful. Double queen beds w/ great mattresses, pillows that were soft, a comforter that was not bought at a flea market and a breakfast that was enjoyable. I wish there was more to do in Hot Springs, but we will be back soon to visit one of the best hotel's in the Black Hills. Thank you, Michael and Pat Poper

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had the President's suite. Seperate bedroom with TV, desk, chairs and bathroom and an adjoining door to a sofa bed, TV, fridge, MW, coffee maker, table and chairs and sink. The included breakfast started at 4:30 am so it was easy to get up and go on our travels at 6:30 am. Breakfast included fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, full sized donuts, juice, coffee, hot chocolate, oatmeal, cereal and more. Staff was friendly and hotel was clean. Has a pool and spa, but we chose to go to the Plunge water park with mineral pools and slides. GPS took us around in circles and over dirt roads into homes. Call and get an address that GPS will recognize as their property!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights the week of July 5th. Since there are 6 of us in the family, their suite with the 2 queens plus a sleeper sofa was the primary reason we stayed here. Two hotel rooms is costly so this was a great alternative! The location away from the main drags of downtown Hot Springs can be an issue for some, so just know before you go that you'll need to drive into town for anything as this place is right on the hwy with only 1 restaurant near.
The room was clean and basic. Appreciated the mini fridge & microwave as it seems like we typically use them with teens! The continental breakfast really needs to be advertised as just that and not the "hot breakfast" because the rock hard biscuits/gravy, inedible french toast, and starchy oatmeal in a crockpot doesn't really constitute a "hot breakfast". Hot items available would likely be a better fit. For a free meal though, it's fine and one just needs to keep their expectations to the basics. The staff was fine and friendly enough although no one could really recommend a place for dinner other than the place across the street. The staff might also consider paying more attention to the breakfast area in keeping things filled. Again, good basic service but don't expect them to anticipate needs or go out of their way for you. Even at that though, my real only complaint with this this hotel is their very cold and very tiny swimming pool. 4 kids cooped up in a car all day = need for pool they can romp around in. Luckily the town has an indoor pool we could go to and get rid of all that energy. If you don't need a pool, this won't be an issue for you. I'd stay here again if the price continues to be right for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I was trying to keep my mind open because of the low price during what seemed to be a biker festival. This was not the most impressive stay of my life.
When we first arrived, the girl who checked us in recommended not ordering the in-room pizza "because I always forget it and it will most likely be cold when I get around to taking it to your room." We then went to check out the room, which was fine, although the bedspread looked to be from the 80's, and it touched the pillows, when I know those things are cleaned maybe twice a year, so we ended up sleeping in sleeping bags and using our own pillows.
When we went to go grab those items, we tried entering through the side door, which wouldn't take our keys, no big deal, we decided to use the main entrance. While leaving, a gentleman outside smoking told us just to tug on the door, that it was broken and didn't lock, which is a huge security threat to me to have a door un-monitored and unlocked, even at 11pm.
Breakfast was fine, and free in the morning, and the gentleman who checked us out was friendly, but was backed up with a line in the morning with noone to help him, and it seemed like there was never a Manager on Duty, even on a Thursday morning.
Overall, pretty interesting stay. Great price, but that was about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to USA Stay Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Stay Hotel and Suites

Address: 1401 Highway 18 Bypass, Hot Springs, SD 57747 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hot Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POOL NOTICE: THE POOL IS CLOSED FOR RENOVATIONS THROUGH FEBRUARY 86 room hotel located in the beautiful southern Black Hills. Close to all attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your USA Stay Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Stay Hotel Hot Springs
Holiday Inn Hot Springs
Hot Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage USA Stay Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.