We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Springs Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rock River Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Rock River Resort
Save
You added Red Rock River Resort to your Saves list
603 North River Street, Hot Springs, SD   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Cedar City, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hot Springs Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a very nice and enjoyable hotel in a fun and interesting town, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We were comfortable in our room and the common areas. There is a great coffee shop and a spa in the hotel. The location in the center of town is convenient but also quiet. I plan to stay here again next year when we are in SD.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great historic building with nicely appointed rooms. Comfortable bed and furnishings. Accomodating staff. We did not use spa services but they looked nice. We were able to walk to restaurants for dinner and breakfast, and also enjoyed strolling along the river across the street.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room away from the street side of the building, as there is some noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and greatly enjoyed it. The historic sandstone building is beautiful, with lots of character and nicely updated. The rooms, though not fancy, are nicely decorated, comfortable and clean with good beds and pillows. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We did not use the spa, but it looks very inviting. There is a good little coffee shop I the lobby and several nice public rooms for sitting and using the free Wi-Fi. I would choose to stay here over any of the chain hotels in Hot Springs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidalia, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one evening during the Black Hills Motorcycle Rally. We had been riding all day so this place was like an oasis in the desert. A feeling of calm overtakes you as you enter. The helpful staff gives you the tour of the facilities and then shows you your room. Unlike most hotels you have 24 hour access to the hot tub and sauna rooms. A soak in the hot tub and then lounging in the dry sauna sand room was amazing. A very nice stay in a quaint little town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

On a recent road trip we veered a little more South than we needed to because this place looked so interesting. The staff is very friendly, and the rooms are all clean and beautifully decorated, each one unique. There is plenty of room in common areas, including access to a full-sized refrigerator. And, there's complimentary coffee in a common area in the morning.

If you stay here, pay the $10 extra for access to the spa! Hot tub, sauna and two infrared heat rooms are worth it. One of the rooms includes sand-covered floor that is then covered in a thick canvas tarp. It was so relaxing we nearly fell asleep.

We didn't have the chance to try the spa services because there were no appointments left. If you're interested in checking it out, make sure you book early. There is a nice little coffee shop on the first floor of the building. It offers a killer latte, but the only other breakfast food on offer is oatmeal or a buffolo jerky bar.

The town of Hot Springs itself is pretty, but since we arrived on a Sunday night we found it VERY quiet. Many of the small restaurants and shops near the hotel were closed, and there didn't seem to be many people about. (We ended up at Pizza Hut for supper.) We walked along the river though, and the architecture in the town is beautiful.

I'd love to see the town in action - and if I had a reason to head back to Hot Springs, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Got there on a sunday afternoon after riding 7 hours on are bikes was greeted with a huge smile and welcome by Emily. Was showed the hotel and are room by her, loved the decore and the quietness of the place. was offered a hand caring are bags up. we then took a walking tour of the park down the street and returned for are massages. well worth it after a 7 hour ride the whole time we were there was very enjoyable. Sit out front and watched a deer just trot down the sidewalk that evening. Was offered the paper by the next morning by the owner of the hotel even tho he was reading it, nice touch. Over all awesome place no kids in the spa area, very little noise, staff was awesome, very clean.Helped find a good place to eat if you ever get to Hot Springs you need to stay there and pamper your self and make sure you go to the sand room and get a massage.

Room Tip: room 209 one of the bigger rooms and on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were camping the night before and we really had a great time at Red Rock River Resort. Our room was very nice and we also used their SPA. The sand room was my favorite place and had my deep relaxation there. We love the hot tub as well and the coffee shop at lobby. It's a lovely place to stay in Hot Springs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Rock River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock River Resort

Address: 603 North River Street, Hot Springs, SD
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps it’s your first visit to the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota or maybe you've visited so often, you're looking for something new to discover. Begin your discovery at the Red Rock River Resort in historic Hot Springs. Located in the heart of the historic district, the Resort occupies one of the grand sandstone buildings designed and built by talented artisans at the turn of the last century. Today, enjoy luxurious rooms and all the pampering and health benefits of a full-service spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Rock River Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rock River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.