We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay as you travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rock River Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Rock River Resort
Save
You added Red Rock River Resort to your Saves list
603 North River Street, Hot Springs, SD   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Denver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay as you travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you find yourself in this area, this is a great, very charming place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable and the entire resort is beautifully done. The spa is available to guests throughout the evening and the hot tub and sauna rooms are classy and unique. There are three different saunas including one with a sand floor and another of granite. Wonderful! This is probably a better couples kind of place than what you would want with a family. Unfortunately, not any nice restaurants in town at all really and except for a great golf course (Southern Hills), not much for a getaway weekend here. But, for a stop along the road - can't beat it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montecito, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Victorian themed hotel that has interest. Old style room was large with sofa, coffee table, flat screen, refrig. Bath has the longest tub in town, I'm 6' and couldn't touch both ends at once! Had a nice massage in their spa. Lobby has a coffee bar, which I didn't try. Can view rooms on their web site, nice feature.
Improvements needed: Bed mattress is old and lumpy, windows are all sealed shut so no chance for fresh air, pillows are cheap foam. For $135, it should at least match quality of the chains.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

we were on a wing it road trip from Golden Colorado and happened upon it. My husband and I loved the charm some people would not. The creeky stairs up to the rooms for starters. We stayed in the largest of rooms # 202. It was quite large, clean and comfortable.It's simplicty is what is so charming about it. Great for couples and we found some great fun local attractions. We had breakfast (within walking distance) down the street at the bakery, fabulous with homemade breads. Afterwards I worked out by hitting the stairs outside across the street about a hundred plus straight up by an old church or the set right behind the Hotel that loop around. The scenery is beautiful. We found the cascade falls which is very unasumming from above but head over the hill and there are some great fun water falls. The natural springs pool in town was awesome with real river rock on the bottom. Just a shot down the road from Mount Rushmore. The drive is nice and stopping by and getting an awesome massage to work out the kinks from lots of walking is one reason to stay here. my husband can be hard to please and he loved it here. One of the best trips I've had.

Room Tip: Keep in mind its an older Hotel, that's part of the charm. Yes the rooms out front are alittle n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is downtown and has parking across the street. Rooms are large, high ceilings, bit of noise from street traffic but part of charm. The restoration of this historic building is quite good. Also has a spa and coffee bar. Rooms not condusive for working, laptop, etc. but very comfortable beds, nice furnishings, great art of the area.

Room Tip: All rooms on second floor and no elevator, must climb stairs, get staff to haul your bags upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

It's not perfect, but it is charming and very unusual. The receptionist and the rest of the people we met have been very responsive. The spa is a bonus, and so is the fresh delicious coffee which is freely available on the landing.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed at Red Rock River Resort recently. My stay was great; all my needs met with a smile. Immediately upon entering the hotel lobby you are welcomed by a very friendly & helpful staff. My room was very comfortable, the bed outfitted with luxury linens, 2 comfortable chairs and decorated in calming tones. The massage I received was very relaxing. The entire spa was rejuvenating after spending several days sightseeing around the region. It was nice to have the opportunity to make my self a cup of tea whenever I wanted. The Tea and or Coffee service was right outside the door to my room. A pretty little town, everyone there is so friendly. I'm recommending a stay there to all my friends if ever they are in the region. I hope to have the opportunity to visit again. Susan Matoska

Room Tip: Didn't have a fitness room,but the spa area was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had been driving for days, and really needed a rest. We found the Red Rock River Restaurant on line, and it sounded like just what we needed. I think there may have been one other room occupied while we were there, but it was very quiet, very peaceful, and our room was lovely. Yes, we had to climb the stairs one flight with our luggage; it wasn't that bad. No, there is no longer a restaurant in the hotel, nor breakfast. It was still a great place to stay, not cookie cutter, nice high ceilings, nice spa robes, nice everything.

Even better were the massages, working out all the kinks from our long drive. We thoroughly enjoyed the Mammoth Museum nearby, but found a very hard time trying to locate a restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Rock River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock River Resort

Address: 603 North River Street, Hot Springs, SD
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps it’s your first visit to the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota or maybe you've visited so often, you're looking for something new to discover. Begin your discovery at the Red Rock River Resort in historic Hot Springs. Located in the heart of the historic district, the Resort occupies one of the grand sandstone buildings designed and built by talented artisans at the turn of the last century. Today, enjoy luxurious rooms and all the pampering and health benefits of a full-service spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Rock River Hotel Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rock River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.