We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City owned springs and swimming pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evans Plunge

Evans Plunge
1145 North River Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747
+1 605-745-5165
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 things to do in Hot Springs
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest natural warm water indoor swimming pool. Consistently 87 degrees year-round, the Lakota called it "Minnekahta" meaning "warm water." Evans Plunge is proud to be open year round and offers both an indoor and an outdoor pool, plus a health club.
Hot Springs, South Dakota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“City owned springs and swimming pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Fresh water constantly feeding the pool. Be advised it is warm water and not hot. The slides and such are not like modern parks but you also don't have to put up with chlorine smell or wonder if someone is using the pool as a bathroom. The water changes itself too often.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    48
    33
    17
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Expensive and dated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Wow this is ridiculously expensive!the hot spring fed water was freezing when we went, one of the hot tubs was not working, the changing area had no privacy. It is dated and overpriced. I would not go back again!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy mn, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Evans plung”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The city of hot springs has taken over ownership,so it will be open for you to enjoy! Great family fun. the water is luke warm and very clean you can swim with your eye`s open no chlorine

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Evans Plunge over spring break. Very friendly staff, attentive lifeguards, clean/renovated. We had a great time on the slides, tarzan swing, and played water volleyball and basketball. We will come back and have told our all our friends and family about this wonderful place.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

A good place to spend the day on a rainy day, or during the winter. Lifeguards take their job weriously, and the set-up is safe.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Evans Plunge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evans Plunge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.