We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small town cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dale's Family Restaurant

Dale's Family Restaurant
745 Battle Mountain Ave, Hot Springs, SD 57747-1403
605-745-3028
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Valley
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A small town cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had breakfast here and it was your typical small town cafe. Nothing fancy but all our meal was prepared fine. Nothing special since it was your typical breakfast fare. Staff were friendly and checked to make sure your meal was fine. Avearage pricing not our of line for what you got.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    17
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Round Lake Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Good salad bar, variety, reasonable price. The portions were small and not real tastey. Much to choose from.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Real local place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This place is busy because it seems to be the gathering place for the entire town, Everything that has been said about it, both pro and con, seems to be true. If you what a local scene, this is the place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We ate here a few times for breakfast, pretty good and very decent prices. I had the breakfast burrito, multiple times. The pancakes are HUGE.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great local, family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great local, family restaurant. The number of cars at lunchtime is the clue: locals vote yes. We ate here while on vacation, but wish we had someplace similar back home.

The kids had pancakes with eggs and meat. The eggs were done nicely, and everyone enjoyed their bacon and sausage, though to me the sausage appeared overdone. My wife had the Philly and declared it one of the best ever. I had the elk burger. It was done to perfection, but I can't say that it was much different from a standard hamburger. That's not the fault of the restaurant though, in my opinion.

We shared the previous reviewer's experience with the booming sound. The waitress said it is a kitchen door that is audible because of the layout of the building. After a short time, we stopped noticing.

In short, a great place to eat when you're in Hot Springs, SD.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dale's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dale's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dale's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.