We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a clean room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   737 South 6th Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Hot Springs
Left of Center
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not a clean room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We found many black hairs in the shower (And many long black hairs and my husband has no hair, and he was the first one to use the shower ) and some broken crayons. And a leftover ring. It's like it was never touched after someone left. Close to attractions and a few places to eat. Just know most dining options close early. ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am so sorry about the hair in the tub. I have had some new staff in the housekeeping department. I have re-trianed the staff on cleanliness and held a meeting with all housekeepers to prevent this in the future. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    33
    23
    17
    15
See reviews for
52
46
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Billerica, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have never written a review before but found the attitude of the front desk person "Sandy" and others so outrageously bad that I felt compelled to write.
When my room key did not work, I asked Sandy to reprogram the key. She went into a huff and said that the problem was mine and she did not want to reprogram the key unless my room mate was with me. I said my room mate was unavailable and I needed to get into my room. She huffed and puffed and reprogramed my key. When I politely commented that I would not stay at the facility again due to her attitude, she said "good".
When I got into my room there were no towels, so I called down to the front desk to get some. Someone came up with towels, knocked on the door and said "here are the towels for your room" in a very kurt way with, with no apology, The person acted as if I was putting them out by asking for towels.
I recommend that you do not stay at this facility due to the defective key system and the front desk's attitude.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I would like to apologize for the staff rudeness and lack of service. I have taken action against this person for her lack of service and poor attitude. Thank you for letting me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had trouble with the password they gave me to log onto my computer, as I went downstairs to ask for assistance, she finally told me it was the wrong password and gave me another key envelope and left.
The morning clerk was fine as I checked out as he was friendly. The older female clerk needs to find another job not dealing with people.
The continental breakfast was normal, but not enough seating, so sat outside in the nice weather. The tv was ok, just wish it was on an open table so you could move it to watch as you are on the desk working. I've had sliding shelves that made it so you could pull out the TVs.
Next stay in Hot Springs, I'll try another motel, as this was a lot of money for no more than motel 6.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
On behalf of our team i would like to apologize for the rude night clerk. I appreciate your feedback. I will take your comments and re-train my staff. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Dingy, dark, uninviting. Beds were extremely uncomfortable. Bathrooms were noisy and bright. Air conditioning was loud. Breakfast was a zoo with people all over the place and the staff was disorganized and slow. Check-in was unfriendly and slow. When we checked out, the desk person apologized for the bed saying many of the customers were complaining about the same thing. (I can't understand all the raving reviews....was this the same hotel?)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. If you could please give me more information on your stay so that I may address the issues. I attempted to look at your reservation and we do not have anyone under your name. Please contact me so that I may address your concerns. Thank you for your comments.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was Road Trip Adventure, celebrating daughter's retirement !!!
Were directed to Wooley's for dinner..which lead to learning about the
Mammoth Site, after Wild Horse Santuary.(which is WHY we FOUND YOU.
Your rooms so welcoming, clean, ..and freshly presented..and
kind persons in your employ!! Your breakfast buffets GRAND..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I really appreciate them. I am so happy your stay here was a nice one. We hope to have you come again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Price, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Wow--what an experience! This hotel is a vacation by itself! Loved the grounds, pool, service and ammenities. The only place to stay when visiting Hot Springs. Will be back for sure. Would love to have stayed for a few more days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannaatbestwestern, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn

Address: 737 South 6th Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Expedia and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hot Springs
Hot Springs Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.