We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book until you see the other places in town” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   737 South 6th Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Don't book until you see the other places in town”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We had driven hundreds of miles and were exhausted. As soon as we pulled into town we picked the first place we saw, assuming they were all going to be the same. Big mistake. We picked the most worn out, stinkiest, oldest of the lot. There are several other facilities, newer and cleaner. This one is really bad.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    37
    36
    20
    17
See reviews for
65
56
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maricopa, Arizona
Top Contributor
406 reviews 406 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here on our way to Mt. Rushmore. This hotel was clean and the Internet worked fine. The height of the toilet is perfect for a midget–common issue at many hotels. The so called HOT Breakfast was just a waffle. Unless you heated your own syrup, the waffle got cold fast. No bacon, no sausage, no eggs (other than hard boiled which are left out and give the area their special smell), no hash browns that really makes a HOT breakfast. I would avoid using the washer and dryer–why? It's a rip and tear top loader model with a rinse water setting that just barely covers your laundry–that's very rough on your clothing. Just try to add the softener without getting it directly on your clothing! Other than those two items, the hotel was OK but the HOT breakfast was not as advertised.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

A few years ago we stayed here, and had a very good experience. So, returning to this region we booked again, and this stay confirmed the previous review. Very good stay, good price/quality. I would still recommend this.
More info about our vacations in the USA, you can find at our website: http://www.visit-usa.be

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osmond, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The staff and rooms at this hotel are GREAT!! You can eat your breakfast inside or outside. The rooms were super clean! There is internet available and words can't express how well the Staff treat you. Fruit and cheese and crackers were available at the desk as soon as you arrive. They had a mailbox inside to mail postcards. They even had stamps available if you forgot to bring your own. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in 248. It was super clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed here one night and it was fine. The room was clean and the bed was what is to be expected at a BW. The Wifi is horrible so I actually had to sit down stairs in the breakfast area and work. I would recommend a 2nd floor room. The breakfast is the morning is nice. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Our hosts at the Best Western were great. Very helpful with our reservations, very friendly, and very helpful with all the kids and dogs during our visit to Hot Springs. Sixteen of us spent the weekend there and had a great time. The accommodations might not fit in the luxurious category, but they have everything a family group needs: an indoor pool (kind of small, but clean and adequate for small children) and hot tub, free continental-plus breakfast in the morning, internet access, ice and vending machines, etc. Those looking for absolute quiet might not be completely happy here, but you can't help having fun.

Room Tip: Try to get a second-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado City, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed Memorial weekend. Front desk businesslike, but would not say friendly. Nothing special about the room except noticed that the floor of the tub was dirty from accumulated footprints and the toilet bowl had the accumulated grime of not having a toilet brush used in it in a while. Minimal surface cleaning if any for additional days we stayed. Used own cleaning wipes. Little extras included, snacks set out in the evening, small selection of books to take and read for free, coffee set out in the evening. Pool was clean. Breakfast items were kept stocked and and areas kept clean. Coffee was hot, very good. WI-FI in room inconsistent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn

Address: 737 South 6th Street, Hot Springs, SD 57747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hot Springs
Hot Springs Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sundowner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.