We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long but educational walking tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilson's Creek National Battlefield

Wilson's Creek National Battlefield
6424 West Farm Road 182, Republic, MO 65738
417-732-2662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Republic
Type: Battlefields, Cultural
Attraction details
Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Long but educational walking tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Not sure if bicycles are allowed but that may be a better way to get around this Large area of historic buildings and places. This is pretty much an all morning or afternoon event, and you need to make sure you take enough supplies to accommodate.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    27
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plain City, Ohio
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really nice tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Before stopping, I didn't know much about this battle. In history you learn more about the battles fought with Lee, Grant or Sherman. It was a very informative tour. You don't have all the spectacular monuments that are found at some of the larger battlefield sites, but what is there is very interesting, particularly the Ray home & springhouse, which are the original buildings that were there at the time. The loop road isn't really long and only has 8 stops, but some stops have hiking trails off of the parking lot if you want to spend additional time & want more information. We also saw many walkers, runners & bikers, so it must also be a popular place for the locals.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Info about the early Civil War”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Wilson's Creek was the location of the second major battle in the Civil War. The first union general to be killed in action during the civil war was killed here. The park is set up for a brief 5 mile loop road tour with 8 stops and access to narratives via a cell phone call, or a more in depth visit by hiking any where in the park. A farm house (Ray House) built in 1851 that was used as a field hospital is the only building from 1861 that remains standing in the area of the battle. Volunteer docents are often manning several stations in the summer to explain what life was like in 1861 for the soldiers and families living in the area. The visitors center has a 25 minute video available on demand but the museum is being renovated and not open to the public.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I enjoy this park 3-4 times each month. We run, walk and bike the 5 mile route. We see lots of animals regularly including deer, turkey's, armadillos. I spotted a cougar once! A great way to spend a sunny day picnicking or learning about the Civil War.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wilson's Creek - well preserved historical site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our family toured the visitor center and really enjoyed the video. We took the historic drive, visited the home and spring house - a snake and frog were seen as well!! This type of site really brings history alive, you could imagine the people who lived in the home being surrounded by the war, and the site was well isolated from the city.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilson's Creek National Battlefield also viewed

 

Been to Wilson's Creek National Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.