We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Maintained and Must See!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilson's Creek National Battlefield

Wilson's Creek National Battlefield
6424 West Farm Road 182, Republic, MO 65738
417-732-2662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Republic
Type: Battlefields, Cultural
Attraction details
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nicely Maintained and Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

They called it the Bull Run of the west happening on August 10, 1861. War Between The States battlefield that is very informative. Great for everyone, but a Must See for the ones seeking out Civil War Battlefields! You can drive through it on a self guided tour in your own vehicle, stop and get out for the information stations and imagine as you view the particular sites, the history surrounding it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    27
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice historically relevant stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Visiting on a cold day in December made our visit less exhaustive than we would have liked, but we were pleased with what we found! There is a well made video about the battle in the visitors center that is definitely worth watching, especially as there are no exhibits at the present time (the ones they are working on look really incredible though!). The drive around the battlefield is fairly brief, but with several stops along the way with cell phone tours available I would imagine you could spend hours exploring. This battle doesn't have the recognition of Gettysburg or Antietam, etc. but it is much more interesting than many history textbooks would lead you to believe that a battle in Missouri could be.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
227 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
608 helpful votes 608 helpful votes
“Rolling hills terrain with interesting history pertaining to the Civil War.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Pros: $10/vehicle or $5/individual fee for token to get into the park; beautiful and surreal rolling hills; you can almost imagine being there during the bloody 6.5 hour battle wherein 501 people died. Local fauna walking around the area (deer, turkey, birds etc..); great short film giving details about the events before, during and after the battle.; interesting exhibits around the visitor area; easy hiking to the decisive areas in battle;

Cons: the Ray house was closed; it would have been nice to be able to enter it and take a look around; limited items in the gift shop; as with any attraction that is outdoors and being visited in cold weather- it’s not attractive to the young and elderly due to the uneven terrain and bland looking surroundings due to the bare trees.

Tips: take a bathroom break before entering the park- no washrooms; also beware of deer when driving- we saw quite a few.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Mid-thirties couple with 5 and 4 year old boys. We went here last week while on vacation in Branson. Wife and I love Civil War history and have visited several VA & PA sites. The attending Park Ranger was extremely friendly and helpful, great little 30 minute video about the battle and local history at the time. Admission is for the 5 mile loop around the battle field with several stops along the way with info plaques. Really liked the cell phone system for more in depth info at each stop.
We especially liked that we could go on little hikes at pretty much every stop. Made for a great afternoon with our young boys to explore and get a feel for the countryside and what it may have been like back then. We had a great time imagining being artillery crew shooting across the hills with the old cannons. Stop #1 has a great walking trail that goes along the creek. Saw wild turkeys crossing the road at one point which the boys loved. Also came across a large caterpillar and good sized little turtle. Boys were thrilled!
Does not have the monuments like other parks but does have one for BG Lyon, the first General killed in battle in the Civil War, pretty interesting.
Looked like the inside museum portion was being updated. The little narrated topo map with lights was helpful to visualize how the battle unfolded.
Overall we loved this park and had a great time. Could see us coming here often to get outdoors if we lived local.
Military get a free annual pass to all National Parks if you haven't picked yours up yet!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Battlefield Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Enjoyed this tour as a history fan. Love the new cell audio option. Some of the signage could use improvement (especially the hike to the sinkhole), but we enjoyed the tour overall. Tour guide at the Ray House was very knowledgeable!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilson's Creek National Battlefield also viewed

 

Been to Wilson's Creek National Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.