We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lebanon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Great location, spacious rooms (view was terrible), great (not busy) hotel bar, very friendly staff. Just a block or two away from Aronoff center, Jeff Ruby's, starbucks, and the stadiums. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments!!! I am happy to hear you got to enjoy the room, bar and downtown. We do wish we can do something about our view. We have been established here since 1882 and had the VIEW of VIEWS.
Times change and business builds so the building around us are there to stay. If I could I would.... :)
Thank you again and please come back for another stay.

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    168
    82
    44
    27
See reviews for
51
253
37
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

they have cleaning people taking snacks from the room and they charge your card for the thiefs. watch your card billing. charged us 73.00 for nothing we ate. they had no answer for what happened. will never stay there again. no parking except vallet 28.00

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Your feedback is important to us. We do find it important to also state that our housekeeping staff is nothing but honest and would not take or consume anything in your room. Please send us your information so we can look into this matter as you did not identify yourself.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Everything about this hotel was great: the room was very large, clean, and had wonderful amenities; the staff were friendly and helpful; the location was perfect; and the price seemed reasonable for everything we got. Leo at the front desk even got us a free room upgrade. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will assuredly be staying there again the next time I'm in Cincinnati.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Yes! Thanks for the kind words and your shout out to Leo. We will share your notes with him. Please come back soon for another stay!

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The staff was excellent! My wife called told them we were in town for a concert for my birthday and they gave us a brand newly remolded room it was very nice. Also had a complimentary breakfast part of travelzoo promotion food was excellent great service too! Hotel was very nice also close to great restaurants had lunch at Yard House would highly recommend great food 149 beers on tap! Thanks Cincinnatian hotel great trip Mark!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thanks Mark! I am so glad you chose us for your special occasion. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton OH
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed at the Cincinnatian one night to celebrate our anniversary. Everyone we spoke with was friendly and helping including Nydia the concierge. The only complaint was that our view looked out at an empty building, but there's nothing the hotel can do about that. I hope that people realize the gem available in Cincinnati.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Nidia will be thrilled to hear your kind words. She is a great addition to our team. You are correct in saying we cant do much about the view. In 1882 we had THE view but things change and businesses began. We hope you return soon for another stay!

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I can't say enough about the friendly and helpful staff. They make the Luxury of this beautiful old Hotel. Marble everywhere, views and atrium....Quiet refuge when needed from the vibrant activity of Downtown Cincinnati. So much comfort and beauty, and still very resonalble, when you figure you can valet park your car and still see everything.

Room Tip: I stayed in a 7th floor suite with a great view of the goings on downtown, yet not at all bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
That was so sweet of you to write! We are so thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us and we truly appreciate your kind words. Hopefully you will be back soon for another stay!

Sincerely,

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I had looked forward to our stay here and picked the Cincinattian after much research. I thought the balcony rooms seemed “quaint” and could picture enjoying a glass of wine after a long day. Boy was I wrong!
Avoid the balcony rooms at all cost! Firstly, they are not functional. No chairs and our door would not stay open. The “door” was really unsound proofed glassed. The first night was a Thursday, so relatively quiet. There were odd sounds that would echo up to the room—laughter, glasses clinking, a rumble of a cart. It seemed especially loud in the morning. But it was like Manhattan-level-noise and I could deal with it. Friday night was a whole different night. I swear it sounded like a loud party directly in our room. Shrieking, laughing, bellowing. I could hear it through ear plugs. My friend actually went into the bathroom to sleep. It was that bad. It was loud when we got to our room around 10ish and was only getting louder when I called the front desk at 1A. Even the front desk guy had to admit that designing a hotel around an atrium bar was probably not a good idea. He was very helpful and moved us to another room. One that faced out over the alley. Moving all of our stuff at 1AM was not pleasant.
Our first room featured an awful bed. It was soft, squeaky and felt like I was staying in my grandma’s old guest bed. The pillows were flat. The shower head barely put out any water. The sinks were oddly really low.
The new room was great. Normal city alley/street sounds. The bed in the second rooms was MUCH better. The shower head actually worked and put out water. These rooms are not large. They are not elegant decorated. But I do appreciated the quaintness and charm of an old hotel.
No coffee in either room. A pot of small coffee was around $11-12 with tip daily (Panera and Starbucks nearby). Free wi-fi, it worked pretty good. Valet was $28/night.
There are two main redeeming qualities of this hotel—the staff and the location. The staff was truly outstanding. The front desk, room service and valet were pleasant and accommodating. They guy who helped us find a new room was a trip saver…We walked pretty much everywhere. Up to Over-the-Rhine, to dinner every night, multiple bars. Can’t beat the location.
Soo, in closing, I would possibly consider returning only if guaranteed a NON-ATRIUM room.

Room Tip: Avoid the atrium rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Absolutely ask for an outside facing room. The weekends can lead to energized guests in the bar and I am sorry that kept you awake. We do offer complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning for the guests so please call down and our bell staff will be happy to bring you a cup. Thank you again for the feedback. We take all guests comments seriously.

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnatian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.