We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay. Beware of some of the restaurant staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Richmond
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay. Beware of some of the restaurant staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very nice hotel with large rooms and bathrooms. A downside for us was the overly stocked fridge as you have to remove things to put some of your own in. Also, the valets were very friendly and courteous. We had a great time and loved the decor. We had an atrium facing room and booked through the casino website for $70 a night versus $200+ rate on their website. Beware of the fine dining staff. I asked politely to see a fine dining menu from the host to make a dinner decision for later and he looked at my t-shirt and jeans and said well the casual food was over in the cricket lounge, quickly turned off by this presumptive attitude we ate elsewhere. Now for the Cricket Lounge, they were great had some drink while waiting on the shuttle to the casino. Generally the staff treated us very well. We would stay here again. Well worth $70 a night,but not around $200.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    146
    63
    37
    24
See reviews for
41
208
32
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at this property over the weekend while we were in for a show. We chose it over our favorite Netherland Plaza due to it's 4 Diamond/ historic status and a Travelzoo deal. This does not feel like a historic hotel- the hotel was renovated at some point ( maybe the 80s?)with a central atrium and it does not feel like a historic hotel if that's what you are looking for. I had requested a recently renovated room when I booked but one was not available when we checked in ( 3:00) Clearly there is a huge difference in the rooms depending on whether it's been renovated most recently. We stayed on the 7th floor - the carpets were clearly worn and on even. The room next to ours appeared to have lovely granite tile, but ours had dated hardwood, and 1980's furniture. The room was very large and there was not particularly wrong with it- just dated and a few cracked tiles in the bath. Not what I expect from a 4 Diamond property.

The breakfast buffet included in our deal was very sparse and just the basics; there were issues with items not being replenished. I've had much better breakfast at Embassy Suites. The restaurant was closed for renovation during our stay so this may have been the issue. ( no yogurt, Service thruout was excellent and deserving of a 4 star property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This lovely hotel was an unexpected treat in the heart of the city. Due to the renovation the main restaurant was closed. There are several lovely restaurants nearby,

Even though the hotel is being updated, there is something special about walking the same stairs as people more than a century ago. The old world elegance also extended to the service throughout our stay.

The hotel also has a bar that also serves small plate meals and a nice exercise facility. What is most impressive are the rooms. I may have had one of the spa rooms Diane belittled. I have traveled extensively and this was the nicest spa room I ever had and I've paid much more for a lot less.

Not only is the Jacuzzi tub amazing, especially after I figured out how to use it. I was blown away by the waterfall shower, heated floor tiles and a television and phone in the spa room.

Room service was a little pricey, but well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens and Mykonos Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in one of their spa rooms over the weekend and thought it a waste of $299.00. Upon arrival we were told the hotel restaurant was closed due to a renovation project. We were not told this in advance as I would likely have stayed elsewhere. The furniture is showing some age but the room was relatively clean. The commode flushed rather slowly, until the middle of the night when it stopped flushing entirely. My biggest complaint was the lack of sound proofing to the rooms. At 12:30 A.M. our neighbors decided to use the whirlpool bath. The filling of the tub was extremely loud and our room practically vibrated with the running of the jets. Needless to say we lost nearly an hour of sleep. Earlier a party somewhere had kept us awake due to the loud band and talking. Skip this hotel and opt for a different one.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. We take guests feedback very seriously in hopes of making appropriate changes to ensure our guests comfort.
On that same page, we do have to pick a time to do some renovations. As time passes we experience wear and tear. Being a hotel we don’t close so unfortunately renovations need to happen when guests are in house. I sincerely apologize you were uncomfortable with our replacing of our carpet during your stay.
I am also sorry you were disturbed overnight during your stay. Being in the middle of downtown the street noise can be very unpredictable as well as guests surrounding. Please consider staying with us another time and send me or the other managers your name and information as its not displayed on this website. We would like to ensure that your next stay is comfortable and positive.
Thank you,

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful, the staff are fantastic sand the room is great (the double shower is just amazing)

Unfortunately all of this is overshadowed by the noise. You can hear every passing vehicle - we were on the 5th floor - but the worst noise is the heating/cooling system. It is literally like having a small jet in your room (it's the only thing that drowns out the traffic noise though). Even if you turn it off you can still hear units in other rooms.

If you want a quiet nights sleep then the Cincinnatian is not for you, if you are the kind of person who can sleep through a tropical storm you might be ok

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in mid December. Our room was very nice with bamboo hard wood flooring and a very comfortable bed. TV slides down into cabinet and is hidden away which I found very neat. Only bad thing I can say is that on two occasions during my stay I was pelted with ice falling off the hotels roof. There were some pieces the size of basketballs falling, thank goodness those missed me.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Was in town for a work trip/bengals game. Close to the stadium and a short commute to my meeting outside of Cincy. Just an overnight stay and was upgraded to a junior suite. It is an older hotel, this type of room was completely refurbished. Great bathroom, comfortable couch, electronics, etc. Valet was great, had lunch there as well. Good food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Drew Y,
Thank you for your nice comments!!! We are so happy to hear your stay was so pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back another time!!

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#8 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnatian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.