We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Upgrade & FREE Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Tipp City Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were given a choice of places to stay by Horseshoe Casino and this is the one we picked. The hotel is much fancier than what we are used to. The casino shuttle dropped us at the front door. There was a doorman outside and another gentleman greeting us in the lobby. Since we used the casino shuttle we did not use the valet. The staff was very friendly and greeted us as we came in. Our room had windows that overlooked the atrium which was very noisy all night. It was interesting to look at the old stairs and imagine what it was like before elevators. We did not eat at this hotel, so I cannot review that. The room was very large and the bathroom was large. You can tell the hotel is old because the door frame was not square. Everyone was very friendly and we felt like royalty. We did not go outside the hotel, so I cannot talk about food or shopping. Since the casino paid for our room, I do not know about the price for the night.

Room Tip: The room had a window that overlooked the atrium which was noisy from people talking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    157
    73
    39
    26
See reviews for
48
228
34
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin, Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed this beautiful old gem. The building was full of great old character. It was kept very clean. The location is perfect for walking around the city. The staff was very helpfull and polite. The hotel restaurant had great breakfeasts, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

In town for our Anniversary and some friends put us up in the Cincinnatian so I can not comment on price but or room was beautiful!! Very modern tile floors plush rugs cozy bed... But the bathroom blew my mind sleek black tile floors, a radio, tv a jetted soaking tub.. That drys itself when you are done.. 4 shower head in the large shower.. Great bath products and robes..I spent more time there in the room!
2 small issues was that the shower door was closed but the bathroom almost flooded.. And we were street side and heard a lot of traffic noise.. But I was extremely satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

On our first trip to Cincinnati we stayed here for a couple of nights. Did not know too much about the city but this hotel was very easy to get to and located in the downtown area. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Valet parking and hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with directions. Rooms are in the process of being renovated but we had a very nice room with hardwood floors and large walk in showers. Very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Anytime I check into a hotel and they hand me a REAL key, I am instantly in love. However, the Cincinnatian is about much more than just eclectic room entry.

Able to boast the prestigious label of Cincinnati's only small luxury hotel, the Cincinnatian is no stranger to other accolades. It is a Forbes Four Star, AAA Four Diamond Hotel, and something tells me that it probably has a few more distinctions packed into its back pocket for a rainy day. But oh... it is so easy to understand why.

The guestrooms at the Cincinnatian are beautifully appointed, mixing the historical elegance of the property with modern conveniences that make it a small feat to even venture out of the room. With a virtual plethora of room distinctions to choose from, the Cincinnatian offers spaces to accommodate families with adjoining rooms, business executives who need a little work room, and the most fantastic tubs... perfect for a romantic weekend getaway.

The Cincinnatian is also a Horseshoe Cincinnati Casino partner hotel, which means that a complimentary shuttle can have you at the center of the action in minutes!

Visit the Cincinnatian Hotel online today to begin planning the stay of a lifetime!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
What a fabulous review. Thank you so much for your amazing words. I am so glad to hear your stay was so enjoyable and I truly hope we can welcome you back again.

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Cincinnatian Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We made reservations to stay at the Cincinnatian a couple of weeks before our trip. The woman who made the reservation confirmed that the room we had would have a king sized bed and they would need to provide a roll-away for our son. When we arrived, the desk clerk also confirmed that we would need a roll-away bed. After a couple of hours, we went to the front desk and asked where the bed was, since we were leaving for the Cincinnati Reds game and he confirmed that we needed a roll-away bed and asked us to check back after the game. At 11 pm, there was no bed and it was obvious that our son was going to have to sleep on the chairs and ottoman. The last clerk (I believe his name was Dan) apologized profusely and gave us a $40 breakfast voucher for their restaurant, which we did use and was very kind. Our son didn't really mind sleeping on the makeshift 'bed', but we didn't expect this from a four star hotel since FOUR people had repeated the same exact thing and nothing was done about it. On the bright side, the hotel was quaint and in walking distance from the ballpark and other downtown attractions. I'd give it a 3.5 rating if TripAdvisor allowed that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Their web site advertises " Forbes Four Star, AAA Four Diamond hotel that epitomizes modern luxury in an historic setting." How this is possible, I don't know? 'Modern' is far from how I would describe it. Our room had no coffee maker, the hair dryer did not work, a light was burned out and the bathroom had a weird configuration that did not completely close it off from the sleeping area, therefore, you knew at all times what someone else was doing. The room also had a lot of wasted space.
I will say that the broken items were fixed immediately.
For the price, I would have expected a more thorough inspection of the room prior to us checking in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slockwood, Manager at Cincinnatian Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We sincerely appreciate our guest’s feedback after departing our hotel. We are over 132 years old and are in the process of making the appropriate changes to our rooms to adjust with the times. With our hotel being on the historic register our rooms are all quite different. I am sorry you weren't pleased with your room configuration. We are making amendments to change aspects our guests don’t like.
We offer complimentary coffee in our lobby each morning in lieu of coffee makers in the rooms. We find it to be more sanitary to offer the hot coffee for our guest’s right outside of the lobby elevators. I do apologize you had to call to have your light bulb and hair dryer repaired and you are right, those things should have been tended to prior to your arrival. Thank you again for your input and feedback. We truly value the opinions of our guests and I hope we welcome you back soon.

Jodie Fitzgerald
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnatian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.