We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed this past weekend. Lovely old hotel. Amazing location. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Downside is that you either valet park or walk through an undesirable back alley to the garage. Also, the bathroom doors are slatted so privacy is limited. But otherwise a very nice hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    148
    64
    37
    25
See reviews for
42
212
33
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

An old building with a great hotel in downtown Cincinnati. From the moment we left our car with the valet to the moment we left the hotel in the pouring rain the next day, the staff was excellent! Made us feel welcome and valued guests throughout the stay. The room had hardwood floors and a large area rug covering the majority of the room. Nice size room and adequately furnished to make our stay comfortable and quiet. Book the hotel through the new Horseshoe Casino website and receive a special rate. Normal rate was $187 and we paid $90.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the elevators and the staff will do their best to accomodate your req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Cincinnati to see the new Horseshoe casino, catch a Reds game, and see the sites for the July 4th weekend. We travel extensively in the U.S. and to our surprise, our Cincy trip ranks as one of the very best, largely because of our experience at the Cincinnatian Hotel. We got a king balcony corner room and it was wonderful--spacious and tastefully decorated. The mattress was out of this world--super comfortable--we had a hard time getting up in the mornings. From the complimentary coffee in the morning (catch it before 8 AM) to the attentive doormen, there was not a weakness in any part of our Cincinnatian Hotel experience. The staff is very helpful in giving advice on what to do in Cincinnati and how to get there. We were called while we were out that there was a leak in our room and told we would have to change rooms. The bellman moved our things for us and we were given a $40 breakfast voucher for our "trouble." Highly, highly recommended!

Room Tip: A corner room on a high floor is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Cincinnatian is an upscale property and costs more than my family normally spends on a hotel. We decided to treat ourselves by staying here for a long weekend and a Reds game, and the whole experience was a treat! You are paying more, but you definitely get what you pay for, and more!

The service was EXCELLENT -- as you'd hope from a hotel like this one. Very attentive, very polite, always looking for an opportunity to be helpful. (This is ESPECIALLY true of the hotel staff -- and adequately true of the restaurant).

Our room was beautiful -- very spacious, with a little alcove that functioned as a sitting room. Or in our case, worked very well as a place for our baby's pack-n-play. We weren't tripping over it, or keeping him up as we moved about the room, watched TV, and so forth, after his bedtime. The bathtub was really large and the shower pressure was FANTASTIC. Felt like a massage after a night at the ballpark. Speaking of the ballpark -- the hotel's location is wonderful -- very walkable to baseball/football, the Underground Railroad Museum, restaurants, shopping, etc. Staying downtown does mean that there is some noise bleeding into the room from the city at night, but it wasn't a problem for me.

I absolutely recommend the Cincinnatian (if you're planning to go to see the Reds, get the "Grand Slam" special -- it is a real value). We hope to stay again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

4.5 stars is an accurate rating though they are striving real hard for five! Hotel location is excellent for anything downtown. Walking distance to much. Booked thru Hotwire so value was there. Modern and elegant rooms though if there was one complaint it had to be the TV was on a disappearing shelf so it could retractinto dresser. This left a large opening for items placed on dreesermtomfall into then opening. Better to have solid top. But that's the only complaint.
Service was terrific from valet to bellhop. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest US
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed at three of the downtown hotels recently as Total Rewards members. The rooms and valet parking were all comped by the Horseshoe Casino. All three of the rooms at the Cincinnatian, 21C and the Hilton Netherlands were standard rooms. The three hotels have comparable amenities with minor variances, but the Cincinnatian is currently our favorite- at least until we try some of the other hotels affiliated with the casino.

Some of the reasons for favoring the CH are the rooms in the CH are larger than the rooms in the 21C and the Hilton. In fact the Hilton rooms are downright uncomfortable as two people cannot pass each other in the room or bath without the other having to move aside. The rooms in the 21C are not much larger. One of the knocks on the rooms at the CH are the wood floors as mentioned by other reviewers- that and the level of room cleaning (while clean did find a baby bottle with formula behind the nightstand-who knows how long it was there). The Hilton and the 21 were very well taken care of although in the Hilton was the carpet was dated and felt dirty and should be replaced.

The bathrooms in the 21C and Hilton were tiny but had all the expected amenities. The bath, is another area where the CH stood out from the others. It was spacious with a separate vanity with a large closet and safe and a shower and toilet area with a large shower with two shower heads. We didn't care for the pedestal sink in the Hilton because you could barely fit a cup for the coffee maker under the faucet although the shower was fine and the towels were very comfortable. The shower in the 21C was fine also and larger than the Hilton but not as large as the CH. The attraction in the 21C is the artsy tiles in the shower if you find that tasteful.

Another knock on the CH is no coffee makers in the rooms. The 21C and Hilton had coffee makers with tea selections also. The room in the CH also faced the interior so as mentioned by another reviewer you could hear noise from the lobby, but it wasn't too distracting.

Had trouble with the wireless at the 21C but that might be our old laptop. The CH had free wi-fi also but the Hilton had a charge unless you were HH platinum members. All three hotels had excellent fitness rooms. The 21C had machines with wi-fi, internet, music, etc. Water and headphones were provided as were bathrooms. The Hilton fitness room is associated with the Carew Tower, had tons of machines and free weights and was complimentary to Hilton guests.

The lobby of the 21C is European and eclectic, but is small and if you are a fan of hotel lobbies you will not be comfortable there. The Hilton and CH are more traditional with a concierge.

All three hotels are close to Fountain Square, local and national restaurants; Rock Bottom, Panera, etc. and for the healthy a nice walk to the ballparks, museums, and the casino. There is a Walgreens and CVS across the street from each other only a block or so from all three hotels and they sell cold beer. All three of the hotels will put a refrigerator in your room for no charge if you request one when you make your reservation. Be prepared- the 21C has no ice maker. You have to ring the desk for ice.

As for the casino it is a nice experience but the slots seem tight and the table games have high minimums. There is no Spanish 21, Single or Double Deck Blackjack, side bets or surrender option. The table comps are non-existent but the prize comps are plenty. Be advised if you need a new card or replacement card the Total Rewards line is always full. Food choices are plenty but get old after a few visits. Wear or at least take a jacket or sweater because the casino is cold enough to keep meat fresh.

The shuttle to and from the casinos is hit or miss. The are trying to work out the kinks so they change the schedule every time we go- making it difficult to catch without a lot of down time standing outside your hotel or at the casino. The hotels are just as confused as the driver's and they don't listen to the driver's recommendations on what might work best. The current arrangement is before 4pm it only runs every hour and stops at all 12 associated hotels which explains why it takes an hour. It is actually faster to walk or consider leaving the valet at your hotel and just drive. But that defeats the purpose of the shuttle.

One item of note is the casino does provide transportation from the casino to hotels in emergencies and will transport to the airport if not busy even if you are not a high roller.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I had a "staycation" at this hotel. We live in the area, but I had always wanted to stay at The Cincinnatian. It did not disappoint. The lobby is beautiful. After requesting a room move from a smaller, cramped room, we ended up with a suite with a balcony overlooking the atrium. Great room! Had a few cocktails at "The Cricket" lounge. Nice, cozy atmosphere and friendly service. The hotel staff was excellent. Nothing but a positive experience. Would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnatian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.