We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room - nice downtown hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 hotels in Cincinnati
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great room - nice downtown hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If your staying in downtown Cincinnati, this hotel would be tough to beat. Awesome rooms with big windows and high ceilings and nice furnishings. This is an older hotel with a beautiful lobby and wonderful service. Very cool staircase that goes up from lobby. Gym was small but perfect for a quick workout, but again the best thing is the spacious rooms, which are above and beyond your typical chain hotel room. Caught a Reds game one night with colleagues and was close enough to walk (this would be the case with Bengals during football season as well). Good breakfast, but very pricey which was not surprising.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    124
    52
    32
    20
See reviews for
29
176
29
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is very charming...Beautifully done, just a fantastic atmosphere! Front desk personal very helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean. We had the king bed and it was so comfortable. Slept wonderful! Nice flat screen tv in room. Our bathroom was very nice, but you could tell had some age on it. It had a few cracked tiles on the floor, nothing to bad. I even took a bath in the tub, and I only ever take showers in hotel rooms. Nice bath products. We used the valet service for parking, which is a little pricey. I wish I would have gotten the valets names that were on duty both evenings that we were there. It was Sunday and Monday April 7th and 8th. They were very friendly and helpful with us, unlike the morning valets on duty on Tuesday morning who were rude and did not even offer to help with our luggage to the car, and just barely acknowledged us. Huge difference!! I loved the hotel and will be back on my next visit to Cincinnati. I also would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. It was a very pleasant and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This wonderfully restored 5 star historic hotel is fabulous from the moment you pull up until the moment you leave. Everything is beautiful, clean, delicious, comfortable, and at your service. The jazz band and club section is a great place to unwind and meet new people or gather with your friends and family, the restaurant is lovely, upscale, and worth every bite. Room service - perfection. The rooms are appointed quite nicely and some have terrific double showers and air-jet tubs. Turn down service includes cookie and clean footrest towel for your slippers. The concierge is helpful with city events and recommendations. The London Cabbie is a free service for transportation around downtown for guests. Lovely hotel and worth the little extra expense to stay here rather than a chain nearby. Expect the best and you shall receive.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The great staff make this Hotel....it is beautifully redone...it shows it age in small ways...but the care thet staff does to take care of your needs is wonderful...from the maintence gentleman to the gentlemen at the door...to the very Lady who helped with my change in reservations....The Jazz group was better in their Piano Bar then was a the Jazz club...Bartenders were great....all were knowledgable about the City...The Staff makes the difference here...yes the Band can be heard in certian rooms...but it was more enjoyable to me to hear the band...they only palyed until 10 pm on saturday...the charge for the room was fair..the price for morning coffee delivered to your room was too much...$19.00 for a pot of coffee...that was my only cmplaint,....the price of moring delivered coffee....I'll take that problem...The Hotel was immaculate ... so nice to stay at a clean Hotel...

Room Tip: rooms on the outside facing are quiet...the atrium rooms do hear lobby noises but very slightly...th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Mo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

After a long day I was looking forward to hitting the sack. Only problem there was a jazz band in the lounge and my room on the third floor overlooked where the band was and it was so loud that it sounded like the band was in my room. I went down to the front desk and was told that the band would be playing for another two hours. I was told by Adam at the front desk that "people love jazz sir and there is nothing I can do. He couldn't (or wouldn't) move me to another room. He gave me the attitude of just live with it sir. I believe the hotel has a little too much attitude for its own good. I went upstairs got my bags, checked out and went to Marriott where the people at the from desk had a better attitude.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had a prepaid room through Hotwire and had left my luggage at the Cincinatian earlier in the day while I went to a convention 2 blocks away. When I returned to check in they told me that they were overbooked & they had no room for me. They paid for me to go to another hotel (not as nice and miles from my convention) and provided transportation but this was not the location and amenities that I had prepaid for. They were apologetic but apparently a reservation there is no guarantee of a room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The oldest hotel in Cincinnati but still a very nice place to stay. Excellent location. Beautiful lobby with an atrium, and a piano bar, if you just don't want to go out. The beds and linens were comfortable and the Wi-Fi was complimentary - a real stickler for me. Nice bath and toiletries. The staff was very helpful. Valet parking was a little costly, but we dropped our bags with the doorman and found a garage a half block away. Overall quite a pleasant trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio
Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnatian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.