We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel cancelled my prepaid room.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel cancelled my prepaid room.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had a prepaid room through Hotwire and had left my luggage at the Cincinatian earlier in the day while I went to a convention 2 blocks away. When I returned to check in they told me that they were overbooked & they had no room for me. They paid for me to go to another hotel (not as nice and miles from my convention) and provided transportation but this was not the location and amenities that I had prepaid for. They were apologetic but apparently a reservation there is no guarantee of a room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    151
    69
    37
    25
See reviews for
47
218
34
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The oldest hotel in Cincinnati but still a very nice place to stay. Excellent location. Beautiful lobby with an atrium, and a piano bar, if you just don't want to go out. The beds and linens were comfortable and the Wi-Fi was complimentary - a real stickler for me. Nice bath and toiletries. The staff was very helpful. Valet parking was a little costly, but we dropped our bags with the doorman and found a garage a half block away. Overall quite a pleasant trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because I'm not a fan of large chain hotels and it was highly rated. It did cost a little more than the surrounding hotels however. I booked the sedan service from the airport which was reasonably priced and very comfortable. Later I was told the a return trip was not available which was disappointing.
The room was large and included a double whirlpool Jacuzzi tub. The bed was comfortable and the tub was a true Jacuzzi tub. As a bonus, there was a tv above the tub that had a lit of channels. The drawback to the room was a lack of coffee, refridgerator, and slippers. Otherwise ..great.
The only dining I tried was room service and the Cricket lounge. Room service was adequate but over priced. The Cricket lounge was fantastic. Wonderful blackberry martinis, hummus and friendly bartenders.
I would rate the hotel 4.5 if allowed to do so. Overall it was a highlight in a very busy and exhausting work weekend and I would stay here again. With a few tweeks it could easily be a 5.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel has a jumbled personality. The staff are nice and hardworking, but a bit clueless -- management needs to better train barkeep and wait staff, for starters. Not sure about historic hotel designation criteria when lobby lounge and center atrium look vintage 1980s, room doors and bath fixtures 1970s, and room layout is a hodgepodge of walls and ceiling heights with no discernable unity to the artwork or decor. Overpriced in-room refreshments do not make for luxury in my book -- a $3 KitKat? $7 for nuts? Stock something unique, or align prices with the CVS next door! Breakfast menu equally overpriced and uninspired. My stay was clean, safe, and cordial, but not worth the charges. A bit of a letdown overall.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a lovely old hotel with a beautiful lobby and a very nice bar and restaurant.
The rooms are small and need to be significantly refreshed. I barely had room
around the sink area to place my toiletries.Shower looked like something out of
the sixties. Although they give you free wi-fi, there was no coffee pot in the room
and room service was very expensive. Location is fabulous but I'm not sure that
would be enought to draw me back. Staff was lovely and very helpful. Great idea
to provide make up removers in the room. Only better idea was the airplane plastic
toiletries bag supplied by The Four Seasons (what about lint removers?). Room rate was
attractive.

Room Tip: Inside courtyard rooms view the lobby and tend to be dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Just checked into this place and not expecting much based on TA reviews and rating. Beautiful renovated room with one of the biggest bathrooms and coolest showers I have ever seen. Deluxe king room so not a suite. Linens very nice. Check in easy and courteous.
Havent eaten in hotel yet but this place is obviously underrated!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRVILLE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner at The Palace and drinks at The Cricket Lounge and spent a very comfortable night in a luxurious room. Very convenient location to shopping and nightlife. Staff were cheerful and accommodating. Witnessing an engagement during dinner was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnatian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.