We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay at a nice hotel with a lot of potential” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay at a nice hotel with a lot of potential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because I'm not a fan of large chain hotels and it was highly rated. It did cost a little more than the surrounding hotels however. I booked the sedan service from the airport which was reasonably priced and very comfortable. Later I was told the a return trip was not available which was disappointing.
The room was large and included a double whirlpool Jacuzzi tub. The bed was comfortable and the tub was a true Jacuzzi tub. As a bonus, there was a tv above the tub that had a lit of channels. The drawback to the room was a lack of coffee, refridgerator, and slippers. Otherwise ..great.
The only dining I tried was room service and the Cricket lounge. Room service was adequate but over priced. The Cricket lounge was fantastic. Wonderful blackberry martinis, hummus and friendly bartenders.
I would rate the hotel 4.5 if allowed to do so. Overall it was a highlight in a very busy and exhausting work weekend and I would stay here again. With a few tweeks it could easily be a 5.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    164
    80
    42
    26
See reviews for
49
249
35
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianola, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel has a jumbled personality. The staff are nice and hardworking, but a bit clueless -- management needs to better train barkeep and wait staff, for starters. Not sure about historic hotel designation criteria when lobby lounge and center atrium look vintage 1980s, room doors and bath fixtures 1970s, and room layout is a hodgepodge of walls and ceiling heights with no discernable unity to the artwork or decor. Overpriced in-room refreshments do not make for luxury in my book -- a $3 KitKat? $7 for nuts? Stock something unique, or align prices with the CVS next door! Breakfast menu equally overpriced and uninspired. My stay was clean, safe, and cordial, but not worth the charges. A bit of a letdown overall.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a lovely old hotel with a beautiful lobby and a very nice bar and restaurant.
The rooms are small and need to be significantly refreshed. I barely had room
around the sink area to place my toiletries.Shower looked like something out of
the sixties. Although they give you free wi-fi, there was no coffee pot in the room
and room service was very expensive. Location is fabulous but I'm not sure that
would be enought to draw me back. Staff was lovely and very helpful. Great idea
to provide make up removers in the room. Only better idea was the airplane plastic
toiletries bag supplied by The Four Seasons (what about lint removers?). Room rate was
attractive.

Room Tip: Inside courtyard rooms view the lobby and tend to be dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Just checked into this place and not expecting much based on TA reviews and rating. Beautiful renovated room with one of the biggest bathrooms and coolest showers I have ever seen. Deluxe king room so not a suite. Linens very nice. Check in easy and courteous.
Havent eaten in hotel yet but this place is obviously underrated!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRVILLE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner at The Palace and drinks at The Cricket Lounge and spent a very comfortable night in a luxurious room. Very convenient location to shopping and nightlife. Staff were cheerful and accommodating. Witnessing an engagement during dinner was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

From the moment the valet met us in the rain till checkout, we had a wonderful stay. The front dest staff was very courteous and the Concierge easily and accurately answered our questions. The rooms were very clean and the beds extremely comfortable. We were on the 4th floor and could not hear the noise of the street below. We were there for two days and very happy with all the staff we encountered. We ordered room service both days and received our meal in the time promised and everything was correct. The bathrooms are very large and more than enough space for two people to get ready at the same time. The staff was great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I travel for business and have stayed in many hotels, ranging from Presidential suites in 5 star hotels, to motel 6's. My experience this evening was the worst experience I have ever had. We had booked the room a month in advance and it was clear that they had stuck us in an overflow room. We checked into the hotel and were put in a room that was 30 years old, dirty, stained comforter, and the chair had a large white stain. I asked to be moved, which they accommodated. They put me in a room that was equally as dirty and even more outdated. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, I would highly unrecommended the Cincinnatian. Instead I suggest the 21c; newer, nicer staff, and most importantly, CLEAN rooms!

Room Tip: Stay at the 21c, it is a far superior hotel, which less expensive rooms and a better staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnatian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.