We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was an ok option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“was an ok option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

had to make a quick trip to cincinatti..looked on trip advisors (as i always do) and made my selection..i don't necessarily think the rating was wrong, i simply had better expectations...thelocation appeared to be fine (didn't matter to me)..the bed was average at best (and that did matter to me)...the ambient noise coming from outside my room is a bit higher than the soundproofing could handle..

Room Tip: wherever you don't hear door slams
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    146
    64
    37
    24
See reviews for
41
209
33
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel was just OK. The roome we stayed in looked NOTHING like any of the professional or traveler photos posted. So maybe our room was one that hasn't been updated since the hotel was built. I do believe it is possible for a hotel to have a dated look without the dated feel. This hotel looks and feels very dated- to the point it was inconvenient. We are getting married in Cincinnati and were going to use a block in this hotel for our guests. After staying here we won't use this hotel. The food was amazing and the staff was great. But we won't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Cincinnatian hotel has character, and makes a refreshing change from American hotel chains. Of course some rooms are more luxurious than others, but the beds are always comfortable and there are always comfortable towels, bath robes, and good toiletries. Importantly, the staff are very pleasant and attentive, without being intrusive or displaying fake friendliness. I also enjoy the atmosphere as well as the food and drink in the bar. I am a little mystified as to why the hotel does not provide coffee-making facilities in the rooms. As I live in the UK and come to the US for only a few nights, when I stay in the Cincinnatian, I tend to wake up very early, and even though there is coffee in the lobby from 5.30 am, it would be nice to be able to have a drink earlier. This is really the only aspect that knocks the hotel off a 5-star rating for me. Overall, I find the hotel a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have used this property several times on our stays in Cincinnati.The staff is very attentive,the rooms clean ,the bath areas big,the hotel is right in the middle of the entertainment and restraurant district of downtown.You can walk to everthing,they have an Old English Cab you can reserve for your trips.The dining in hotel is great.Shopping is also right within an easy walk.This is an older hotel,but the service and facilities are top notch.

Room Tip: depending what and how long you are staying,there is a variety of choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I arrived, late at night, I was greeted warmly by no fewer than 4 employees who all had a welcoming smile. I was surprised the room key was actually an old key... Which foreshaddowed the rest of the property, which I would compare to a 1920s mansion... Not in an old way, but classy and beautiful. The hallways were interesringly decorated and ecclectic.. someone took a lot of time picking out the decor and each piece was unique and had meaning to the local city. The room exceeded all expectations... Clean and confortable. The bathroom looks a bit dated in fixtures and tile... But the huge tub was just what the doctor ordered after a Long day of driving. My room didnt have much of a view, but I was too tried to worry much about that anyway. The mini bar is actually fairly priced, I thought 5.50 for a small bottle of wine was excellent. My only complaint was the pillows were too soft.. then I realized the firm pillows were behind the plush one... This hotel has really thought of everything with your confort in mind. Lastly, there is a very cheap parking garage less than a half block away, which further adds value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Overall a great stay. Some cleanliness issues in the room but overall good. Would recomend for location and a weekend stay. Staff was great and during check in spoke of things going on in the area and great place to eat. We loved the precinct Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I reserved a room at this hotel for a much needed weekend getaway based on the pictures online. We stayed in a queen atrium view room and were shocked when we opened our room door. Dated blue carpet and 1980s decor. Nothing at ALL close to the contemporary, luxury look of the rooms as displayed on the website. We were kept awake until 2:30 am by loud people at the bar due to the balcony overlooking the atrium. Our a/c malfunctioned and our room was near 80 degrees with hot air blowing all while the thermostat was set to 70. Then, upon waking, we had NO hot water and were only told the hotel was aware and "working on it." Needless to say, I left a supposed "4-star" hotel without being able to have a shower and my husband took a freezing cold one. Upon checkout, the staff asked how our stay was, and so we shared. We received nothing but "I'm sorry. We appreciate your staying with us." Horrible experience, and the worst hotel stay I have EVER had.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#8 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnatian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.