We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all ecpectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded all ecpectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I arrived, late at night, I was greeted warmly by no fewer than 4 employees who all had a welcoming smile. I was surprised the room key was actually an old key... Which foreshaddowed the rest of the property, which I would compare to a 1920s mansion... Not in an old way, but classy and beautiful. The hallways were interesringly decorated and ecclectic.. someone took a lot of time picking out the decor and each piece was unique and had meaning to the local city. The room exceeded all expectations... Clean and confortable. The bathroom looks a bit dated in fixtures and tile... But the huge tub was just what the doctor ordered after a Long day of driving. My room didnt have much of a view, but I was too tried to worry much about that anyway. The mini bar is actually fairly priced, I thought 5.50 for a small bottle of wine was excellent. My only complaint was the pillows were too soft.. then I realized the firm pillows were behind the plush one... This hotel has really thought of everything with your confort in mind. Lastly, there is a very cheap parking garage less than a half block away, which further adds value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    124
    52
    32
    20
See reviews for
30
176
29
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Overall a great stay. Some cleanliness issues in the room but overall good. Would recomend for location and a weekend stay. Staff was great and during check in spoke of things going on in the area and great place to eat. We loved the precinct Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I reserved a room at this hotel for a much needed weekend getaway based on the pictures online. We stayed in a queen atrium view room and were shocked when we opened our room door. Dated blue carpet and 1980s decor. Nothing at ALL close to the contemporary, luxury look of the rooms as displayed on the website. We were kept awake until 2:30 am by loud people at the bar due to the balcony overlooking the atrium. Our a/c malfunctioned and our room was near 80 degrees with hot air blowing all while the thermostat was set to 70. Then, upon waking, we had NO hot water and were only told the hotel was aware and "working on it." Needless to say, I left a supposed "4-star" hotel without being able to have a shower and my husband took a freezing cold one. Upon checkout, the staff asked how our stay was, and so we shared. We received nothing but "I'm sorry. We appreciate your staying with us." Horrible experience, and the worst hotel stay I have EVER had.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York CIty
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here after a New Years Eve wedding- so to be honest, we didnt really sleep all that much in the hotel. However, the time we did was pretty darn good! We had two double beds and the sheets were very nice, and the room HUGE. Oddly set up and the furnishings while well maintained and clean were 80-s wedding singer chic. The only TV was in a separate area from the beds and was so far away it made watching it pointless if you wanted to see it from bed. There were two sinks, one out of the shower room and one in a separate divided area, which was great with three people sharing the sinks. Nice Molton Brown toiletries.

The food in the restaurant for breakfast was good, but the service VERY hit or miss. Some great people and some really questionable people who just didn't get that the customer always comes first. I used to work in the service industry so, yes I get it, but deal! You can do it! The guest is paying your check so dont tell her that she is wrong! ;-)

The design of the hotel is kind of opulent and old timey "luxury" in some places and sketch 80's glam power suit in others. There are strange neon things around and this huge atrium that has primary colours and odd installations all over. It just looks super dated, and if they were to update to be a bit more botiquey- they might benefit.

Front desk staff while efficient, kind of abrupt and not chatty at all.

Room Tip: We had guests overlooking the atrium and they said it was very noisy all night. We faced out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The room was a little small but with luxurious bedding and towels. Staff were helpful when asked but didn't offer any information freely - they have a complimentary taxi service which we found out about later - very valuable! Staff at the associated Cricket Lounge were not very friendly at all which just leaves a bad taste in my mouth, especially in Cincinnati where everywhere else we went we were met with delightfully friendly and sociable people.

That all said, no complaints on cleanliness or quality of the room, and the food at the Cricket Lounge was superb. If you are a light sleeper don't go for an atrium room - you get the noise coming up from the lobby and Cricket Lounge.

Room Tip: Atrium rooms get all the noise from the lobby and Cricket Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here on our 10th wedding anniversary and even though I'm sure it was obvious to them that we normally could not have afforded to stay there, they made us feel special. They sent chocolate-covered strawberries to our room and the concierge was fantastic. He even sent someone to get a horse-drawn carriage to pick us up in front of the hotel so we wouldn't have to walk to Fountain Square. It was an excellent experience. The Palace and Crickets were great places to eat too.

Room Tip: If it's a special event - tell them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lebanon, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by a coworker and thought it was nice from the website. I reserved a room online which I did so by the picture of the room on the reservation page. It was NOT the room that was advertised. It stated a Queen bed but it was a double with a nice view of dumpsters out our windows next to a nasty building. We and other people we were inline with during check out complained about people getting really loud and keeping us up all night. The front desk didn't really care other than a I am sorry. I will NOT pay $265 for room in this hotel ever or visit it ever again. I paid way too much for a tiny room with a nice bathroom that was falsely advertised.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio
Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnatian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.