We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but shows its age but staff is great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Upgrade & FREE Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad, but shows its age but staff is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Overall a great stay. Some cleanliness issues in the room but overall good. Would recomend for location and a weekend stay. Staff was great and during check in spoke of things going on in the area and great place to eat. We loved the precinct Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    155
    72
    39
    26
See reviews for
47
225
34
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I reserved a room at this hotel for a much needed weekend getaway based on the pictures online. We stayed in a queen atrium view room and were shocked when we opened our room door. Dated blue carpet and 1980s decor. Nothing at ALL close to the contemporary, luxury look of the rooms as displayed on the website. We were kept awake until 2:30 am by loud people at the bar due to the balcony overlooking the atrium. Our a/c malfunctioned and our room was near 80 degrees with hot air blowing all while the thermostat was set to 70. Then, upon waking, we had NO hot water and were only told the hotel was aware and "working on it." Needless to say, I left a supposed "4-star" hotel without being able to have a shower and my husband took a freezing cold one. Upon checkout, the staff asked how our stay was, and so we shared. We received nothing but "I'm sorry. We appreciate your staying with us." Horrible experience, and the worst hotel stay I have EVER had.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York CIty
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here after a New Years Eve wedding- so to be honest, we didnt really sleep all that much in the hotel. However, the time we did was pretty darn good! We had two double beds and the sheets were very nice, and the room HUGE. Oddly set up and the furnishings while well maintained and clean were 80-s wedding singer chic. The only TV was in a separate area from the beds and was so far away it made watching it pointless if you wanted to see it from bed. There were two sinks, one out of the shower room and one in a separate divided area, which was great with three people sharing the sinks. Nice Molton Brown toiletries.

The food in the restaurant for breakfast was good, but the service VERY hit or miss. Some great people and some really questionable people who just didn't get that the customer always comes first. I used to work in the service industry so, yes I get it, but deal! You can do it! The guest is paying your check so dont tell her that she is wrong! ;-)

The design of the hotel is kind of opulent and old timey "luxury" in some places and sketch 80's glam power suit in others. There are strange neon things around and this huge atrium that has primary colours and odd installations all over. It just looks super dated, and if they were to update to be a bit more botiquey- they might benefit.

Front desk staff while efficient, kind of abrupt and not chatty at all.

Room Tip: We had guests overlooking the atrium and they said it was very noisy all night. We faced out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The room was a little small but with luxurious bedding and towels. Staff were helpful when asked but didn't offer any information freely - they have a complimentary taxi service which we found out about later - very valuable! Staff at the associated Cricket Lounge were not very friendly at all which just leaves a bad taste in my mouth, especially in Cincinnati where everywhere else we went we were met with delightfully friendly and sociable people.

That all said, no complaints on cleanliness or quality of the room, and the food at the Cricket Lounge was superb. If you are a light sleeper don't go for an atrium room - you get the noise coming up from the lobby and Cricket Lounge.

Room Tip: Atrium rooms get all the noise from the lobby and Cricket Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here on our 10th wedding anniversary and even though I'm sure it was obvious to them that we normally could not have afforded to stay there, they made us feel special. They sent chocolate-covered strawberries to our room and the concierge was fantastic. He even sent someone to get a horse-drawn carriage to pick us up in front of the hotel so we wouldn't have to walk to Fountain Square. It was an excellent experience. The Palace and Crickets were great places to eat too.

Room Tip: If it's a special event - tell them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lebanon, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by a coworker and thought it was nice from the website. I reserved a room online which I did so by the picture of the room on the reservation page. It was NOT the room that was advertised. It stated a Queen bed but it was a double with a nice view of dumpsters out our windows next to a nasty building. We and other people we were inline with during check out complained about people getting really loud and keeping us up all night. The front desk didn't really care other than a I am sorry. I will NOT pay $265 for room in this hotel ever or visit it ever again. I paid way too much for a tiny room with a nice bathroom that was falsely advertised.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We decided to take a quick overnight trip and chose this hotel because it is a prefferred property. Boy were we glad we did. The hotel was beautiful and well maintained. The staff was courteous and very professional. With our prefferred membership we got a comp upgrade and it was incredible. We were in a deluxe balcony king room. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We could hear the Jazz trio playing in the bar. We went to the lounge for dinner and it was out of this world. If you go in expecting bar food you will be surprised. The salmon was the best I have ever had and the short ribs were tender and tasty. My only dissapointments were that I was quoted a different rate than they had at check in but they corrected it quickly. The other was that I had called and ordered a rose for my room that did not make it to my room and I did not receive my prefferred amenity. They were apologetic and removed the charge for the rose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnatian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.