We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice romantic hotel with a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Rockford, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice romantic hotel with a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We received a complimentary upgrade and had a nice room with a vaulted ceiling. We enjoyed the complimentary shuttle which we took the University of Cincinnati for a football game which was extremely convenient.Also, the lounge was very fun with a good live jazz band and tasty drinks.Service was extremely friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    148
    65
    37
    25
See reviews for
42
212
33
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I travel to Cincinnati for work quite often and usually stay at the Westin because of its rewards program and for the fact it is very modern and clean. However, when it was full I ended up booking at the Cincinnatian. What a beautiful hotel! If you are looking for new and cookie cutter this is not the place for you. This hotel has wonderful character to it, the rooms are quite large and the staff was VERY friendly.

Although the hotel is quite old, it is very well kept and very comfortable. A few highlights were that they have a snack menu that you can order off of all night which is great when you are working late, the gym was basic but more than I needed, and it is in walking distance to most places you need to go.

I would highly suggest this hotel for anyone who is looking for something smaller and more personal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went to Cincinnati for a weekend getaway. We drove by the hotel twice before noticing the signage.. You must be looking right beside the door to notice the small name plate. Rooms seem to vary quite a bit here. We had a room overlooking the atrium. It was very nice until it was time to sleep. The crowd noise from the bar was so loud and we could not sleep. Overall a very nice place. I agree with a previous review stating the Valet was rude. They were not welcoming at all and was quite abrupt when they so-called welcomed us. I would like to come back here and check out the wine tasting events. For the price of the rooms, I think they need to step it up a notch.. the historic value is what makes this place so special!

Room Tip: Atrium room on the inside was very loud..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here last weekend for a wedding and was amazed with the amenities and service in this boutique hotel. The airport shuttle is a wonderful option with an amazingly reasonable price (it's a leather-trimmed SUV). The staff was amazing, from the doormen who let us borrow an umbrella, to the concierge, to the bartenders and everyone in between. Our room was a little small, but we kind of expected that from a historic property. The furniture was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was amazing. A DEEP round tub make baths a nightly necessity. While breakfast isn't free, we splurged for room service, and when I say splurge, we're talking $40 for two people with juice and coffee. The food prices are so reasonable. All in all, it was a great stay for a great price with great service. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is just lovely and so much more intimate than the large chain hotels we all know by name. Owned by The Preferred Hotel group, (you can never go wrong going to their registry and choosing a hotel or B&B that belong), it is elegant, modern, and has great restaurants.

The rooms vary quite a bit and we had a queen standard which although smaller, still had first class ammenities. The bed sheets are high quality, the furniture sleek and in good repair, the tv is a disappearing flat screen, and the drawer space and closet are adequate for a 2-3 night stay.

Most impressive is the bathroom! First of all, very pristine, clean and contemporary porcelain and high-tech fixtures. The shower is a trip: two waterfalls and 6 side jets spray from opposite ends. There is enough space to fit four people! There is a built in counter near the sink which is great for a cosmetic station for women as it has a lovely stool for which to perch. The tub is phenomenal: whirlpool, varying jet speeds and stationed nearby are a flat screens tv, video port and stereo. All tastefully designer entirely in white. The bath towels are big and fluffy, as are the robes. I'm saving the best for last: all Molton Brown bath/shower items for use. The best of the best!

Restaurant food is high end and delicious. The wine list is top of the line and the service is amazing. The menu (in "The Palace"- the fine dining option), is heavy on meat and game. Being pescevegetarians, we were happy there were two fish selections.

The staff at the desk, bellman, and maid service are very accommodating. The valet was a bit rude, but perhaps he was miserable due to the rainy chilly night? Not a great welcome upon arrival, but the minute you step into the hotel, you'll be glad you didn't choose a big chain hotel. This is the only hotel we use when traveling through Cincinnati.

Room Tip: I always request a room far from the elevator, (if you can walk without issue), preferably a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friendly, attentive service. Spacious, clean room. Centrally located. Pretty much everything you need for a short business trip.

Side note: We had breakfast in the restaurant and were served by an a older woman by the name of Phyllis. She was amazingly attentive and sweet. Kudos to Phyllis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryn mawr, pa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had to go to Cincinnati for an overnight business trip.
The Cincinnatian is and old world style hotel, bellmen in caps, valets in long overcoats.
A small but well appointed lobby greets you, and off to the back is a great hotel bar.

My room surprised me, hardwood floor, huge, huge room, and a gas fireplace.
A couple of incredibly comfortable leather chairs beckoned me to rest my bones and watch football.

Bathroom is very large, well stocked with premium products, and features a tub bigger than some indoor swimming pools.

I did notice some wear and tear in places, the toilet seat hinge was corroded, the desk chair cushion could use some, uh, cushion-y filling. And the room, which featured only a small window looking into an abondoned building, was slightly darker than I am use to.

But being that you get to use a REAL BRASS KEY to get into your room, I could overlook the minor flaws.
A most pleasant stay, I would go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnatian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.