We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More good features than bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cincinnatian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cincinnatian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cincinnatian Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Cincinnati
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More good features than bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cincinnatian Hotel early this fall and for the most part were very satisfied. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean but very small. In fact, my husband and I compared it to a room on a cruise ship which made it difficult to maneuver around the room with two large suitcases on the floor. The food and the service at the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    136
    60
    35
    21
See reviews for
35
194
31
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Ky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is my second stay at the Cincinnattian and it's still my favorite. Our first visit we had a room facing the street, but this time we had a interior room with a small balcony. It was just as nice. Sort of glad we didn't have the street facing room; there is a closed hotel across the street and it's beginning to look a little shabby. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms spacious and well appointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Have stayed at this property several times, but only in one room type. The deluxe king jr. suites are excellent, newly remodeled with AMAZING showers. On my last stay the room could have definitely been cleaner but overall another great stay. The abandoned hotel across the street isn't much of a view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I planned to stay at The Cincinnatian Hotel on the night of our wedding. We booked it months in advance since the Reds were playing at home and Oktoberfest was the same weekend. We were looking forward to it since we had never been here, having been from Cincinnati. When we got to the front desk our reservation was found and we were asked to present a credit card. When we were dropped off at the hotel I left my purse in my in-laws car on accident. The traffic was so awful that there was no way they could come back. So since we didn't have a card we were refused to check in. I told the receptionist that my credit card number was given upon making the reservation, and she confirmed that she indeed had my credit card number on file, however, she still needed the credit card present. Since we did not have our cell phones she instructed us to use the lobby phone to try and get ahold of someone to bring us a credit card. With it being 1:30am and calling from an unknown number, we were unable to get ahold of anyone. She refused to make any kind of excpetion and we left the hotel, me in my wedding gown and my husband in his suit. I have never felt more disappointed, than I did that night....my wedding night. The "customer service" we received was completely rude and awful. I wrote a facebook post about this and it was deleted less than a week after it was posted. I would highly recommend NOT to stay at this hotel. The staff was completley unprofessional. I will always have this disappointment of a memory when I think back on our wedding night....unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is by far my favorite boutique hotel in a bigger city I have visited. You have a real brass key to your room! It's so classy. When we arrived check-in was busy but I was very impressed and appreciative to know that they offered a free driver service and a great happy hour. Additionally, the attendant who checked us in states that he upgraded our room to a suite because our original room faced a wall and he wanted to offer us a better experience. O was pleasantly surprised and grateful for that gesture. The bathrooms in the lobby are gorgeous and so are the appointments I. The rooms. We had robes in our room and a well stocked bar. The view was great and our room was fresh, beautiful, and very clean. When we got back for the evening, we were welcomed with a turn down service and delicious cookies. This place TRULY has a standard of service that is seen and felt throughout the hotel. From the time you enter the hotel doors to the time you rest your head on the bed, elegance is key. The worst part...is leaving! My husband and I LOVE THIS hotel! This will be our hotel of choice when downtown Cincy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I would like to the note the disappointment I had during my stay at the Cincinnatian I was there for a wedding coming in from Chicago and stayed two nights with my husband. First my keys did not work and had to come down not once but twice to the front desk to have them working. I also had to stand in a line of people checking in when all I wanted to do was do the same--horrific experience. Then upon leaving my room at 10:30a.m. and not returning until 4:00p.m. found my room still in shambles and never cleaned. I had a work conference call to take and then a wedding to get ready for in a dirty room from the night before. Nothing was offered and had to beg to get new towels and more shampoo again terrible and not the WOW experience I was certain from reading your standards I would receive from the Cincinnatian. I am a Corporate business traveler I have been through three passports and currently travel weekly for my current company. We have obtained a location in Cincinnati and while I was not on business on this trip I can say I would never stay at this property again and 100% a detractor. I can only hope they use my comments and supply better training and HR meetings and perhaps lower your star rating as well as your rates. Gross, old, smelled of smoke in the room, carpet had not been vacuumed and room service never came. Extremely old rooms the only good point was the mattress comfortable. There was a constant humming through the walls and this was on a week night had called down and no construction. The bathroom was horrible and dirty tubs and the drains never worked from the sinks to the bath tub--disgusting. There is also not a conference room or anywhere privately to make a business call other than your room. Next time it's the Hilton I went to check out the property and was extremely pleased as well as the location.

Room Tip: Have no tip other that we had our room by the elevator and was noisy. Also, the drapes in the room l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is over 100 years old and great for this e that do not require a grand lobby and lots of extras. The service is impeccable including g London can to transport which is complimentary. Bathrooms great but rooms less elegant. Room devices prompt and good quality.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cincinnatian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cincinnatian Hotel

Address: 601 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#8 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cincinnatian Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, luxury boutique hotel built in 1882 and listed on the National Register of Historic places. Proud member of Hisotric Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels International, The Cincinnatian Hotel celebrates its 130th year this September. Boasting of a wide range of accommodations, this namesake hotel of Cincinnati is the perfect home away from home destination for those who want something simple or something grand. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cincinnatian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cincinnatian Hotel Cincinnati, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cincinnatian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.