We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Orchids at Palm Court Pkg
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Top ratings all around, from valet/doorman on up. Well appointed rooms, in the heart of downtown, and an excellent restaurant, too. I've never been disappointed at a Hilton and this great old building has a lot of wonderful details and architecture.

Room Tip: You may have to be a Hilton Honors member to get the free wifi, not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
September 5, 2014

Bosmith8

Dear Bosmith8:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that found the services of our staff to be excellent.

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your dining experiences during your stay. We are well known for our food and beverage services and we will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    443
    169
    70
    29
See reviews for
189
375
76
595
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port St Lucie, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The hotel is always clean, has a lot of charm and history. The staff is always friendly and welcoming. Be aware that as an older hotel, the bathrooms are small and there are varying sizes of hotel rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
September 5, 2014

Sherri P

Dear Sherri P:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found the hotel to be clean and charming. We will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the varying sizes of our guestrooms. As a historic hotel, we have over 120 different guestroom configurations. We have a small number of single king and queen bedded rooms which are quite small by today’s standards. When our occupancy allows us to do so, our agents will review our guest’s requests and place our guests in room types that are above and beyond what has originally been reserved. Nevertheless we regret this was a concern.

Lastly, thank you for your feedback regarding the lack of space in the bathroom of your guestroom. We are continuing to review options for improving the bathroom portion of our guestroom experience. I apologize that these aspects of your stay were also disappointing. We are working with our owners group on future improvements to the bathroom that will include changes that will address the space issues that you have cited.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pietro Viminario, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I stay at this Hotel regularly when I am in the area. The Hotel is a classic and the environment is very relaxing. The rooms are quite big and comfortable. In case you are traveling by car there is a parking place very close. Breakfast is expensive though. Recommendable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
September 5, 2014

Pman_spv

Dear Pman_spv:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found our guestrooms to be quite big and comfortable. We will be sure to share your kind words with our management staff to share with their team members.

Thank you too for your concerns regarding the pricing of our breakfast at our restaurant, the Grille at Palm Court. Our pricing for breakfast is comparable to all of the full service hotels in this market. Nevertheless we regret this was a concern and as we move forward with this area of our business we will certainly keep your suggestions in mind.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Tate saved the day. We were disappointed in the quality of food in the belvedere lounge - complimentary for gold members with hilton honors. We got frustrated that they were cleaned out of bagels and other items.

So we went down to the palm court and Tate served us and waved the beverages after hearing that the supplies at the belvedere lounge were sparse.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
September 4, 2014

CJAB1976

Dear CJAB1976:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati. AS a Gold HHonors member, your comments are especially important to us.

Thank you for sharing your concern regarding our supply of fresh bagels in Belvedere Club during your visit. We were disappointed to know that this was a concern and we’ll be sure to review this with our team. ON a more positive note, we are pleased to know that Tate in the Palm Court Grill recognized your concern and addressed this for you. We’ll be sure to share your comment directly with him!

Many thanks again for your feedback. If there is more that you care to share, you are welcome to contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com. From your pseudonym, I was unable to determine your name!

Best,

Michel Sheer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitaker
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The door man outside - Jonathan was outstanding! He was very helpful giving directions and friendly. He was easy to talk to as well. He was a Pittsburgh Steeler fan and that made him an instant friend since my wife and I were wearing Steeler clothes for the game that night! The only thing that would have made the stay any better would have been for the Steeler game to be on TV. Unfortunately it wasn't on anywhere locally, so it wasn't a problem. It was the last preseason game anyway. Overall, a great stay!!! VERY nice hotel!!! All of the staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
September 5, 2014

Robert S

Dear Robert S:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found the services of our staff, particularly our Doorman, to be friendly and very good. We will be sure to share your kind words with our management staff to share with their team members.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The old building have great art and looks
Service is what you come to expect from Hilton
Rom was a Junior suite, great bed, not enough space in bathroom
Bar seeing and people ambient was also great

Breakfast and service was great

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
September 5, 2014

Wesajo

Dear Wesajo:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that found the services of our staff to be great.

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your dining experiences during your stay. We are well known for our food and beverage services and we will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

Lastly, thank you for your feedback regarding the lack of space in the bathroom of your guestroom. We are continuing to review options for improving the bathroom portion of our guestroom experience. I apologize that these aspects of your stay were disappointing. We are working with our owners group on future improvements to the bathroom that will include changes that will address the space issues that you have cited.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I checked into the Hilton for an extra day and was quoted one price. The desk manager refused to give me a copy of the contract when I requested it, stating to me that it would be placed under my room's door upon my checking out. When I received the bill it was much higher then the daily rate that was quoted to me and that was on the contract that I signed. When I inquired about this, I was told that I would receive a refund and I am still waiting for it.
The hotel is beautiful and ideally located, but I for one will not be staying here again. I am also going to lobby so that my organization does not book here again. if you book, insist on taking a picture of the check-in contract with your iPhone or request that a copy be emailed to you as you wait or ask for a photocopy and do not step away until your request is honored.

Room Tip: Not sure what to recommend as I only stayed in one room and it was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
September 2, 2014

L W

Dear L W:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati! We are unable to locate an account with the initials “L W” with a rate change and so I’m not able to respond directly to your concern without more information. If you’d like to e-mail me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com, I’ll be happy to review your bill and address your concerns accordingly.

On a more positive note, thank you for sharing your kind comments about the hotel’s public spaces and convenient location. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed this aspect of your stay.

Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.