We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sized Room - but Small well appointed Bath” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Orchids at Palm Court Pkg
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Sized Room - but Small well appointed Bath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed last week while driving home from vacation. Very nice Art Deco hotel. Diamond member and was offered an upgrade, but the room was not ready, so I took my reserved room. I've stayed at this hotel several times, as it is my home town, but never written a review previously. I've never had such a roomy room before....yes, I've had suites with separate "TV/Sitting" area and extra bathroom, but this room was spacious! The bath is very very small, but it's a historic hotel and at least the restroom was clean and attempted comforts. We had excellent shower head and water pressure. Always have a drink at the bar which is stunning. The breakfast buffet is fantastic, as I love smoked salmon and goetta!

Will be back in a month for a race, so hoping to get just a nice a room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
August 28, 2014

Cherzner

Dear Cherzner:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. As a Hilton HHonors Diamond member your comments are especially important to us.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found our guestrooms to be spacious and clean.

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your dining experiences during your stay. We are well known for our food and beverage services and we will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

Lastly, thank you for your feedback regarding the lack of space in the bathroom of your guestroom. We are continuing to review options for improving the bathroom portion of our guestroom experience. I apologize that these aspects of your stay were disappointing. We are working with our owners group on future improvements to the bathroom that will include changes that will address the space issues that you have cited.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    479
    177
    73
    33
See reviews for
216
415
80
658
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eaton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

A beautiful hotel in an historic setting, the Hilton Netherlands in Cincinnati is still just a hotel. The flashy lobby belies the reality: it's still just a hotel--in an old building with old-building-issues. Service was very good; cleanliness and security were also very good. My room had a musty, mildewy smell (that I got used to, and forgot to report), and very slow drains. The drains were reported, promptly fixed, and the resolution was clearly communicated to me, even though I had already checked out. The room was small, though, and the closet was almost spooky--asymmetrical, with nooks and odd angles and a single bulb with a pull-cord switch. If not for the convenience of being just blocks from my office, the amount I paid would not have been worth the room in which I stayed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
August 27, 2014

Jeffrey M



Dear Jeffrey M:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel in conjunction with your visit to Cincinnati. As a business traveler, your comments are very important to us.

Please accept my apologies in addition to our team member’s for your concerns regarding the slow tub and sink drains in your guestroom, 1240. Thank you for letting us know. We deeply regret this was not discovered during our housekeeping inspection process. Our Director of Housekeeping, Yat-Sen Jerome, is reviewing the matter carefully with the team members who prepared your guestroom for your arrival to insure this does not recur. Likewise our Engineering team has assured me that the issues with the drains have been corrected and are now working properly. We hope and trust our team member’s actions and our follow up with you has helped to convey our sincere interest in responding to you in this matter.

Many thanks again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Christopher Seda
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Classic Art Deco hotel in heart of CINCY. Has tons of amenities yet rooms are getting tired. Definitely ask for high room floors with river views. Connected to mall and internal walkway for hot and cons days. Go to observatory at top of building; well worth it!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
August 28, 2014

BJAJDA

Dear BJAJDA:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel. We will be sure to share your kind words with our management staff to share with their team members.

Thank you for providing your concerns on the décor of our guestrooms. They are furnished in the original Beidermeier style of the time period that the hotel was built. Though many travelers enjoy the historical ambiance of the hotel, we are well aware that it isn’t for some and regret the décor of our guestrooms was not to your liking.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The hotel is quite nice for being such an old building. The elevators shake a little too much for my liking, especially since we were staying on the 28th floor. The room was a single queen room, had a chair, desk, TV, Dresser, and a SMALL closet. The bathroom was also quite small but it worked. You can definitely tell while they have upgraded the furniture in the room that the hotel is older due to small quarters in the room, closet, and bathroom. The internet is not free unless you're a member with a certain status level, otherwise they charge per day, pretty lame considering i had to work on this trip significantly, luckily i have a Verizon Jetpack Hotspot my work provided me but the direct connection for internet would have been nice. The indoor pool is well, an indoor pool. The Gym is massive while i never used it you can definitely keep up on your workout routine if you have one while staying at this hotel. The restaurant had a decent breakfast buffet for $16 per person, but the service was non existant. Overall a good stay, but i will be requesting a larger room if i stay there again and i they really need to consider changing their internet because i have stayed in much much nicer hotels that have free internet access.

Room Tip: Request a room larger than a closet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
August 28, 2014

AZTraveler94

Dear AZTraveler94:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found the Gym, our health club service provider to be very nice. We will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

As a historic hotel, we have over 120 different guestroom configurations. We have a small number of single king and queen bedded rooms which are quite small by today’s standards. When our occupancy allows us to do so, our agents will review our guest’s requests and place our guests in room types that are above and beyond what has originally been reserved.

Also thank you for your feedback regarding the lack of space in the bathroom of your guestroom. We are continuing to review options for improving the bathroom portion of our guestroom experience. I apologize that these aspects of your stay were disappointing. We are working with our owners group on future improvements to the bathroom that will include changes that will address the space issues that you have cited.

Lastly, thank you for your comments regarding our Internet policy. Currently our complimentary guestroom Internet access is for our Diamond and Gold HHonors members. As you had mentioned, we offer complimentary wireless Internet service from the lobby and in our business center in the lobby. At present, we are providing the lowest unbundled price on our system since many of our travelers do not utilize our Internet service. Our charges for guestroom Internet service are comparable to all of our full service competitors in this market. Nevertheless we apologize that this too was a concern.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is stunning - like walking back in time. Loved it. Checkin/out was a breeze. This hotel had the most delicious room service I've ever had. I think Orchids does the room service which is awesome! Orchids is the 5-star restaurant located in the hotel. The breakfast buffet in the lobby was also incredible for only $15/pp. Lobby bar is gorgeous, elegant and comfortable. Waitstaff was very attentive and well-trained. We purchased a queen room and were assigned a room on the 27th floor. What an incredible view! The elevators were always quick and available. Pool & hot tub were wonderful and clean. Gym is enormous - anything you've ever wanted. My only complaint is that the Concierge wasn't very helpful. It felt as if he already assumed we already knew the answers to our own questions. No biggie - the business center is 10 feet from his desk. We replaced his services with Google. We paid $219/night (more like $255/night after city, county & state taxes). Make sure to check out the observation deck on the 48th floor! It's $1.00/pp. Great photo ops up there.

Hotel is only a few blocks from Paul Brown Stadium, Great American Ballpark and the US Bank Arena. There is a wonderful Riverwalk alongside these sports venues that runs along the Ohio River in addition to a bunch of bars & restaurants called "The Banks." A wide variety of food & beverage options. Lots of microbrew beer choices everywhere we went. We walked to/from the ballpark easily from The Netherland and saw two Red Sox games without a hitch.

We flew into Covington, KY (CVG) and used Executive Airport Shuttle to get to/from the hotel/airport. Airport is approximately 25 minutes from the hotel. We paid $64 total for two people round trip.

Shuttle to the Horseshoe Casino is 1/2 block away in front of The Hyatt on 5th Street. It stops right on 5th Street - it does not pull into the Hyatt - so just wait on the sidewalk and it will pull right up to you. Comes about every 20 minutes or so all day long. The shuttle is a big, tall, black Mercedes limo van. Free.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
August 28, 2014

BostonFabulous

Dear BostonFabulous:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found the services of our staff to be attentive and well trained

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your dining experiences during your stay. We are well known for our food and beverage services and we will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

Please accept my apologies for your concerns regarding the services of our Concierge. We deeply regret if you were inconvenienced in any way and you may be assured that our Management staff will be reviewing this matter carefully to insure this does not recur.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful lobby and restaurant. Spacious, comfortable room. Great location for walking and driving to local events. Parking garage close by. Dessert served was a bonus before bed. Continental breakfast was eaten on the beautiful outdoor terrace with a great view of the city. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
August 28, 2014

Thomas M

Dear Thomas M:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found the services of our staff to be friendly and wonderful.

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your dining experiences during your stay. We are well known for our food and beverage services and we will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I was in town for a convention at the convention center. This was only 1 block away, and was a beautiful place to stay. Great restaurants in walking distance and live music in a park just up the street. Good bed and good service, including a walk in closet. It's also close to the river and ball parks so if you're in town for a game it works also.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
August 28, 2014

Bob_Haight

Dear Bob_Haight:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found the services of our staff to be very good. We will be sure to share your kind words with our management staff to share with their team members.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#14 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#2 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#17 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.