We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I'm a Hilton Honors member but I haven't stayed at a Hilton in a while and I don't have any status at all. I stayed for a week in early August 2014 and was upgraded to a suite because of my HH status which was pretty cool. The hotel is older and done in the art deco style which I don't care for. It is well kept. The staff is friendly. It's in a good location downtown. Just a few blocks from Great American Ball Park, football stadium, shopping and restaurants. Stores close early downtown. It was clean, I felt safe what more could you ask for? The room was spacious but the bathrooms were on the small side. Not a lot of room to set out your toiletries. I was disappointed that the internet in your room is not free since I was traveling on business and needed it for work. However, it is in the lobby and in the Starbucks around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
August 28, 2014

GN303

Dear GN303:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. As a Hilton HHonors member your comments are especially important to us.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your suite upgrade and location of the hotel and that you found the services of our staff to be very friendly. We will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

Also thank you for your feedback regarding the lack of space in the bathroom of your guestroom. We are continuing to review options for improving the bathroom portion of our guestroom experience. I apologize that these aspects of your stay were disappointing. We are working with our owners group on future improvements to the bathroom that will include changes that will address the space issues that you have cited.

Lastly, thank you for your comments regarding our Internet policy. Currently our complimentary guestroom Internet access is for our Diamond and Gold HHonors members. As you had mentioned, we offer complimentary wireless Internet service from the lobby and in our business center in the lobby. At present, we are providing the lowest unbundled price on our system since many of our travelers do not utilize our Internet service. Our charges for guestroom Internet service are comparable to all of our full service competitors in this market. Nevertheless we apologize that this too was a concern.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    369
    150
    64
    23
See reviews for
158
311
71
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is really one of the more unique non-boutique hotels that i have stayed in. The building is an historic building and there is a lot of character that you can see throughout the lobby and common areas. It is definitely older which makes it unique, including the room and bathroom sizes.

I only stayed for one night but was upgraded into a King Jr. Suite which included a living room area with couch, tv, desk and chair. It was smallish, but a nice addition. There was also another full bathroom off of the living room area...so I could see multiple people staying there. The bedroom had a comfortable king bed and another bathroom. The bathrooms were small but clean, and again, just unique because of the age of the hotel.

Typical Hilton amenities and a good stay overall. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
August 14, 2014

Dumpty27

Dear Dumpty27:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found our guestrooms to be very clean. We will be sure to forward your kind words to our Management staff to share with their team members.

Also thank you for your feedback regarding the lack of space in the bathroom of your guestroom. We are continuing to review options for improving the bathroom portion of our guestroom experience. I apologize that these aspects of your stay were disappointing. We are working with our owners group on future improvements to the bathroom that will include changes that will address the space issues that you have cited.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a stunning 1930s Art Deco hotel run by Hilton now. The architecture is amazing. The service was also friendly and helpful . Matthew at the Bell Desk was extremely knowledgable and gave us some great local advice so we could enjoy the city to its fullest.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
August 14, 2014

TripChick100

Dear TripChick100:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found our staff, particularly Matthew at our Bell Desk, to be very friendly and helpful. We will be sure to forward your kind words with our Management staff to share with Matthew and their other team members.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

You have to go into this place understanding it's a very old building. In fact, I think it's on the National Registry. They have done a very nice job of adding in the modern conveniences that we've come to expect. Make no mistake, it's a full service hotel. Want a cup of joe? $5, please. Internet? $15. It adds up to stay here, but it really is a neat experience.

My stay was without any issues. The room was clean, service good and the food was even tasty. The gym in the basement is nice to have as it's close and well equipped. Parking can be a bit of a drag as it takes a while, but that's the only negative I can come up with.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
August 14, 2014

shumax

Dear shumax:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found our guestrooms to be clean and the services of our staff to be very good.

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your in dining experiences during your stay. We are well known for our food and beverage services and we will be sure to forward your kind words to our Management staff to share with their team members.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our Internet policy. Currently our complimentary guestroom Internet access is for our Diamond and Gold HHonors members. We offer complimentary wireless Internet service from the lobby and in our business center in the lobby. At present, we are providing the lowest unbundled price on our system since many of our travelers do not utilize our Internet service. Our charges for guestroom Internet service are comparable to all of our full service competitors in this market. We do apologize that this was a concern.

Lastly, please accept my apologies for your concerns regarding our parking options. Beginning in the fall, the new Mabley Garage which will be housed in the adjoining (former) Carew Tower Mall space, will be opened providing us with excellent access to parking including valet and self parking options. We look forward to the improvement this will bring and regret this too was a concern.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed at the Cincinnati Hilton Netherland hotel over the 4th of July weekend 2014. I was in town for a family reunion. The rest of the family stayed at suburban hotels. I'm more of a city person and wanted to stay downtown. I selected the Hilton Netherland for its history and Art Deco style. The hotel room wasn't terribly overpriced. However, being a downtown hotel, parking and Wi-Fi access can add considerably to the final bill. When I was there, parking was $25 / day.

Being a home baseball weekend and the 4th of July - the place was hopping with Reds fans which brought a fun and festive energy to the place.

The cocktail lounge/restaurant on premises looked interesting - but I was too under-dressed (shorts, Birkenstocks, and a t-shirt) to comfortably have a drink in it. I did walk by it one night and heard the music and saw the people inside...it could have been a scene taken from Mad Men. Would have been fun to hang out in there if I'd brought different clothing.

There is an old-school '70s style shopping mall in the surrounding hotel area. I never shopped at it due to the stores being closed for the holiday. But, I did walk through it to admire the gorgeous Art Deco tiles. I highly recommend anyone to walk through and admire the beautiful tile work.

Positives: Beautiful art deco style, great history, access to downtown and nearby attractions such as the Reds ball park, Underground Railroad Museum, the Carew Tower observation deck, and downtown/riverfront nightlife. Even the Over the Rhine neighborhood (which MUST be visited on a trip to Cincy) is very easy walking distance on flat ground. I wish I had a bike to explore even more of the city. I did have a car, but I much prefer cycling.

Negatives: Paying for parking, paying for Wi-Fi, small bathroom, length of time to get car retrieved from valet (call at least 15-20 minutes before you plan to pick up the car).

Room Tip: Choose Riverfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
August 14, 2014

Brian_SEA

Dear Brian_SEA:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the French Art Deco design of the hotel to be beautiful.

Thank you for your concerns regarding the pricing of our parking options. Like all of our downtown hotel competitors we do not own or operate our own parking structure, and as a result, the cost of parking is a direct cost from the parking provider to the hotel guests. Our valet parking pricing is even with or below the cost of valet parking with the other nearby full service downtown hotels. Nevertheless, we regret this was a concern.

Lastly, thank you for your feedback regarding our Internet policy. Currently our complimentary guestroom Internet access is for our Diamond and Gold HHonors members. We offer complimentary wireless Internet service from the lobby and in our business center in the lobby. At present, we are providing the lowest unbundled price on our system since many of our travelers do not utilize our Internet service. Our charges for guestroom Internet service are comparable to all of our full service competitors in this market. We do apologize that this too was a concern.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Checked in, after finding the self-parking (which is a hassle). Efficient check in, and up to our room on the 23rd floor (where Winston Churchill stayed in the 1930s). Hotel is gorgeous, Art Deco treasure, and apparently closed in 1981 for two years of massive renovations. Like stepping back in time. On-going renovations keep this hotel top of it's game. Have a drink in the bar and relive the golden age of the Great Gatsby. Service is top notch.

Room Tip: Higher the better, I always say. We looked out over fountain square, so was noisy in the evening (s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
August 14, 2014

Ttaylo3

Dear Ttaylo3:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the French Art Deco design of the hotel to be gorgeous.

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your experiences at our Bar at Palm Court. We are well known for our food and beverage services and we will be sure to forward your kind words to our Management staff to share with their team members.

Please accept my apologies for your concerns regarding the location of our self parking garage. Beginning in the fall, the new Mabley Garage which will be housed in the adjoining (former) Carew Tower Mall space, will be opened providing us with excellent access to parking including valet and self parking options. We look forward to the improvement this will bring and regret this was a concern.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardington, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel was nice but overpriced. This has been my experience with Hilton hotels. I feel that the quality is as good as other moderately priced hotels. Yes the beds are very comfortable but everything this else is comparable except one thing.... where is the complimentary breakfast??? At this price point you would think it would be standard. Unfortunately it isnt. If you want breakfast at your hotel you are paying. This particular hotel had a 1920's vibe and was very pretty but unless you want to pay valet prices to park you will have to huff it 3 blocks to a pay parking lot to park your car. This is probably due to the downtown location so bear that in mind. This must be an older hotel as we did notice a bit of a musty smell in the room. It was however very clean and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
August 11, 2014

Jenna N


Dear Jenna N:

Thank you for taking the time to complete the electronic guest evaluation survey regarding your visit to the Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. We sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Thank you for your positive ratings and comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and comfort of the bedding. We are very pleased that you enjoyed these aspects of your stay. Also we will be sure to share your comments that our staff was very nice with our entire team.

Let me apologize to you for your concerns with the costs for parking and breakfast here at our hotel. Like all of our downtown competitors, our hotel does not own a parking garage. We do offer valet parking or we refer our guests to nearby self parking. Coming soon, the new self parking garage located adjacent to our hotel will be opening. Although this will not be a complimentary parking option, we are excited to have a more convenient parking option nearby to accompany our valet parking offering.

For our property we do not include the cost of breakfast in with our overnight room rates. Since not all of our guests dine on property, we find that offering the lowest unbundled room rate and allowing our guests to only buy breakfast if they are going to dine with us is a better option overall for our guests. Again, we regret that these were concerns for you.

I have also noted your comments about the shampoo and amenities not meeting your expectations for this level of a property. Like all Hilton Hotels, we do provide Peter Thomas Roth bath amenities to our guests. I will be sure to share your feelings about these amenities with our colleagues at Hilton Hotels, as they are always looking to select amenities that match our upscale and luxurious properties.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.


Sincerely,

Matthew Coffey
Assistant General Manager

Cc: Belvedere Hotels, Ltd.
John Howard, Director of Brand Performance, Hilton Hotels
Michel Sheer, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.