We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, historical, downtown hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Marion, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice, historical, downtown hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in this hotel when we went to a Reds baseball game. The hotel was within blocks of the stadium and we could see Fountain Square from our window. I love history, so this was a great place to stay. They had a brochure in the lobby and tells all about this hotel and all the great who have stayed there. (Including Elvis :) ) The staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
July 22, 2014

DestinationUnkno…

Dear DestinationUnkno…

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your visit to our hotel to see a Cincinnati Reds Baseball Game! We are delighted to know that you enjoy history and took the time to discover some of the hotel’s connection to history. I hope that you made time to see our display case of memorabilia in the lobby! I know from your comments that you saw the walking tour brochure and that you found our picture of Elvis and the story of his stay with us. Gerry Pasqualetti, who retired last year, was the cook who made “the best hamburger I ever ate” according to the King!

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    387
    155
    65
    25
See reviews for
164
324
73
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
albany, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for about 30 years.It is a beautiful old art deco hotel that has been restored to its old style. It is a beautiful hotel, great service and wonderful Sunday brunch. WE have never had a bad weekend here and We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
August 1, 2014

Chong C

Dear Chong C:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that after 30 years of patronage you have never had a bad experience!

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your Sunday Brunch dining experiences during your stay. We are well known for our food and beverage services and we will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I just stayed at the Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel for a week while at a convention. What a great old art deco hotel! The hotel public areas are beautiful and staff were very helpfull and accomodating. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Remember this is an old hotel so the bathrooms aren't as big as one might find in a more modern building. I will definately stay here again if my travels take me to Cincinatti

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
July 22, 2014

4Vacation

Dear 4Vacation:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding the hotel’s Art Deco beauty. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed your interactions with our staff and found the guestroom be clean and comfortable! We’ll be sure to share your thoughts with the appropriate members of our team!

Thank you again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel has a very empathetic staff. I went there for a conference and due to unfortunate circumstances had to cut my trip short. All staff went our of their way to accommodate my unplanned exit. There was one glitch with the bellhop and my luggage which caused a slight delay. The management apologized as this is not their standard ans all attempted to remedy this situation. The hotel sent a letter of apology after my return home. If my plans take me back to Cincinnati, I will return to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
August 1, 2014

Marie R

Dear Marie R:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that you found our staff to be friendly and empathetic. We will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

If I may echo the apology for the delay in the delivery of your luggage by our bellman; we are very delighted to see that our management staff was able to remedy the situation to your satisfaction. We hope and trust our staff action have conveyed our sincere interest in responding to you in this matter.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

comfortant hotel to usual Hilton standard with the additional feature of art deco design throughout which makes it interesting. Staff are excellent throughout. Great downtown location.
Rooms very confortable. The air conditioning is a bit fierce and makes the public areas a bit chilly.
No free WiFi in the room - why do hotels still feel they can charge for this, I think I'll start a campaign!.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the river - a/ it's a good view, b/ Fountain Square can get noisy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
July 22, 2014

James H

Dear James H:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding our staff and the hotel’s location. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed these aspects of your visit.

Thank you too for sharing your concerns with Internet service. Like our full service competitors in this market, we do not include Internet service with our basic guestroom offering. I am unable to find your reservation using your TripAdvisor name and so, I can’t tell if there is more to review than that. If you care to e-mail me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com I’ll be glad to review this further for you. In the meantime, we do offer complimentary wireless service from the hotel’s lobby and restaurants as well as our complimentary business center in the lobby.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, we have stayed there many times over the past 15 years and it never disappoints. Not only is it beautiful the service is great! The Sunday brunch is truly one of the best!
We like the location and enjoy walking around the city and to the ballpark.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
August 1, 2014

RV Anonnie

Dear RV Anonnie:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and that after 15 years of patronage we have never disappointed you!

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding your Sunday Brunch dining experiences during your stay. We are well known for our food and beverage services and we will be sure to forward your kind words to our management staff to share with their team members.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a work convention for almost a week.
The place has history and is beautiful. The staff is super nice. From Kelly the guy who greets you at the door. From checking-out with Amanda. All super nice!! The rooms are comfortable and have all amenities. The elevators are quick and work great. If returning to Cincinnatti I would stay here and only here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
July 22, 2014

FFMunson

Dear FFMunson:


Thank you for taking the time to complete our Electronic Guest Evaluation form as well as your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for your positive ratings in conjunction with your visit to Cincinnati with the International Association of Fire Fighters. As a Gold HHonors Traveler, your ratings and comments are especially important to us.

Thank you for taking the time to recognize Kelly, our Doorman and Amanda, our Front Office Agent. We are delighted that they both took steps to insure that you were recognized and that your needs for quickly handling luggage and completing the check-in while you were at the game were taken care of. We’ll be sure to share your comments directly with each of them!

FFMunson, many thanks for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director

Cc: Belvedere Hotels, Ltd.
John Howard, Director Brand Performance, Hilton Hotels
Matthew Coffey, Assistant General Manager
Julia Morgan, Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.