We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed one night at the Hilton Cincinnati downtown, amazon location and friendly staff. I had a king size room, and was very pleased with the outcome of the room/stay. I had lunch at orchids, and it was fantastic! The pasta bar I swear you can smell from the outside. There was a wait to be seated to get my table ready for my co-workers. I was told 5 mins, ended up being less than 1) I didn't think to call ahead and make reservations for my party of 7. The girl at the front desk in orchids was very nice, I do not remember her name but she had red hair and black glasses, while they were putting our table together she talked to my family and I about the hotel, gave us a pamphlet on the hotel, and just seemed to actually care about our scarification. She reminded me of my daughter who had passed away at a young age from breast cancer, so that was refreshing. We ended up wanting to sit in the bar area and we our servers name was Steven, he was fantastic also. He didn't just come up and take our order it was as if he built a relationship with us, and he was one of the best servers I've ever had. Overall I can understand why your hotel is rated so highly, and your restaurant is rated #1 in Cincinnati. The prices for the pasta bar are also very affordable!!! will be staying again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
December 5, 2013

Johncphil

Dear Johncphil:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our staff’s services to be extremely freindly. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Thank you too for your comments regarding your experiences at our restaurant the Grille at the Palm Court. We are well known for our food and beverage service, and you may be assured we will share your kind words regarding, not only the service, but the relationships you acquired from so many of our restaurant staff members with our Executive Chef/ Food & Beverage Director Todd Kelly to share with his team.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    409
    158
    65
    25
See reviews for
172
335
74
537
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was a perfect hotel for a quick overnight get away that was close to home. They provided shuttle service to the casino and taxi service was available upon request to many other Cincinnati area attractions. BEAUTIFUL historical hotel,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
December 5, 2013

Amanda K

Dear Amanda K:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our service to be very convenient. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

this hotels deco beauty is timeless....and elegant. the location is perfect, right in the heart of downtown shopping, restaurants and the square. you can take the trolley over to Newport on the Levee, in Kentucky or just take a stroll around the downtown area to sample Cincinnati's finest ice cream, Graeter's.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
December 5, 2013

Toni M

Dear Toni M:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our facilities to be timeless. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a jewel of a hotel near everything in town from fine dining to fine football or baseball or business. One look at the lobby and restaurant and you are turning your head looking for Fred Astair and Ginger Rodgers. This is not a musty old hotel but an upgraded taste of the past. You have to accept a small bathroom but that wasn't disappointing because it was tasteful and not patched together. It was a Hilton so the people were nice and service top notch. Hilton seems more like a caretaker of history than just an owner. Great gym in the basement which is important to me. Second time there and not my last.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
December 5, 2013

George P

Dear George P:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our service to be to notch. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the lack of space in the bathroom of your guestroom. We are continuing to review options for improving the bathroom portion of our guestroom experience. I apologize that these aspects of your stay were disappointing. We are working with our owners group on future improvements to the bathroom that will include changes that will address the space issue that you have cited.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful art-deco hotel, well maintained and restored. We had mini-suite, 2 rooms with 2 full baths. Rooms were a bit small but spotless as was entire property. Bed very comfortable. Service top-notch from car valets to bell men to front desk and bar. Attached to Carew Tower. Access to excellent gym with lap pool. Location in downtown could not be better. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
November 8, 2013

kiddoc1940

Dear kiddoc1940:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our guestrooms to and the entire hotel to be spotless. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the lack of space in the bathroom of your guestroom. We are continuing to review options for improving the bathroom portion of our guestroom experience. I apologize that these aspects of your stay were disappointing. We are working with our owners group on future improvements to the bathroom that will include changes that will address the space issue that you have cited.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Coming from Saudi Arabia on Military Deployment, this was a break I needed. The Horseshoe Casino organized and recommended the Hilton because they did not have a hotel connected to the Casino. Being my second time in Cincinnati, Ohio, this was more relaxing because of my hotel stay. I was able to rest and relax totally for the first time since being deployed to Afghanistan and then to Saudi Arabia. Because my like of the Brand, I normally stay at Jeddah and Damman Hilton Hotels when traveling throughout Saudi Arabia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
November 6, 2013

Jason C

Dear Jason C:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Electronic Guest Evaluation form and a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for your excellent ratings in conjunction with your visit to Cincinnati for a well earned break from military duty. As a member of our armed forces, your ratings and comments are especially important to us.

Thank you for sharing that you were able to relax during your stay including your visit to the Horseshoe Casino. We are delighted to know this and will certainly share this with our team.

Thank you too for letting me know that our housekeeping team had knocked on your guestroom door in order to provide service to the room prior to your departure from the hotel. We will review this carefully with the team member involved in order to insure a similar situation does not recur.

Jason C, many thanks for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director

Cc: Belvedere Hotels, Ltd.
John Howard, Director Brand Performance, Hilton Hotels
Matthew Coffey, Assistant General Manager
Yat Sen Jerome, Director of Housekeeping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here last weekend as a treat for my wife's 40th Birthday.

Booked the hotel using HHonors points (only 30,000 for the basic room - bargain) and wrote int he comments section that it was for a special occasion...

Upon check-in we were informed we had been given a room upgrade and asked if we wanted a low or high floor. We went high. Ended up in the "Churchill Suite". Huge room and we had a place of chocolate / fruits / chocolate covered fruits with a "Happy Birthday" message on it. Very thoughtful!

Guzzled those down (along with a bottle of bubbly we'd bought) and some snacks from the Belvedere room and then went to have dinner / drinks with friends.

A decent nights sleep (air con units were noisey outside) and we got up at about 7.30 and had to go home (we have a 1 and 2 year old) to relive the mother in law!

All in all a very special stay. Hope to stop here again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
November 8, 2013

Neilbond007

Dear Neilbond007:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found your upgrade to the Churchill Suite to be very accommodating. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Please except my apology regarding the outside noise transference you experienced in your guestroom. We will review this with our Engineering team in order to determine what steps we may be able to take to mitigate this problem for the future. Thank you for letting us know

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.