We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beuatiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beuatiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Gorgeous art deco hotel in Cincinnati. Rooms are a bit small, but adequate. Good bar ambiance and food. Nicely kept, pleasant and helpful staff, although the front desk was a bit lackadaisical, requiring reminders to credit an incorrect charge. Very convenient to the convention center. Definitely would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
October 24, 2013

Kathy A

Dear Kathy A:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our staff’s services to be very helpful. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

As a historic hotel, we have a small number of queen and king size beds in this category. When our occupancy allows us to do so, our agents will review our guest’s requests and place our guests in room types that are above and beyond what has originally been reserved. If we did not acknowledge your request for a king or our inability to fulfill a larger room type at the time of check in, I apologize.

Please accept my apology for the mis-posting of a charge that was added to your bill. We hope and trust our team member’s prompt action in removing this charge has conveyed our sincere interest in this matter.

Many thanks again, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    391
    156
    65
    25
See reviews for
166
325
73
521
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I love this hotel. We have stayed twice now - each time for a Cincinnati Reds game. Our 1st room was quite small but still nice & clean. Comfy beds. Our 2nd room was much larger and we loved the fact that it was a corner room so we had a window on 2 walls. The décor is beautiful and it is really like stepping back in time. Within walking distance to the stadium and several bars & eating establishments. The breakfast buffet was delicious as well! We had a charge show up on our room bill which was not ours and the staff was extremely friendly and took care of it right away. Wont stay anywhere else in downtown Cincy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
October 24, 2013

bostonterrierlover32

Dear bostonterrierlover32:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our staff’s services to be great. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Please accept my apology for the mis-posting of a charge that was added to your bill. We hope and trust our team member’s prompt action in removing this charge has conveyed our sincere interest in this matter.

Many thanks again and we are proud to be your hotel of choice when your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here based on location to shopping and restaurants...beautiful historic building, great room service, nice décor in the rooms, easy too find, lots of amenities, amazing views. Only con, smaller bathrooms but nicely done...We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view. Ask for a downtown view or a river view, both amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
October 24, 2013

Mike and Joanna W

Dear Mike and Joanna W:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our staff’s services to be great. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the lack of space in the bathroom of your guestroom. We are continuing to review options for improving the bathroom portion of our guestroom experience. I apologize that these aspects of your stay were disappointing. We are working with our owners group on future improvements to the bathroom that will include changes that will address the space issue that you have cited.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here for business and had a great stay. The room was very spacious and comfortable. All of the staff from the front desk, concierge and bellmen were all so friendly and helpful. I was always greeted nicely when I entered the hotel. The hotel was also located in a convenient area. Everything was within walking distance. Discount tickets to a couple of restaurants were also available at the concierge. I'd gladly stay here again if plans take me back to Cincinnati.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
October 22, 2013

Hardrocker8888

Dear Hardrocker8888:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our guestrooms to be a spacious and comfortable. Thank you too for your comment regarding our staff’s services; we are very pleased to see that so many of our team members were more than accommodating during your stay. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford City, Indiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After reading some of the other reviews, I feel bad for the people who had a bad experience here.

We ended up staying in a Junior Suite and boy was it amazing!!! The place was clean, had 2 bathrooms, 3 windows, fridge, a large TV in both rooms. The list goes on and on. I took the kids on a walk and never had to touch the outside air. The place was so big and was attached to so many other buildings, there was plenty to see.

The pool was a little small, but for the time of year we went, it was empty, so it wasn't even an issue. The hot tub was also nice. It was attached to the gym which was one of the biggest workout rooms that I have ever seen at a hotel, but since we had the kids with us, I didn't get a chance to try it out.

There are also plenty of places to eat both in the building and within a 2 or 3 minute walk. We chose to walk over to Fountain Square and eat over there (which is basically across the street.

My only issue is that there is no free breakfast or free wi-fi, but knowing that ahead of time, we brought our own breakfast with us and I had a great 4G signal on my phone. So both weren't that big of a deal...

Overall a great place to stay, I would stay here again if given the choice!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
October 22, 2013

Vacation_Commander

Dear Vacation_Commander:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our guestrooms to be a clean and comfortable. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Thank you too for your comments regarding our fitness facility, The Gym. The Gym is one of the largest fitness facilities in the city and we are pleased that you and your children had a most enjoyable experience.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Fine, the room seems small, and the feeling dated, but everything is clean, solid, and the art deco restaurant wonderful. From executive (met on elevator) through bus boy (walked by while waiting for dining mate), everyone stops to ask if you need anything. A special place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
October 18, 2013

Louis J

Dear Louis J:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and of the hotel and found our staff’s services to be excellent. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Thank you to for your concerns regarding our guestrooms. As a historic hotel, we have a small number of queen and king size beds in this category. When our occupancy allows us to do so, our agents will review our guest’s requests and place our guests in room types that are above and beyond what has originally been reserved. We have also just completed installing new seating surfaces as well as draperies and soft goods to all of our guestrooms throughout the hotel. Nevertheless we regret this was a concern.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Vegas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is an older property, but don't let that detour you. Great ambiance and business atmosphere. Plenty of options to keep you busy in downtown Cinti. We didn't eat in the hotel, but the aroma from catering and the restraint was throughout the building and smelled delicious. All service was spot-on!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
October 18, 2013

SportsMom19

Dear SportMom19:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our staff’s services to be spot on. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Though we regret you did not have an opportunity to dine at our restaurants, thank you for your kind words regarding your observations of our services. We are well known for our food and beverage services.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.