We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Oakland, United States
1 review
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Fine, the room seems small, and the feeling dated, but everything is clean, solid, and the art deco restaurant wonderful. From executive (met on elevator) through bus boy (walked by while waiting for dining mate), everyone stops to ask if you need anything. A special place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
October 18, 2013

Louis J

Dear Louis J:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and of the hotel and found our staff’s services to be excellent. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Thank you to for your concerns regarding our guestrooms. As a historic hotel, we have a small number of queen and king size beds in this category. When our occupancy allows us to do so, our agents will review our guest’s requests and place our guests in room types that are above and beyond what has originally been reserved. We have also just completed installing new seating surfaces as well as draperies and soft goods to all of our guestrooms throughout the hotel. Nevertheless we regret this was a concern.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    373
    151
    65
    24
See reviews for
162
316
72
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
G-Vegas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is an older property, but don't let that detour you. Great ambiance and business atmosphere. Plenty of options to keep you busy in downtown Cinti. We didn't eat in the hotel, but the aroma from catering and the restraint was throughout the building and smelled delicious. All service was spot-on!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
October 18, 2013

SportsMom19

Dear SportMom19:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our staff’s services to be spot on. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Though we regret you did not have an opportunity to dine at our restaurants, thank you for your kind words regarding your observations of our services. We are well known for our food and beverage services.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and the staff is more than accomodating. We utilized valet parking, and the staff had to run to our car twice and did so quickly and without reservation. The beds and pillows are very comfortable (and I quite picky), and the room was a nice size. I recommend asking for a corner room I would HIGHLY recommend a stay at this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
October 18, 2013

Patti N

Dear Patti N:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our guestrooms to be a nice size and comfortable. Thank you too for your comment regarding how staff’s services; we are very pleased to see that our team members were more than accommodating during your stay. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would like to start off this review by saying that I've stayed here before and no complaints, aside from the rather tired decor. Upon check-in, which was efficient and pleasant, we arrived to one of the double queen junior suites, which we had stayed in previously, to have updated furniture and decor. The room was extremely clean and well presented, and don't have a single complaint about the actual room or any of the facilities. The service failure began upon arriving at the Club Lounge. The attendant, whose name I did not catch, was much more interested in gossiping with the chef that was delivering the food than assisting guests. They were wildly describing their previous night out, saying a lot of pretty inappropriate things that one would not want mentioned in front of guests, much less the guests that are paying higher rates, and Hilton's most valued guests. Sadly, it only got worse the next day. We noticed the next morning that the credit card on file had been over-authorized. Having stayed at many hotels and dealing with this issue before, we simply approached the desk and explained the issue. A credit card authorization release can be a lengthy process, but it's fairly simple, and it's the hotel's duty to take care of it for the guest, as it is the hotel's mistake. We encountered a woman named Enid at the desk. She is probably one of the least caring hotel employees I've ever encountered. She basically told us it's our problem and that we needed to call the bank to get it released. My entire party was absolutely flabbergasted that an employee at a 4-star hotel could be so careless. Eventually the Director of Front Office attempted to become involved, but made no real effort to assist or take command of a horrible service failure. An hour and a half after initially coming to the desk, we were forced to leave without an acceptable resolution. While I love the hotel, the extremely poor, careless service from this last trip will likely have me stay elsewhere when I visit Cincinnati.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
October 15, 2013

INDrob83

Dear INDrob83:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for again selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding the décor and cleanliness of your guestroom. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the upgrades we have completed in our rooms and found our housekeeping to be up to its usual high standard.

Please accept my sincere apology for your description of your encounter with our team members in Belvedere Club. We normally receive really excellent comments about the work that they do on behalf of our guests. I’m sorry to learn that this occurred. Thank you for letting me know.

We also regret the issue that you have descried with billing for your guestroom. I wasn’t able to uncover your information from your stay so I’m not able to respond to your concern. I apologize, however, that you did not find our staff to be helpful and pleasant in trying to resolve this for you. By your description, I believe what they may have been indicating is that the bank will not speak with us or resolve a credit concern directly. They require both the card holder and the hotel to be involved in the discussion. I would be happy to hear more about your concern and address this personally. You may reach me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com to do so.
Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Netherland while visiting Cincinnati for a football game. The hotel is within walking distance of the stadium and many wonderful restaurants. The room was much larger than we anticipated. The Sunday brunch is by far one of the best we have had anywhere and all of the staff went above and beyond. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
October 16, 2013

Patricia M

Dear Patricia M:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty and location of the hotel and found our staff’s services to be great. You can be sure that we’ll share your comments with our team in general.

Thank you too for your feedback regarding your Sunday Brunch experience at our restaurant The Orchids at the Palm Court. We are well known for our food and beverage services and are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and it to be one of the best brunches you have had anywhere.

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for a weekend getaway without the kids. We were "upgraded" from the queen room that we reserved to 2 double beds with a river view. The room was definitely bigger than the queen room and the view was great but my idea of an upgrade would have been a room with a king bed. The room was clean and bathroom was adequate. Do not flag down a taxi on your own as you WILL get yelled at by the bellman. We were actually asked to exit the cab that we flagged down because we did not see that there were people down sidewalk that the bellman was trying to get a cab. It was an honest mistake on our part as we did not see them and did not feel like we should have been scolded like children.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
October 14, 2013

Amy F
Columbus, Ohio

Dear Amy F:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the character of the hotel, its cleanliness and the convenience of our location. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed these aspects of your stay!

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great location but that is where the accolades end. Room very small, bathroom very dated with lots of layers of paint and dated fixtures. Service in the restaurant bar was poor no napkins with drinks slow service, and mediocure food. Staff not very atentive to guest request. I will not stay here again and will not recomend it to anyone. I wish we opted for staying somewhare else there are many hotels in town that must be better to their guests.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
October 14, 2013

Duce O

Dear Duce O:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you too for sharing your concerns with your guestroom and your experience in the Palm Court Grill. We are very disappointed to learn of your concern. From your name, Duce O, we are unable to identify who you are. If you would like to contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com, I’ll be happy to address your concerns personally.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.