We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
“Wedding Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton the night of the wedding. We also purchased the special occasion package which included a bottle of chilled champagne, strawberries dipped in chocolate and a room-service breakfast the next morning. The ice for the champagne was melted when we got there and the strawberries were looking a little deflated, but that's mostly because we didn't check in until close to 11pm. I'd assume they put those in the room at around 3pm when they prepared the room for us - perhaps this would've been better if they'd waited until we had checked in and then delivered it to the room fresh. Other than that, the room was great, very spacious, quiet and clean, and the bed was quite comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    370
    150
    64
    23
See reviews for
159
312
71
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family doesn't mind spaces that are a little awkward or that might "need a little updating". Amazingly, that's not the case here at the Netherland Plaza. The common areas are gorgeous. There are way-finding signs in appropriate places to help you get around. There are historic photos of what the rooms used to look like. The common rooms are spotless. When a hotel staff has pride in a property, it shows. We were talking about how lovely we found the hotel to our server at the Sunday breakfast buffet (which is truly a value), and she gave us a brochure for a walking tour of the hotel, explaining the history of the building and the facts about its construction. Later, we were debating trying to see the Hall of Mirrors, as there had been a wedding there the day before and we were unsure if we should try again. A staff member approached us to offer assistance. She turned out to be the banquet manager! She whisked us directly up to the Hall of Mirrors and answered all of our questions about the space. So indicative of the staff of this hotel - we were always greeted, always made to feel welcome.

Our room was clean and well appointed. We had a suite with a pull-out sofa in the living area and a king bed, with two full bathrooms and a mini-fridge. My kids declared it the most comfortable convertible sofa that they've ever slept on, and that's huge. The two bathrooms were clean and the toiletries provided were of good quality. Our room allowed access to the Belvedere Club, which was a great benefit. It was never busy, and it was fun to get food and drinks and sit out on the terrace. The kids loved the pool, which was a nice size. We didn't use the gym, but we had to walk through it to get to the pool. It looked like a regular health club, not the typical hotel offering.

Valet was a little confusing to us, only because the bell stand is right at the hotel entrance on Race Street and valet is further down the street, under the hotel. I had tried to research how that all worked, but hadn't done enough research, apparently! It actually is a smooth process, looking back now. At the time it seemed a little frantic. So for someone like me - here it is: Valet for the hotel is off of Race Street. Don't get fooled by what looks like a valet stand by the hotel's doors. That's just for a bellman, who is not part of the valet service at all. If you look down past the hotel, you will see a big sign that says "Valet". Drive into there. Down to the left is the valet stand. They are attentive and are working hard. This level of the hotel is where the Gym at Carew Tower/pool is located. If you go through the waiting area doors and turn left, you can follow that hallway to the bank of elevators that will get you to the hotel lobby. It's very simple.

Our disappointments? They are all minor. We called for the linens for the sofa bed and housekeeping didn't come until we called again. I will take some blame for that, though, in not calling before we went to dinner. The cupcake store at the street level was closed during our entire stay (it closes at 4:00 pm on Saturday and is closed on Sundays and Mondays). The staff member at the Gym at Carew Tower decided to shock the pool an hour before it was to close, which was 7 - 8 p.m. (IIRC), so we couldn't use it for the rest of the night. In-room movies were $16 each.

We used the hotel as a two-night base for a city getaway. We went to various museums, the aquarium (took a taxi over and walked back), and ate at a mix of restaurants - including having Graeter's sundaes for supper one night sitting around Fountain Square. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less noise from the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We checked into our two bedroom suite which was superior. Walked to Reds game . Wish Tj Maxx which is down stairs had been open earlier next morning. Hotel was so well kept for an older historic building. We would stay again in a heart beat and highly recommend it. The bedding was like sleeping in the clouds!,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed just one night. The staff was very friendly. The hotel appeared to be busy and that's good. The hotel is older but well maintained. Our room was on a corner and had a great view of Cinci and the Ohio River. This is not an ultramodern hotel but rates at least 3 1/2 to 4 stars. We checked the bedbug registry and this hotel had no reports of the critters. A number of nearby high end hotels were not so lucky. It influenced where we stayed. Would I stay here again? Yes indeed and I recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the 22nd floor. Accommodations were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
July 10, 2013

Ed_Mahon

Dear Ed_Mahon:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your staff and our staff and that you found the hotel well maintained. We’ll be sure to share your thoughts with the appropriate members of our team!

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I always stay here when we are in Cincinnati, it's a beautiful hotel with top notch service, most of the time. The bar, just off the lobby, is an art deco design that is simply breathtaking, plan to have a drink before or after anything else you might do. The standard rooms can be small-ish, but just one upgrade moves you into a lovely, comfortable room with two bathrooms, two closets, and more. The valet parking is easy, fast and worth the price to avoid the self-parking.

On a recent stay at 3pm the rooms were not ready and it was another hour before they were; this was inconvenient for our schedule and the lobby was so busy that we had to manage our bags, reorganizing and consolidating right in the middle of a very busy, warm lobby. It was not the Netherlands' finest moment.

However, the staff is always top-notch, especially in that wonderful bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room ok. I know of alot of different hotels where I can stay for $99/night and got double the room size. Also, our air conditioner was broken, we waited 30 mins for them to come fix it at 10:00pm at night. Instead of switching our room since it was a one night romantic getaway they made us stay in the room while a strange maintenance man came in and fixed our thermostat. I wouldnt stay again. It was for a special occasion only for the downtown feel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
July 10, 2013

Cynthia G

Dear Cynthia G:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati! As a family friend of a Hilton Hotels team member, your comments are important to us.

Thank you too for sharing your difficulties with the operation of the thermostat in guestroom 1450. We regret that it malfunctioned and a member of our team had to respond to correct it for you. We appreciate too your suggestion that we provide an alternate guestroom for you. At that time, there was not another king bedded guestroom available in the hotel.

If you would like to review the matter further, please contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com or 513 564-6401.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Every property has Pros and Cons; during my stay, the Cons outweighed the Pros.
PRO
1. Great downtown location near convention center, easy walk to ballpark, connected to Skywalk (note that this is not unique to the Netherland Plaza; other large, full service hotels are within a block or two).
2. Access to the Gym at Carew Tower – this is a public, full service gym, so much better than a hotel fitness room. Located in lower level of hotel.
3. Very good, reasonably priced breakfast buffet.
4. Restored, beautiful Art Deco features; worth a walk through even if one isn’t staying there.
5. Nicely appointed rooms.
6. Polite staff.
7. Good views from higher floors (hotel is much taller than other hotels and adjacent buildings)

CON
1. Mind-numbingly long waits for the elevators. It appeared that not all of the six elevators were in service; due to the age of the hotel, the elevator cabs are small, exacerbating the problem. On Saturday night, the elevator foyer was dangerously over crowded with person waiting for the elevators.
2. General confusion and inefficiently at the valet parking. Suggest using the self park garage (connected to the hotel via second level walkway), which is cheaper and substantially less annoying (I was provided free parking in response to my complaints on this issue, which was appreciated, but doesn’t alter the experience).
3. Incredibly small bathroom, even in a “mini-suite”, which was otherwise good sized.
4. Room was not made up until about 4:30 pm even though room was vacated at 9:30 am.
5. Overall crowded feel to the hotel.
BOTTOM LINE: Other nearby properties are likely to provide a superior experience, but this is OK if you have an event in the hotel, find a great rate or are overly enamored with art deco interior design.

Room Tip: High floors facing south provide good view of Ohio River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
July 9, 2013

Davidwatts

Dear Davidwatts:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding the hotel’s location, décor, The Gym and the staff of the hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed these aspects of your stay.

Thank you too for sharing your difficulties with our guest elevators and valet parking. I was unable to locate your account in our system. If you would like to contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com I’ll be happy to respond to both of these concerns personally.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.