We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Cincinnati
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very old but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed just one night. The staff was very friendly. The hotel appeared to be busy and that's good. The hotel is older but well maintained. Our room was on a corner and had a great view of Cinci and the Ohio River. This is not an ultramodern hotel but rates at least 3 1/2 to 4 stars. We checked the bedbug registry and this hotel had no reports of the critters. A number of nearby high end hotels were not so lucky. It influenced where we stayed. Would I stay here again? Yes indeed and I recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the 22nd floor. Accommodations were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
July 10, 2013

Ed_Mahon

Dear Ed_Mahon:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your staff and our staff and that you found the hotel well maintained. We’ll be sure to share your thoughts with the appropriate members of our team!

Many thanks again and please call on us whenever your travel plans return you to Cincinnati.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    347
    148
    62
    24
See reviews for
151
289
68
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I always stay here when we are in Cincinnati, it's a beautiful hotel with top notch service, most of the time. The bar, just off the lobby, is an art deco design that is simply breathtaking, plan to have a drink before or after anything else you might do. The standard rooms can be small-ish, but just one upgrade moves you into a lovely, comfortable room with two bathrooms, two closets, and more. The valet parking is easy, fast and worth the price to avoid the self-parking.

On a recent stay at 3pm the rooms were not ready and it was another hour before they were; this was inconvenient for our schedule and the lobby was so busy that we had to manage our bags, reorganizing and consolidating right in the middle of a very busy, warm lobby. It was not the Netherlands' finest moment.

However, the staff is always top-notch, especially in that wonderful bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room ok. I know of alot of different hotels where I can stay for $99/night and got double the room size. Also, our air conditioner was broken, we waited 30 mins for them to come fix it at 10:00pm at night. Instead of switching our room since it was a one night romantic getaway they made us stay in the room while a strange maintenance man came in and fixed our thermostat. I wouldnt stay again. It was for a special occasion only for the downtown feel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
July 10, 2013

Cynthia G

Dear Cynthia G:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati! As a family friend of a Hilton Hotels team member, your comments are important to us.

Thank you too for sharing your difficulties with the operation of the thermostat in guestroom 1450. We regret that it malfunctioned and a member of our team had to respond to correct it for you. We appreciate too your suggestion that we provide an alternate guestroom for you. At that time, there was not another king bedded guestroom available in the hotel.

If you would like to review the matter further, please contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com or 513 564-6401.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Every property has Pros and Cons; during my stay, the Cons outweighed the Pros.
PRO
1. Great downtown location near convention center, easy walk to ballpark, connected to Skywalk (note that this is not unique to the Netherland Plaza; other large, full service hotels are within a block or two).
2. Access to the Gym at Carew Tower – this is a public, full service gym, so much better than a hotel fitness room. Located in lower level of hotel.
3. Very good, reasonably priced breakfast buffet.
4. Restored, beautiful Art Deco features; worth a walk through even if one isn’t staying there.
5. Nicely appointed rooms.
6. Polite staff.
7. Good views from higher floors (hotel is much taller than other hotels and adjacent buildings)

CON
1. Mind-numbingly long waits for the elevators. It appeared that not all of the six elevators were in service; due to the age of the hotel, the elevator cabs are small, exacerbating the problem. On Saturday night, the elevator foyer was dangerously over crowded with person waiting for the elevators.
2. General confusion and inefficiently at the valet parking. Suggest using the self park garage (connected to the hotel via second level walkway), which is cheaper and substantially less annoying (I was provided free parking in response to my complaints on this issue, which was appreciated, but doesn’t alter the experience).
3. Incredibly small bathroom, even in a “mini-suite”, which was otherwise good sized.
4. Room was not made up until about 4:30 pm even though room was vacated at 9:30 am.
5. Overall crowded feel to the hotel.
BOTTOM LINE: Other nearby properties are likely to provide a superior experience, but this is OK if you have an event in the hotel, find a great rate or are overly enamored with art deco interior design.

Room Tip: High floors facing south provide good view of Ohio River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
July 9, 2013

Davidwatts

Dear Davidwatts:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you too for your kind comments regarding the hotel’s location, décor, The Gym and the staff of the hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed these aspects of your stay.

Thank you too for sharing your difficulties with our guest elevators and valet parking. I was unable to locate your account in our system. If you would like to contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com I’ll be happy to respond to both of these concerns personally.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a standard Hilton hotel property. There was not anything special or bad about our stay here. We stayed this time for a wedding. The wedding rate was a great value. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were standard. My wife and I usually don't spend a whole lot of time if our room so we don't really get excited or disappointed by room size. The hotel did have a lot of character being that it was in one of the original skyscrapers in Cincinnati.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest US
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton and two other downtown hotels recently as Total Rewards members. The rooms and valet parking at all three were all comped by the Horseshoe Casino and all three of the rooms: the Hilton, the Cincinnatian and the 21C were standard rooms.

The three hotels have comparable amenities, but the Cincinnatian is currently our favorite- mostly due to the tiny standard rooms at the Hilton and 21C that are uncomfortable as two people cannot pass each other in the room or bath without the other having to move aside. The room size aside the rooms at all three hotels were nicely furnished with the exceptions being the old carpet at the Hilton and the wood flooring at the Cincinnatian.

The bathrooms in the Hilton and the 21C were as tiny as the rooms, but had all the expected amenities. The bath though is another major area where the CH stood out from the Hilton and the 21C. The bath at the CH was spacious with a vanity area with a large closet and safe and a large shower and toilet area with a large walk-in shower with two shower heads. Contrast that with the tight bath at the Hilton. We also didn't care for the pedestal sink in the Hilton because you could barely fit a cup for the coffee maker under the faucet. The toilet was tightly squeezed. The shower at the Hilton was ok- had a curtain enclosure, but the towels were high quality compared to the CH and the 21C. The shower in the 21C was good- the attraction in the 21C bath were the unique artsy tiles.

An area where the Hilton and 21C rank ahead of the Cincinnatian is the lack of a coffee maker in the CH. The Hilton and the 21C offered tea selections also.

The room in the Hilton had a nice view of the river and Paul Brown Stadium while the room in the CH faced the interior and you could hear noise from the lobby. The 21C room faced another building and had no view.

Wi-Fi at the Hilton was free in lobby areas but there was an in room charge unless you were a platinum HH member. Had trouble with the free wireless at the 21C but that might be our old laptop. The CH had free wi-fi also.

All three hotels had excellent fitness rooms. The 21C had machines with wi-fi, internet, music, etc. Water and headphones were provided as were bathrooms. The Hilton fitness room is associated with the Carew Tower, had tons of machines and free weights and was complimentary to Hilton guests. Ranking the three; 21C, Hilton, Cincinnatian.

The Hilton and CH lobbies are more traditional with a concierge. The lobby of the 21C is European and eclectic, but is small and if you are a fan of hotel lobbies you will not be comfortable there.

All three hotels are close to Fountain Square, local and national restaurants; Rock Bottom, Panera, etc. and for the healthy a nice walk to the ballparks, museums, and the casino.

There is a Walgreens and CVS across the street from each other only a block or so from all three hotels and they sell cold beer. All three of the hotels will put a refrigerator in your room for no charge if you request one when you make your reservation.

Be prepared- unlike the Hilton and the CH, the 21C has no ice maker. You have to ring the desk for ice.

As for the casino it is a nice experience but the slots seem tight and the table games have high minimums. There is no Spanish 21, Single or Double Deck Blackjack, side bets or surrender option. The table comps are non-existent but the prize comps are plenty. Be advised if you need a new card or replacement card the Total Rewards line is always full. Food choices are plenty but get old after a few visits.

Warning: Wear or at least take a jacket or sweater to the casino because it is cold enough to keep meat fresh.

The shuttle to and from the casinos is hit or miss. The are trying to work out the kinks so they change the schedule every time we go- making it difficult to catch without a lot of down time standing outside your hotel or at the casino. The hotels are just as confused as the driver's and they don't listen to the driver's recommendations on what might work best. The current arrangement is before 4pm it only runs every hour and stops at all 12 associated hotels which explains why it takes an hour. It is actually faster to walk or consider leaving the valet at your hotel and just drive. But that defeats the purpose of the shuttle.

One item of note is the casino does provide transportation from the casino to hotels in emergencies and will transport to the airport if not busy even if you are not a high roller.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

You can't beat the hotel for location and service. Also, the art deco is just beautiful. The fitness center, although convenient, lacks quality equipment. It's old and has maintenance issues. I'd be very disappointed if I had to pay an extra fee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Free internet...
Show More
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#15 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#12 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel
21c Museum Hotel
#2 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
City Center, Ro...
Show More
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#14 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Free Parking, M...
Show More
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Cincinnati-Eastgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.