We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel-Great Location-Tiny Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Midwest US
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel-Great Location-Tiny Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton and two other downtown hotels recently as Total Rewards members. The rooms and valet parking at all three were all comped by the Horseshoe Casino and all three of the rooms: the Hilton, the Cincinnatian and the 21C were standard rooms.

The three hotels have comparable amenities, but the Cincinnatian is currently our favorite- mostly due to the tiny standard rooms at the Hilton and 21C that are uncomfortable as two people cannot pass each other in the room or bath without the other having to move aside. The room size aside the rooms at all three hotels were nicely furnished with the exceptions being the old carpet at the Hilton and the wood flooring at the Cincinnatian.

The bathrooms in the Hilton and the 21C were as tiny as the rooms, but had all the expected amenities. The bath though is another major area where the CH stood out from the Hilton and the 21C. The bath at the CH was spacious with a vanity area with a large closet and safe and a large shower and toilet area with a large walk-in shower with two shower heads. Contrast that with the tight bath at the Hilton. We also didn't care for the pedestal sink in the Hilton because you could barely fit a cup for the coffee maker under the faucet. The toilet was tightly squeezed. The shower at the Hilton was ok- had a curtain enclosure, but the towels were high quality compared to the CH and the 21C. The shower in the 21C was good- the attraction in the 21C bath were the unique artsy tiles.

An area where the Hilton and 21C rank ahead of the Cincinnatian is the lack of a coffee maker in the CH. The Hilton and the 21C offered tea selections also.

The room in the Hilton had a nice view of the river and Paul Brown Stadium while the room in the CH faced the interior and you could hear noise from the lobby. The 21C room faced another building and had no view.

Wi-Fi at the Hilton was free in lobby areas but there was an in room charge unless you were a platinum HH member. Had trouble with the free wireless at the 21C but that might be our old laptop. The CH had free wi-fi also.

All three hotels had excellent fitness rooms. The 21C had machines with wi-fi, internet, music, etc. Water and headphones were provided as were bathrooms. The Hilton fitness room is associated with the Carew Tower, had tons of machines and free weights and was complimentary to Hilton guests. Ranking the three; 21C, Hilton, Cincinnatian.

The Hilton and CH lobbies are more traditional with a concierge. The lobby of the 21C is European and eclectic, but is small and if you are a fan of hotel lobbies you will not be comfortable there.

All three hotels are close to Fountain Square, local and national restaurants; Rock Bottom, Panera, etc. and for the healthy a nice walk to the ballparks, museums, and the casino.

There is a Walgreens and CVS across the street from each other only a block or so from all three hotels and they sell cold beer. All three of the hotels will put a refrigerator in your room for no charge if you request one when you make your reservation.

Be prepared- unlike the Hilton and the CH, the 21C has no ice maker. You have to ring the desk for ice.

As for the casino it is a nice experience but the slots seem tight and the table games have high minimums. There is no Spanish 21, Single or Double Deck Blackjack, side bets or surrender option. The table comps are non-existent but the prize comps are plenty. Be advised if you need a new card or replacement card the Total Rewards line is always full. Food choices are plenty but get old after a few visits.

Warning: Wear or at least take a jacket or sweater to the casino because it is cold enough to keep meat fresh.

The shuttle to and from the casinos is hit or miss. The are trying to work out the kinks so they change the schedule every time we go- making it difficult to catch without a lot of down time standing outside your hotel or at the casino. The hotels are just as confused as the driver's and they don't listen to the driver's recommendations on what might work best. The current arrangement is before 4pm it only runs every hour and stops at all 12 associated hotels which explains why it takes an hour. It is actually faster to walk or consider leaving the valet at your hotel and just drive. But that defeats the purpose of the shuttle.

One item of note is the casino does provide transportation from the casino to hotels in emergencies and will transport to the airport if not busy even if you are not a high roller.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    373
    151
    65
    24
See reviews for
162
316
72
493
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

You can't beat the hotel for location and service. Also, the art deco is just beautiful. The fitness center, although convenient, lacks quality equipment. It's old and has maintenance issues. I'd be very disappointed if I had to pay an extra fee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the night after our wedding. So, on our fifth anniversary, we decided to revisit. Our initial experience during check in was a bit of an embarrassing debacle. The extremely helpful gentleman at the front desk, however, was not only accommodating and polite, but also comforting. Despite the issues, he upgraded us at no charge to a junior sweet that overlooked the river. And, after all that, when we arrived in our room, he had sent us a bottle of champagne. Though I can't remember your name, I can't thank you enough for your hospitality.
Our bellhop was equally as welcoming. He told us later that he had tried to send us some chocolates , but the hotel wouldn't allow it since we had already been comped from the front desk. Thanks anyway. It was a very generous thought.
The room was beautiful and clean. Two bathrooms made getting cleaned up very easy. There was a living room/office area with a desk, couch, and TV, and a bedroom with another TV.
The Hilton is in a great location being on Fountain Square. We hit many of the restaurants around the area, strolled down to the Banks, and hit some late night entertainment at the dueling piano bar on the ground floor. There is also a free shuttle that you can get on from the Hilton to take to Horseshoe Casino. Ask the concierge about it.
We even shopped at TJ Maxx when I'd forgotten to bring PJs. Don't expect much from the mall at Netherlands Plaza anymore, though. There is only a Subway and a handful of shops left.
Speaking of...the Netherlands plaza boasts Cincinnati's #1 ranked restaurant by the lobby of the Hilton, Orchids at Palm Court. Though we've never eaten there, it's on the list. We did hang out at the bar one evening. It's easy to make some friends there, and they make a hell-of-a good dirty martini.
Due to our embarrassing incident on the way in, it was a bit of a hassle checking out. Unfortunately our awesome desk clerk wasn't on duty that morning. In the end, though, everything worked out beautifully and we had an amazing stay! And, for all it's beauty and amenities, as hotels go, it's pretty affordable!
Thanks again to the AMAZING staff of the Hilton Cincinnati Netherlands Plaza! You made this experience memorable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our experience at this hotel was a huge contrast from the previous night's stay in a Hilton in St. Louis. The Cincinnati Netherland hotel was great and we wished we could have stayed more than one night. The hotel staff accommodated our family of four with a very large room and complimentary wi-fi. The room even had a pull-out couch so not all of us had to 'double-up' for sleeping! A very kind member of the housekeeping staff even came up to our room after 11pm to put the sleeper sofa bed together for us as we were late getting home from the ball game. The Cincinnati waterfront and Great American Ballpark were very close, an easy walk and the area was clean and lively. Overall, a fantastic experience--what staying in a hotel should be like!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is a 1929 gem, and well worth a walking tour to see. The staff obviously are proud of the place and like wroking there. And the Orchids at Palm Court restaurant is unbelievably good - one of the very best in the country.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My son and I stayed here this past weekend. It was not what I expected from a Hilton. The valet in the basement was fine on our arrival. It started going downhill from there. When checking in, the older gentleman next to me at the desk was complaining about a bug the size of his pinky he found in his room -- and he had a big pinky. We were given a choice of suites (we had reserved a suite with access to the Belvedere Club). We picked one and went upstairs. It was abundantly clear right away that the hotel was not well kept. The lights in the hall (glass) were so dusty that someone had run a finger inside one and left a smear in the dust. When I got into the room, I noticed one of the beds was covered in cracker crumbs and dried alfalfa sprouts. It was clear the room received a superficial "cleaning" at best. I called to housekeeping and demanded new linens. The room itself was in ROUGH shape. I travel a lot for work and have never stayed in a hotel this rough. The bathroom door was chipping in several places and you could see the many colors the door had been over the years. The shower had mildew and the head did not work great.

The couch in the room was so old and used up the cushions were flat and I refused to let me son sit on it. 2 of the curtains had what looked like drop of blood on them and the carpet was pulled up along the walls and had snags. The wood trim was beat , abused and just painted over. Not what I consider a high-level fit and finish typical of a Hilton. I get it is old, but it should not look old and used up.

The room next to ours was some sort of long banquet looking space, I know because on Friday night it was wide open when we returned around 11. It looked like it had been used as a prep room for a wedding. Whatever, no big deal. That is until housekeeping began vacuuming the room at 11:30 while my son was trying to sleep.

It could have been worse I guess, but the hotel was the low point of the trip. Other members of my travel party stayed elsewhere and had much better accommodations. Look around!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
July 3, 2013

AE88

Dear AE88:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Netherland Plaza on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for you and your son's stay in Cincinnati.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the difficulties that you experienced and dissatisfaction that you expressed in your review. By your description, I believe that you were staying on the hotel's sixth or seventh floor. We are presently remodeling a number of guestrooms on this floor. I regret that our work there did not properly address cleaning the hallways and chandeliers prior to your arrival.

We are a couple of weeks away from beginning the process of replacing all of the seating surfaces, window treatments and companion bedding treatments in all of our guestrooms. We regret too that you discovered paint chips on the bathroom door of this guest room. And we are especially disappointed to learn that you discovered evidence of a prior guest in this guestroom. The hotel enjoys a very strong reputation for the cleanliness of our business. We will certainly address the concerns that you have raised with the appropriate members of our staff.

I am presently traveling on vacation, but would be happy to respond to you personally in this matter on Tuesday when I return. You may reach me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com to do so.

Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,


Michel Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely night for our 5 year anniversary and first night away from our 1 year old son at the Hilton Netherland Plaza. We were only staying 1 night, so we opted to not park valet as we only had a small overnight bag. The walk from the garage was not difficult w/ the small amount of luggage that we had, but I would not do it with kids or more luggage! The decor in the lobby and restaurant were gorgeous. It takes you back in time. We were there at around 6pm on a Friday night in the height of wedding season. It was a quick check in, but we did have to wait a little while for an elevator to get to floor 26. I reserved a king sized bed w/ jacuzzi and it did not disappoint. The room was decent sized for 2 and nicely decorated. But the bathroom was AMAZING. WONDERFUL jacuzzi tub in a room with a window along adjoining to the bathroom with another full sized tub. The bed was VERY comfy and our floor was very quiet. It was the best night of sleep I've gotten since my son was born last July!

Our room also came with access to the Belvedere Club, which is a lounge on the 16th floor. I was confused when our room key did not work when we went down to get a drink before our dinner out, but there was a phone near the door. We called down and after apoligizing, the woman working let us in. Drinks were decently priced and there were snacks and non-alcoholic drinks available for free. This is also where breakfast was available the next morning. We were able to sit outside on the veranda and it was very nice. Breakfast was just your basic continental breakfast, which was just fine for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.