We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful lobby.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Orchids at Palm Court Pkg
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Most beautiful lobby.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've not stayed here in ever but the rooms, if I remember correctly, are small and when staying in an older hotel that's what you get....that's just part of the deal.

The real selling point is the elegant lobby. It is a true masterpiece.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    489
    181
    76
    33
See reviews for
223
422
80
673
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I always stay at this property when in Cincinnati. Built in the 1930's, the lobby bar, restaurant, front desk area, and the spacious rooms are very much like they were in the 1930's but with the Hilton touch and service you would expect. One look in the restaurant and you feel like you were transported back to a time gone by. Best downtown business lunch buffet around. Great hotel staff for any size business meeting, but I would stay here for personal reasons as well...only blocks away from the stadiums for the Reds and Bengals on the river.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Line Philadelphia (suburbs)
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I had no idea that this hotel is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco architecture. .... until the taxi pulled up. From the moment I entered until I left a few days later I was consumed with seeing and photographing it all. An amazing experience if you're a fan of that style. My business colleagues were less impressed, saying they wished we were in a more "modern" hotel. Well yes it's technically "old", but it's still modern. Extraordinarily well maintained and the employees seemed well trained and proud to work there. I'm finding a reason to go back to Cincinnati just so I can stay there again and have a cocktail in that fabulous lobby bar!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, ky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a girls night & concert. When we arrived we were told we had been "upgraded" to a suite with 2 double beds. Upon arrival to the "suite" we discovered it was a conference room with two roll out beds/cots. We were very impressed with the accommodations bc we assumed there must be an attached bedroom. Nope! We called for an extra cot and expressed our concerns and were told they were booked completely. After returning to our room later that evening we found a bottle of champagne and hand-written note. Nice touch except two of guests were noticeably pregnant, including the one the note was addressed to! The iced bucket was also nice since the mini-fridge was broken.
The next morning we were awoken by several knocks on the door at 8:30 am. To our surprise it was the housekeeping service asking if we were ready to check out! When we replied no, they asked if we had done late checkout? Checkout is 12:00pm. 8:30 is 3.5 hours before checkout! We joked that they must have needed the room for a business meeting.
The hotel itself was nice. They were doing quite of bit of construction/remodeling but still no excuse for not having adequate sleeping rooms for rooms booked well in advance, especially for the price. I'd recommend spending the little bit more for The Millennium across the street.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
June 28, 2013

CSSKY

Dear CSSKY:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you too for sharing your concerns with the accommodations that were provided for your stay, parlor 740. I apologize that our front office team member who checked you into the hotel did not provide you with options to choose from. I also regret that he did not take the time to preview the suite with you and, in the event it was acceptable, make any other arrangements including additional bedding that you might need. While I’m delighted to hear that he provided a gesture of good faith in this regard, we are disappointed that it wasn’t appropriate and again, that our work was not more forthcoming.

Thank you too for sharing your concern about our Housekeeping team’s handling of your departure the following morning. Our dispatcher provides each of our Housekeeper’s with the occupied/vacant status of the guestrooms to start the day. Since your departure was on a Wednesday, we will review their work process to uncover why they would have knocked on your door.

Thank you again. Your guestroom folio includes the address for Orbitz, your booking agent. If you would like to reply to me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com I will be happy to more fully address your concerns.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was my first trip to Cincinnati in years -- hotel was lovely, perfectly located for a trip to the federal courthouse, and I look forward to returning for a longer stay. I was upgraded to a large corner room that was quiet, clean and had a great view

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel offers some of the very best service I have ever received. It is a beautiful hotel ,updated well and the air conditioners work extremely well ! The Belvedere Club (Executive lounge) is great for snacks or meeting with other registered guests of the hotel. The grille/ bar is gorgeous and the food is fantastic. Orchid's , the hotel's restaurant provided the finest service I have ever received, the food is also wonderful . I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you are a Hilton Honors Diamond or Gold member they provide you with an upgrade , if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the time we arrived underground at the Art Deco lobby off the parking garage, we were treated to a combination of time travel and up-to-date comfort. The Art Deco extravagance of the lobby and restaurants is balanced by quiet, restful colors in the bedrooms. We had a wonderful view westward over downtown Cincinnati, including the sweep of the river. The breakfast room is a treat with murals full of ancient historical scenes with buildings slyly evoking landmarks in downtown Cincinnati. The buffet and service were superb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#14 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#2 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#16 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.