We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The looks remind of the past luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The looks remind of the past luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It does look spectacular. It has all the charm of art deco hotels, with its stairs, stylish lobby, little things like old mailbox that really matter.
It becomes worse as you enter the lift. The corridors would lack decor, so do rooms. Basic, nothing to really complain about, perhaps apart from the phone that was out of order.
The staff is attentive and friendly. Sometimes there are too few of them though and the line at the reception can be long.
Overall, the place needs quite a lot of investment to return to its past glamour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    409
    158
    65
    25
See reviews for
172
335
74
537
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Me and wifey celebrated our 5th anniversary at this hotel and its great restaurant. Bang in the heart of Cincinnati downtown, this hotel has a illustrious history. The building in which the hotel is, Netherland Plaza, was the model for Empire State Building. The hotel is one of the finest examples of French Art Deco style. You feel like you stepped into "Last Year at Marienbad".

I booked the hotel via the Hilton website which provides some deals and packages. Guided by the Tripadvisor folks, i asked for a room on the higher floors, on the riverside. You see, the hotel is just opposite the Fountain Square which is kind of a night-life central for Cincinnati. If you are here on a day when there are programs happening there, there is chance of some noise.

I had mentioned that this is our Anniversary, and the reception upgraded us to a junior suite. The place was real nice and luxurious, especially the bedding. It was exquisite. In the night we had dinner with the tasting menu at Orchids at Palm Court, which is a celebrated restaurant, one of the top 10 in Cincinnati. The food was artful and inventive.

Next day we had a nice breakfast at Grill at Palm Court. Here there was the only snafu of our stay - the reception did not guide us properly and we ended up at a private breakfast party. That was a little embarassing. But the breakfast spread itself was broad and everything tasted good. If you are here on Sunday, check out the Sunday Brunch - probably the best in city,

The hotel presents many little detours in itself like Hall of Mirrors. You can get a brochure with the historical details of the hotel using which you can have a small tour of yourself. Also Carew tower is the 2nd highest building in Cincinnati, and you can go to the top (49th floor) and look around from a open balcony. Cool stuff. And it was snowing lightly when we went. We kissed in the snow, it was a good anniversary.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up, and with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is beautiful with historical detail. The room was clean and updated. I enjoyed room service twice. The food was good and arrived in under 30 minutes. The convention I attended held catered breakfast, lunch and once dinner in the ballroom and in the hall of mirriors. Again good food and service. I think I liked the location best as most shops, restaurants and the Reds stadium were all within a few blocks.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, away from the elevators and possibly a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The lobby, restaurant and public areas are very nice. I love the art deco style.
Our room, however, was very dated. The carpet, walls and furniture seemed like they weren't updated for decades! Our bathroom was extremely tiny. I would not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
May 4, 2013

Joseph R

Dear Joseph R:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati.

Thank you too for sharing your view of the hotel's guestroom decor. The guest rooms are furnished in period correct Biedermeier furnishings. We will be refreshing the guestroom pieces this summer as part of our ongoing investments into the hotel. We are working too on our bathrooms in terms of making the most efficient use of the footprint that we have. Please accept my apologies that these aspects of your stay were disappointing.

Should you wish to review this further, I would welcome the chance to speak with you. You may reach me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com. When your travel plans return you to Cincinnati, please don't hesitate to contact my Assistant Julie Heink at Julie.Heink@Hilton.com and reference this review. We'll be glad to make sure that your stay is especially comfortable.

Sincerely,

Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel needs a facelift. The bathrooms are very small and the building is very old and dingy. The parking garage is hidden on the side and had to go around the block as you totally miss it the first time. Some people may like the building as they think it has character but I prefer updated hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
May 29, 2013

Disappointed

Dear Disappointed:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati!

Thank you too for sharing your concerns with our historic hotel. We were disappointed to learn that you felt the hotel was “dingy.” We work very diligently to maintain the cleanliness and original panache of the hotel and regularly win awards and guest accolades for this effort. We sincerely regret that our efforts were not successful for you.

Thank you too for your comments regarding our valet parking service on the Race Street side of the hotel. We apologize that our signage there was not more apparent as you arrived.

If you would care to speak with me personally regarding this, please contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com. I’ll be happy to review this with you in detail.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
380 helpful votes 380 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The online rate for this hotel was $194 for a weekday night or another option of paying $50 and 12,000 Hilton Honors points. I chose the latter since I thought it was a much better value.

The hotel itself was gorgeous. Art deco style can be seen all throughout the hotel and it's actually not a bad place to take a quick walk. (But you're in downtown Cincinnati- please go outside and explore the city too!) I also got a 27th floor room with a marvelous view of the city. Get a higher floor room if you can!

The location of the hotel is superb. It is in the same building as a mini-mall and there is a skywalk that connects it directly to the parking garage. (Parking is $15/day with no in and out privileges. Valet parking is $25/day with in and out privileges.) The hotel is also within walking distance to pretty much anything you'd want to do in downtown Cincinnati- or even Covington, Kentucky if you want to walk across the bridge.

If you're a gold/diamond Hilton Honors member or you are staying in an executive suite, you get access to the 16th floor lounge. The hors d'oeuvres in the evening are definitely enough to be used as a meal and the dessert is delicious! Continental breakfast in the morning was okay- nothing noteworthy to talk about.

Hotel guests get free access to a fitness facility that's in the lower level. It's a legit fitness facility- like an actual gym that you'd pay a membership fee for entry. I really liked it. I'm actually getting tired of typing, so I'll just sum up by saying that I enjoyed my stay and you will too!

Room Tip: Get a high floor room to view the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Overall this was a great hotel experience. Right in the heart of downtown. Our room was gigantic, guess it used to be a suite or something to that extent, bathroom was a bit small but walk in closet and lots of space.

Beds were relatively comfortable.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

Only reason I will not go back is because of the rumors of it being haunted. The lady in the green dress by the hall of mirrors, I was creeped out the whole weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.