We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staycation Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Cincinnati
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staycation Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the Special Occasion Package for an overnight downtown. This included a bottle of champagne, a tray of gourmet chocolate covered and sprinkled strawberries, a gorgeous flower arrangement from Adrian Florist, breakfast buffet for two, turn down service, and late checkout. Worth every penny for the pampering! We checked in 90 minutes ahead of check-in time with no problem and were upgraded to a king bed suite on the top floor with a corner view of Fountain Square to the east and the Ohio River to the south. We also asked and were granted a later-than-usual check-out of 2 pm, instead of the late 12 pm checkout as we were having high tea at Orchids in Palm Court the following day. The room was very clean and neatly furnished and the floor was quiet, as I requested. We had a comfortable bed with six dreamy feather pillows. The breakfast buffet in the Grille at Palm Court was bountiful and delicious. The hotel is beautifully maintained in the Art Deco style and the entire time we were there, I imagined myself on the set of The Great Gatsby. Local folks who do not go to this hotel for high tea, a romantic dinner, or an overnight getaway are really missing out on a true historic gem in Cincinnati. We were treated very well by all staff with whom we interacted. The breakfast buffet in the Grille at Palm Court was bountiful and delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    347
    148
    62
    24
See reviews for
151
289
68
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the easy walk it afforded to a two-day business meeting I had in downtown Cincinnati and didn’t really know much about its history or beautiful Art Deco style. It is a historic property, and my experience was in line with this. I was upgraded upon check-in which was a pleasant surprise and my room was quite large. I was right next door to the vending area on the 8th floor and was concerned at first it would be loud, but I didn’t hear it at all! Interesting architecture in the room was pleasant, although the bathroom was extremely small and lacked vanity space. Ventilation and in-room temperature controls were great. My only ‘complaint’ would be the lack of outlets near the bed for cell charging; my cell doubles as an alarm clock and I like to have it nearby.

Hilton offers free wi-fi in the lobby and business center, but in-room requires additional payment. I don’t know why hotels (particularly the larger more expensive ones) cannot seem to get past this extra bit of revenue – it feels petty. Anyway, the property was beautiful, the staff friendly and helpful, and valet parking was the way to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

As a local, I have always stayed at a neighboring hotel for our staycations. Not anymore! The Hilton in downtown cincinnati is amazing. The decor and history are just an appetizer for whats to come. The service and cleanliness were so impressive. The location is perfect and if you need to get any shopping done you have a Saks, Macy's and Tj Maxx all within 500 feet from the hotel! Visit the restaurant in the lobby, Orchids at PalmCourt. The menu, both at the bar and restaurant, are sure to blow your mind. Breakfast is also amazing! Overall, I loved this place and it has become my NEW go- to place to stay here at home!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is well situated in the middle of downtown Cincinnati within walking distance to many nice restaurants and venues. We stayed just one night, but would love to stay longer next time and explore more of the exciting downtown life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Netherland Plaza has a lot of history and the self guided tour is fun, as you wander around and think of all of the famous people that have stayed there. The property has been overhauled a bit, but it still has some smaller rooms, which is what we stayed in. Even though it was smaller rooms it is located in the heart of Cincinnati. Lots of great restaurants near. Great bar area within the hotel as well. This is a solid choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located in the middle of downtown Cincinnati with access to sky walk. Numerous business, restaurants and shopping are within easy walking distance. A few blocks away one will find the nicely renovated waterfront area; the location of the National Underground Railroad Museum, more restaurants and the cities two major league football and baseball stadiums. Upon entering the hotel guests are greeted with a beautifully appointed lobby area and friendly hotel staff. Restaurant has live music during evening hours and Sunday brunch. Rooms are clean and well appointed but some are very small. Aside from street parking, there are two other parking options; valet and self parking. If you choose self parking be sure to pay close attention to hotel staff's directions to the parking tower. The route is a bit difficult to negotiate and there is little or no signage to lead you there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for a Business trip. No free "in room" wi fi although, if you are Hilton rewards member, you can use the business center for free. My room was upgraded for the night and was very large with a King size bed. Bathroom was small, but adequate. Great work out facility in basement!!! Bar was very attractive but the drinks were slight for the price and service was OK. Oh, and you can hear people in the hall and the doors slamming shut- might need ear plugs Great location for downtown activities. I will consider other options next time but maybe not. Again- place is OK!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
April 18, 2013

2ndAmendment

Dear 2ndAmendment:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati while on business.

We are pleased to hear that our staff upgraded your accommodations during your stay. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed The Gym, our complimentary full service health club provider located in the hotel. We receive many compliments about the size and scope of equipment and services that they offer. We’ll share your thoughts with them directly.

Thank you too for sharing your concern regarding Internet services at the hotel. As you noted, we offer a complimentary business office in the lobby in addition to complimentary wireless Internet services in the lobby and restaurant. I would be happy to review these options and your status as an HHonors member for the potential benefits that we offer there with respect to Internet services. You are welcome to contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com to do so.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.