We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Nicely Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #8 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful and Nicely Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is well situated in the middle of downtown Cincinnati within walking distance to many nice restaurants and venues. We stayed just one night, but would love to stay longer next time and explore more of the exciting downtown life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    439
    311
    136
    58
    25
See reviews for
130
256
65
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Netherland Plaza has a lot of history and the self guided tour is fun, as you wander around and think of all of the famous people that have stayed there. The property has been overhauled a bit, but it still has some smaller rooms, which is what we stayed in. Even though it was smaller rooms it is located in the heart of Cincinnati. Lots of great restaurants near. Great bar area within the hotel as well. This is a solid choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located in the middle of downtown Cincinnati with access to sky walk. Numerous business, restaurants and shopping are within easy walking distance. A few blocks away one will find the nicely renovated waterfront area; the location of the National Underground Railroad Museum, more restaurants and the cities two major league football and baseball stadiums. Upon entering the hotel guests are greeted with a beautifully appointed lobby area and friendly hotel staff. Restaurant has live music during evening hours and Sunday brunch. Rooms are clean and well appointed but some are very small. Aside from street parking, there are two other parking options; valet and self parking. If you choose self parking be sure to pay close attention to hotel staff's directions to the parking tower. The route is a bit difficult to negotiate and there is little or no signage to lead you there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for a Business trip. No free "in room" wi fi although, if you are Hilton rewards member, you can use the business center for free. My room was upgraded for the night and was very large with a King size bed. Bathroom was small, but adequate. Great work out facility in basement!!! Bar was very attractive but the drinks were slight for the price and service was OK. Oh, and you can hear people in the hall and the doors slamming shut- might need ear plugs Great location for downtown activities. I will consider other options next time but maybe not. Again- place is OK!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
April 18, 2013

2ndAmendment

Dear 2ndAmendment:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by thanking you for selecting our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati while on business.

We are pleased to hear that our staff upgraded your accommodations during your stay. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed The Gym, our complimentary full service health club provider located in the hotel. We receive many compliments about the size and scope of equipment and services that they offer. We’ll share your thoughts with them directly.

Thank you too for sharing your concern regarding Internet services at the hotel. As you noted, we offer a complimentary business office in the lobby in addition to complimentary wireless Internet services in the lobby and restaurant. I would be happy to review these options and your status as an HHonors member for the potential benefits that we offer there with respect to Internet services. You are welcome to contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com to do so.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel plans return you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a perfectly nice hotel, although the rooms don't live up to the art-deco style of the function rooms and lobby bar. The charge for wireless internet irked me - when will this disappear? - and overall, especially taking into account the expensive (and extremely inefficient) valet parking, the value left me underwhelmed.

That being said, it's a great location right across from Fountain Square and if you secure a room at the top of the building, there are some great views across the river into Kentucky... and even into the Reds stadium.

The service was very good and well-informed, and I enjoyed my stay on the whole.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you love Art Deco and find yourself in Cincinnati, this place is a must. When you book a room, remember this is a historic property, so the experience will be different from staying at a hotel built in recent decades. Rooms are smaller, but well appointed and comfortable. Be positive to have a drink in Palm Court - an expansive, lush area assured to leave you feeling the grandeur of days gone by. This property is like a living museum for French Art Deco, embellished with rich materials of marble, rosewood and brass. Ceiling murals complete the experience.

It is conveniently located in downtown, close to restaurants, galleries, theatre, and Fountain Square (another "must"). Take a short walk and you're at the waterfront, featuring National Underground Railroad Freedom Center, baseball park and cozy pubs.

I discovered this gem on my first trip to Cincinnati. Although I was staying in a nearby hotel, I had to enter this place once I saw it (it was so incredible I was willing to risk getting thrown out!). I politely explained my architectural fascination to the lobby staff and they provided a "tour" booklet that guided you through the property history and highlights. Sensing my enthusiasm, they graciously let me explore the public areas of the property. This has become my hotel of choice on every trip I have made to Cincinnati.

Bravo Hilton!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Really beautiful hotel. It felt like you were transported back to the 20s. Even though everything didnt feel new, it still felt very nice. Wonderufl for a largre group, we stayed as part of wedding and found the location to be great. Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1931, this charter member of Historic Hotels of America features breathtaking French art deco throughout public space. Located in National Historic Landmark Carew Tower with shopping and dining including over 50 shops and dining options, including downtown's only food court. Renovated guestrooms feature Hilton Hotel's Serenity Bed. Connected to area businesses and convention center via skywalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.