We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class act” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
fargo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Class act”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This great property has class and then some. The Art Deco everywhere and the Palm Court entry and bar set the tone. Some of the rooms are odd shaped and certain places in the property are aging a bit, but it is an overall great stay in the downtown area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
March 19, 2013

Dan C


Dear Dan C:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at the Netherland Plaza on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stays in Cincinnati. As a returning guest, your comments are especially important to us.

Thank you too for your kind comments about the hotel’s Art Deco décor and the Palm Court Bar area. We are delighted to know that you enjoy these aspects of the hotel.

Thank you again! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    388
    155
    65
    25
See reviews for
164
324
73
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful Art Deco bar & restaurant. Excellent pasta and salad bar buffet lunch. Wonderful Bloody Mary at the bar. Stayed in a very comfortable suite. I haven't stayed in this hotel for nearly 5 years, not much has changed - but why should it? If it ain't broke! Standards high and I stay I hotels regularly and this is one I will return to again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for business travel for the past 8 years. The staff is fantastic...Morgan at the bar, Regina in the gym, etc. Front desk staff and concierge are problem solvers. Easy walk to Reds and Bengals games. The original Art Deco design is maintained beautifully, almost like stepping back in time. Rooms are clean and comfortable, sticking with a mildly updated reflection of the rest of the building. Hotel restaurant is SUPERB! One of the best in Cincinnati. Lots have been said in these reviews, but I must underscore the fitness facility. This is a regular, commercial gym with plenty of cardio and circuit machines. The real plus is the freeweight room; dumbbells up to 120lbs, multiple bench presses (incline, decline), squat racks, etc. If you find most hotel fitness rooms a little weak, this will make you happy. Full indoor pool, hot tub and steam room. Nice locker room and good offering of healthy snacks and beverages. Exec Lounge is perfect with an outdoor deck. Early check in (noon) has been accommodated for me many times...they just do it all RIGHT here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms overlooking downtown are nice, other side faces Ohio River and Kentucky. It's one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Synopsis: I recommend this hotel. It may be too pricey for someone who just needs somewhere to stay overnight, but if you want finer touches on a special trip, stay here. Regarding other reviews of this property I read, you can have a rare bad experience anywhere. The question is, is it the norm or a fluke? At this hotel, it will be a fluke. As Hilton Honors members we've stayed at the Netherland Plaza Hilton 4 times now over the past 7 years. We travel 2 1/2 hours from Toledo, OH. The hotel is beautiful inside. The lobby is not huge, rather well-appointed. The guest rooms are varied in size (sometimes small), and there does not seem to be any rhyme or reason to the room you get. If size does matter, you should call ahead and request a larger room. Our first trip we requested a room change because the room did seem rather small. However, on our last three stays our rooms were large and very enjoyable. I do know, however, that on our last stay the manager bumped us up to a larger room because we were HH members and they were slow (we didn't even request it, it was simply done for us). The restaurant is located within visual distance of the front desk and semi-private. The ceiling is open to the 2nd floor. I would rate it 3+ stars, and not your typical Hilton hotel restaurant. It has many plush booths and is classy. The bar is located near the entrance of the restaurant from the front desk, and most nights they have a piano player that takes requests. Breakfast is not free, but if you do pay it is quite a spread for the buffet. There is also a two-level shopping mall "under" the hotel, and it is where you will find the heated pool, jacuzzi spa and sauna. Note: The pool/spa/sauna are inside a privately owned gym that Hilton has a contract with. On our last stay the spa and pool were closed because the gym ran out of chemicals. It also limits the available time they are open. Hilton picked up the tab on our room service since we had 3 disappointed toddler boys who couldn't swim. The room service was impeccable. The downtown location can be a little dicey for those not comfortable driving city streets. You have to park in the garage next to the hotel for a fee, or use valet service for a charge.

Room Tip: Call ahead to request the largest room they have for the rate you are paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
March 16, 2013

Joe S

Dear Joe S:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. As a frequent guest, we appreicate your comments.

Let me begin by thanking you for your kind comments about our staff and the hotel in general. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed so many aspects of your stays. We especially appreciate your remarks about the service that you have experienced from our staff members. I'll be sure to share this with them.

Thank you too for sharing your recent concern regarding difficutlies with the pool at The Gym. They are well aware of this concerrn and have made some large scale repairs to the infrastructure in an effort to insure the future reliaibility of this important amenity. Nevertheless, we apologize that this was a concern.

Please feel free to contact us whenever your travel plans bring you and your family back to Cincinnati. You may reach me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com to do so.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I, my wife, and my 2 year old daughter reserved a Junior Suite this past Saturday night. We arrived at 3:45, 45 minutes past the 3pm check-in time. We were told that the hotel had given a substantial number of 2pm check-outs and thus, our room was not ready (and the front desk staff couldn't tell us when it would be ready). We were not alone--there were many people in the same boat. In fact, security was actively asking folks who were sitting on the floor waiting for their rooms to leave the lobby or risk having the police called on them.

At 4:30, it was impossible for us to keep waiting in the lobby with our 2 year old and we left the property for an early dinner. We received a call at 5:45 that our room was ready and we walked back to the hotel.

This delay was really frustrating and was not the experience that I would have expected at a flagship Hilton property and for a room that totaled $284 dollars (bed+breakfast package). We won't be back. Hilton staff, get your acts together and operate that hotel in the way it should be run.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
March 14, 2013

Matt C

Dear Matt C;

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking your for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the difficulties you described with your check-in this past Saturday. It was a very challenging day and we regret the difficulties that this caused you.

I am presently traveling on business. If you would kindly send me a note at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com with your preferred method for me to contact you, I will be happy to address this directly with you.

Thank you again and I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is very easy to find, the lobby is extremely beautiful, and the staff is first rate! The staff is really one of the best trained and most helpful staff I've encountered in a long time. And it's every person, in every department on every shift. Unfortunately, you eventually have to go to your room. Small, awkwardly laid out, and a bathroom that is indescribably small. The ceilings in my room had boards screwed into them to cover openings of some type and the baseboards looked like the originals, including every coat of paint since this hotel originally opened way back when. How they get a four-star rating totally escapes me!

On a purely personal pet-peeve note: Hilton is about the last major chain to refuse to use fitted sheets on their beds. So you fight with the bed sheet all night. I could have spent less and stayed at a Holiday Inn in a room twice the size of this one and in much better condition. This place drove home the point of why I'm a Marriott loyalist.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the city view. Cincinnati has a beautiful skyline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
March 14, 2013

DeVon M

Dear DeVon M;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for your kind comments about our staff. We are delighted to know that you found them to be so professional and helpful throughout the hotel.

Thank you too for your comments regarding your stay. We are aware of the patch that you've described in the ceiling of your guestroom and are working with our contractors to complete the repair of this area. We apologize that this was not done prior to your arrival at the hotel. We also appreciate your comments regarding the size of the bathroom in your guestroom. As a historic hotel, our bathrooms are not as large as those of a hotel built recently. We have plans for future improvements to address the efficiency of the bathroom layout. Still, we regre that this was a concern.

The hotel does have larger accommodations available. For your future travels, if you would kindly contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com, we will be happy to oversee your reservationa nd insure your stay is a comfortable one. In addition, you may want to review our reservations offerings on Hilton.com where you will always find our best rates and a wide selection of guestrooms to choose from.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook, Ohio, Usa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed on New Years eve and had a delightful stay. Was upgraded to the Netherland Suite that had a living room and kitchen. That was perfect, since we had gotten 3 rooms for 3 couples and we could all hang out in the suite that overlooked the festivaties going on in Fountain Square, before heading down to celebrate the countdown to the new year. The building was probably the coolest hotel I have ever stayed in. Grand style. I could not stop exploring the hotel, as it was just beautiful.
Our room was very nice. Large seperate bedroom and the bathroom was huge.
The service was great. I cant wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. they all have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.