We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Downtown Cincinnati” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #8 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Downtown Cincinnati”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Most hotels in the Hilton chain are of the cookie cutter variety but this hotel has some real old fashion charm. From the old elevators with original wood panelling to one of the best hotel bars that you will find this hotel is a great change. It's within walking distance of all the best restaurants and sports venues -- definately worth spending the extra few bucks if you have to.

Room Tip: My wife is Hilton gold so we had an upgrade to our king sized bed but ask for a room overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    440
    314
    137
    58
    25
See reviews for
131
257
65
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel looks onto either the downtown square or on higher floors, has some excellent views of the river but it is definitely past its prime and in need of renovation. The usual Hitlon stuff - bed is comfortable and all is well but the hotel is sealed tight with no ventilation and there is no opening wiindow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
December 28, 2012

Roya2012


Dear Roya2012:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review of your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati.

Thank you too for your comments regarding your accommodation. We are in the process of making a variety of physical improvements to the guestroom interior. We expect to complete this work in the coming months.

Thank you again and please feel free to contact me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com if I may answer any other questions for you.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel again, it is probably my third or fourth time over the past 3 years for various business trips. It is an amazingly beautiful hotel full of history! I had two nights here this time, and was greeted by a very friendly staff member at the front desk. They upgraded me for free to a larger room. Here is a breakdown of the pros and cons of this hotel.

PROS:
Gorgeous, classic hotel - the lobby is beautiful and has a feeling of going back in time to a luxurious old fashioned hotel.
Valet parking - it's not cheap, unfortunately, but it certainly is easy and nice for a location in the city.
Cool location - the hotel is very close to Fountain Square and is within walking distance of a lot of bars, restaurants, and Cincinnati classics like Graeters ice cream.
Excellent, comfy Hilton beds that can't be beat.
Great gym - a full size, actual gym exists in the basement of the Carew Tower and all Hilton guests are welcome to use it. This gym has plenty of equipment and a pool.
Free business center for Hilton Hhonors members. This was very helpful for printing airline boarding passes.

CONS:
No free Internet, it costs $9.95 a day to use (though you could use the business center Internet & computers for free if you wanted to).
The gym closes at 9pm, which is tough for me as I like to work out at night.
My hotel room had a constant sound of running water, like a neighbor was taking a shower or something, except that it was nonstop. It was odd but not too loud, I slept just fine without being bothered by the sound.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. I do like this hotel, its historic design and its great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, il
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend for my brothers wedding. The hotel is very old, but classy. It is right downtown near Fountain square and all shops and restaurants you could possibly want to go to.

The hotel decor is somewhat outdated, but they have recently put new dressers and TV's in the room. Bathrooms are nice, but very small. The room itself if also small, but you have to take into consideration the age of the hotel.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. My wife actually forgot some clothes in a drawer and didn't realize it for two days. We called them and they were very helpful in locating the clothes and sending them back. We were for sure that they would be gone.

Over all, it is a very nice hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The outside of this hotel looks grand. The lobby looks nice and the location is perfect. I stayed on the 6th floor and as soon as you exit the elevator you feel like you're in 'The Shining'. Old wide hallways, spooky lighting.

The room wasn't much better. There is a lot of space but not much comfort. i had the heater turned up to 76 degrees, and still felt cold. Felt like trying to heat up a cold auditorium with a space heater.

Service was good but i will not repeat. I'd rather stay outside Cincinnati in a Holiday Inn Express or something similar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
December 21, 2012

Slakhany1


Dear Slakhany1:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati.

Thank you too for your kind comments about regarding the exterior of the hotel, our historic interior and convenient location. We regret that you were dissatisfied with your accommodation on the hotel’s sixth floor. We also apologize for the difficulties that you reported with the heating system in the room that you occupied.

If you would care to correspond directly with me in this matter, I would be happy to review it further. You may reach me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com to do so.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were only here one day, but my impression was that this is a very fine hotel. It's a cool old hotel where you can experience some of what it was like to stay at an exclusive hotel many years ago. It is in great shape and the staff is very good. It also has some great views of the river.
Spa and kids activities were rated ave because we had no experience. Tripadvisor needs a n/a rating.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room near the top facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for the first time this past week on a business trip. I really liked this hotel and as a Hilton Gold member, they took care of me, putting me on the top floor in a corner suite with a great view of Cincinnati! This hotel is old but has a grand feel and look about it. Great desserts in the executive lounge.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio
Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#6 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1931, this charter member of Historic Hotels of America features breathtaking French art deco throughout public space. Located in National Historic Landmark Carew Tower with shopping and dining including over 50 shops and dining options, including downtown's only food court. Renovated guestrooms feature Hilton Hotel's Serenity Bed. Connected to area businesses and convention center via skywalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.