We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Orchids at Palm Court Pkg
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel again, it is probably my third or fourth time over the past 3 years for various business trips. It is an amazingly beautiful hotel full of history! I had two nights here this time, and was greeted by a very friendly staff member at the front desk. They upgraded me for free to a larger room. Here is a breakdown of the pros and cons of this hotel.

PROS:
Gorgeous, classic hotel - the lobby is beautiful and has a feeling of going back in time to a luxurious old fashioned hotel.
Valet parking - it's not cheap, unfortunately, but it certainly is easy and nice for a location in the city.
Cool location - the hotel is very close to Fountain Square and is within walking distance of a lot of bars, restaurants, and Cincinnati classics like Graeters ice cream.
Excellent, comfy Hilton beds that can't be beat.
Great gym - a full size, actual gym exists in the basement of the Carew Tower and all Hilton guests are welcome to use it. This gym has plenty of equipment and a pool.
Free business center for Hilton Hhonors members. This was very helpful for printing airline boarding passes.

CONS:
No free Internet, it costs $9.95 a day to use (though you could use the business center Internet & computers for free if you wanted to).
The gym closes at 9pm, which is tough for me as I like to work out at night.
My hotel room had a constant sound of running water, like a neighbor was taking a shower or something, except that it was nonstop. It was odd but not too loud, I slept just fine without being bothered by the sound.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. I do like this hotel, its historic design and its great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    475
    177
    73
    33
See reviews for
215
414
80
654
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, il
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend for my brothers wedding. The hotel is very old, but classy. It is right downtown near Fountain square and all shops and restaurants you could possibly want to go to.

The hotel decor is somewhat outdated, but they have recently put new dressers and TV's in the room. Bathrooms are nice, but very small. The room itself if also small, but you have to take into consideration the age of the hotel.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. My wife actually forgot some clothes in a drawer and didn't realize it for two days. We called them and they were very helpful in locating the clothes and sending them back. We were for sure that they would be gone.

Over all, it is a very nice hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The outside of this hotel looks grand. The lobby looks nice and the location is perfect. I stayed on the 6th floor and as soon as you exit the elevator you feel like you're in 'The Shining'. Old wide hallways, spooky lighting.

The room wasn't much better. There is a lot of space but not much comfort. i had the heater turned up to 76 degrees, and still felt cold. Felt like trying to heat up a cold auditorium with a space heater.

Service was good but i will not repeat. I'd rather stay outside Cincinnati in a Holiday Inn Express or something similar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetherlandPlaza, General Manager at Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
December 21, 2012

Slakhany1


Dear Slakhany1:

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the opportunity that this provides us to respond directly to you.

Let me begin by thanking you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cincinnati.

Thank you too for your kind comments about regarding the exterior of the hotel, our historic interior and convenient location. We regret that you were dissatisfied with your accommodation on the hotel’s sixth floor. We also apologize for the difficulties that you reported with the heating system in the room that you occupied.

If you would care to correspond directly with me in this matter, I would be happy to review it further. You may reach me at Michel.Sheer@Hilton.com to do so.

Sincerely,


Michel A. Sheer
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were only here one day, but my impression was that this is a very fine hotel. It's a cool old hotel where you can experience some of what it was like to stay at an exclusive hotel many years ago. It is in great shape and the staff is very good. It also has some great views of the river.
Spa and kids activities were rated ave because we had no experience. Tripadvisor needs a n/a rating.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room near the top facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for the first time this past week on a business trip. I really liked this hotel and as a Hilton Gold member, they took care of me, putting me on the top floor in a corner suite with a great view of Cincinnati! This hotel is old but has a grand feel and look about it. Great desserts in the executive lounge.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Very high end hotel in downtown Cincinnati. Ultra historic with a refinement that surprised me greatly, this where to go if you wish to meet an important client for drinks or a dinner (The Palm Court restaurant is exquisitely decored), or a special someone to have a romantic evening.
If James Bond stayed in Cincinnati, he would sleep, drink, or eat here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at the NP hotel Friday night for my sons graduation from College. This was one of the best Hiltons I have ever stayed at, and I stay at a lot being a Diamond member. The old hotel is just gorgeous and the bar area is one of the best I have ever ben in. The location is nice too, you can walk to a lot of great downtown attractions.The service was top notch, from check in to the conceirge. I wish I had more excuses top go back to Cincinnati now my son has graduated.

two helpful hints, the valet is a little cumbersome, but every valet in every major city is, so just be preparred.

The other helpful tip I would give is that, with traveling all the time you get a good sense for what kind of hotel fits what kind of travel. This is a great hotel, but I would not recommend it for children, especially small children. This is a hotel for adults.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#14 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#2 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#15 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#18 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.