We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Pickerington, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at this Hilton and although it does need to update to wireless internet in the rooms (you do have it available in the lobby), the atmosphere was great. We enjoyed the restaurant/bar and service from check-in to check-out was fantastic. If you are looking for a modern hotel this isn't the hotel for you, but if you are all about service this is your hotel. The picture is what they had waiting for me when we returned from sight-seeing. Just one little comment at check-in about it being a birthday getaway and the staff at the front desk sent this to our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    407
    158
    65
    25
See reviews for
170
333
74
533
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terre-de-Haut, Guadeloupe
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

One can almost sense the glorious past of this hotel as you drift through the sumptuous lobby and have a martini in the classic lounge. However, like an aging screen star who needs some "work", the Cincinnati Netherland Plaza should search for a good architectural surgeon. We stayed in a "Junior Suite" that was rather threadbare and antiquated. Wear and tear had done its damage and the room was screaming for a renovation.The bathroom towels were sumptuous, but that is where the luxury ended. Space for both body and toiletries was at a premium, and the fixtures and design were not 21st century. The location was rather perfect for this city and the valet parking, although difficult to find at first, was at the ready when called upon.

One caveat, a "street person," while perfectly harmless but some what disconcerting, happened to ride up in the elevator with us and made me question the security for the hotel.

I do think this city needs a few hotels that meet the needs of the 21st century traveler. That is coming soon with the completion of the "21 C Hotel" whose big brother resides in Louisville, Kentucky.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The lobby of this hotel is just gorgeous. Our large room was comfortable and had two bathrooms. Great location in the center of the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed here on two occasions so far. Once I was upgraded to a suite and it was definitely nice. Two bedrooms (the bathroom is small, however) but the bed is very comfortable. The second time I stayed in a corner room. I got here very late and needed to e-mail something and the wired in-room internet was not working. A technician came to my room at 2 am to fix the Internet but he was unable to fix it so I ended up going to the lobby and doing my work there. To say the least, I would much rather be in my room at 2 am in the morning but I ended up going to the lobby. I was offered a different room but the thought of relocating at such an hour was not appealing.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are probably your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while working a trade show and based on previous reviews I was concerned about room size and cleanliness. We stayed on the 23rd floor and had a large room with king bed. Yes, the tv is a large outdated tube tv, and the bathroom is small, but overall it was a great room. We had a corner room (2312) and had beautiful views of Fountain Square and 5th street.

The bathroom was small and it was difficult to get ready in the morning. I didn't have anywhere to place my tolietry bag except the sink. The first morning we had a soft real bath mat then the next day it was gone. I guess housekepping repossessed it.

The road noise is noticeable and you can hear your neighbors, but its not terrible.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar area is charming and the banquet staff was stellar on the evening we attended a large banquet. Wonderful downtown location with great views across the Ohio river. Shared a double room with a friend and it was bright and quite spacious. The hotel is showing its age, however. Heating system was noisy, dry and drafty and made a ticking noise when it started up which woke me up every time it came on. TV was really old and sound was garbled. Clearly time to replace it. Bathroom was quite small with pedestal sink and no counter space- no place for all of the needed toiletries for two women. Beds were super comfortable, but my friend complained that her comforter had no batting in it and she was cold. We had to call for additional blankets.

Room Tip: Choose a room with two beds on the river side of the hotel and you will get space and lots of light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest, va
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This hotel has amazing views and a great location. However, the "mall" across the street is a ghost-town and even though we were there right before Thanksgiving there were NO shoppers and very few stores. However, the old "character" is really just an excuse to be dated. There is an old TV that took up much of the small room, which mostly blocked my great view. The room is pretty small. The bathroom had almost no space for anything, I had to put my bathroom kit on the toilet and floor. The hotel has a strange layout for the conference space with half floors and strange stops for the elevator. We tried to have a meeting in the lowest floor and it smelled so strongly of mold and mildew we had to move to an impromptu space in an upper floor. I would say what gain in historic ambience you lose in modern comforts. The service was Ok. The front desk staff was nice but never seemed very knowledgeable in answering my questions about coffee, airport services, etc. I would not choose to stay here on my own.

Room Tip: Go to the upper floors for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza

Address: 35 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#4 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. Opened in 1931, this updated National Historic Landmark and charter member of Historic Hotels of America is one of the world's finest examples of French art deco in existence. Located within Carew Tower with shops & restaurants and centrally located across from Fountain Square. Within four blocks of 90+ shops, restaurants, bars and attractions including Great American Ball Park and Paul Brown Stadium. One block from Duke Energy Convention Center and connected via skywalk. Renovated guestrooms feature mini fridge, safe, wifi access, flat-screen tvs with expanded high-definition programming, new seating, sound dampening blackout curtains and soft goods. Award-winning on-site dining including Forbes Four Star rated Orchids at Palm Court, named #7 Best Restaurant in the USA (OpenTable, 2014); casual dining in The Grille at Palm Court; relaxed fare, signature cocktails & private label microbrew in The Bar at Palm Court. Complimentary access to The Gym at Carew Tower, a 13,000 sq ft fitness facility located in hotel's lower level, with a pool, Jacuzzi, 10+ treadmills, 10+ ellipticals, free weights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hilton
Hilton Netherland Plaza Hotel Cincinnati
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.