We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5505 Rybolt Road (Exit 11), Cincinnati, OH 45248   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Frankfort, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed one night. The room was clean, everything worked. The bed was pretty firm. it did have a thin pillow top, could have used more. Breakfast was very good, the pecan rolls were tops! Our refrigerator was pretty noisy, but we weren't using it anyway. I unplugged it, problem solved. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: A view to the east would be better than to the west. Our view was of the lower roof and the old mote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broerik0, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. The staff and I are pleased that you found the accommodations clean and comfortable and you were able to join us for our Hot Express Start Breakfast. All of us here at the Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West look forward to serving you again for future travels.

Sincerely,
Ken Broering, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
16
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot, and the halls were quiet. As a business traveler, that's about everything you need, and this Holiday Inn Express delivered all of them. I liked having a microwave and fridge in the room; that was handy. Otherwise, nothing was particularly remarkable, but I had no complaints either. Just an uneventful, comfortable home base for my trip.

Breakfast was typical of the HI Express chain. The pre-formed "omelette" is pretty bad, but it's only one of a number of hot items that they cycle through, and even on days when it's up, there's enough variety that I can find something else to eat.

The one thing I wish I'd had time for was the outdoor pool, which looked really nice. It's kind of tucked away partway down the hillside that the hotel sits on so it has a fairly secluded ambiance. I walked down to check it out, but unfortunately didn't have time to swim. Maybe next time. All in all, this was a clean, comfortable hotel that I'd recommend to anyone traveling to the area and would certainly return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Room was clean which is a huge deal with me. Outside appearance nice. Beds way too soft. Honestly, if you are having any back issues this is not the hotel for you. I asked about it at the front desk and was told all the rooms have the same mattresses and actually are new. Unfortunately, if you need support or like a firm mattress these ones are so soft you sink big time. The breakfast was wonderful....one of the best we've come across in the hotels and we've stayed in 19 hotel rooms between April thru August!!! Not a huge selection for outside eating although they do have a Longhorn Steakhouse close by which had very good food.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broerik0, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Dianna C.,

Thanks for your review. The staff and I are pleased that you found the Holiday Inn Express clean and inviting. I do apologize that you did not get a good night's sleep due to the mattress not being firm enough to your liking. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Hot Express Start Breakfast. All of us here at the Holiday Inn Express look forward to serving you again for future travels.

Sincerely,

Ken Broering, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I just got married last week and my wife and I used the Holiday Inn Express to reserve a block of rooms for our guests coming from out of town. The staff was super helpful in arranging all this and even went the extra mile and helped pass out welcome bags to our guests as they checked in. The price for the rooms at this hotel is super reasonable and the location is right off the highway and was easy access to all the events around our wedding.

All of our out of town guests were impressed by the cleanliness and size of their rooms and they were very happy with the breakfast provided by the hotel.

If this wasn't enough- our original plans for our wedding night fell through and we had to reserve a last minute room to stay in. The staff was very helpful in making sure that all of our needs were catered to and we could not be happier with our experience working with the Holiday Inn Express, Cincinnati West location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broerik0, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Kurt,

Once again, Congratulations from the Staff and Management here at the Holiday Inn Express - Cincinnati West on your recent nuptials to your beautiful bride. We wish you many years filled with love and happiness.

It was our pleasure to be your guests home away from home and we are pleased that they enjoyed their time here in Cincinnati.

Before we know it, the Holiday Season will be upon us. We look forward to hosting any out of town guests that may be visiting!

Sincerely,

Ken Broering, General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Loved you guys so much! You took care of our team with incredible care...Mary, thank you so much for ALL you did for us...you're wonderful! You were there so early in the a.m. and still hosing off the brickwork at the entrance near midnight...I know this place has a heartbeat because of you! Ken and Diane, thanks for all you did to make sure our team could stay together (on an incredibly busy weekend when the hotel we had booked 12 rooms at for 4 nights lost power and we couldn't stay at)!!! Breakfast was great and the rooms were cleaned so quickly!!! Good size room and the fridg and microwave were necessary for us! Nothing negative to even think of, except wish we would have had time for the team to enjoy that beautiful outdoor pool! Thank you!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I actually liked the AC sound to drown out any outdoor sounds from the hallway...had the fan on by i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broerik0, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Tamara,

Thanks for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West. It was our pleasure to be the "Dirtbags" home away from home during your recent games being played here in the Cincinnati area. All of the staff here at the Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West tries to make each interaction with each guest count. I have passed along your comments to the entire staff here with my added thanks. Each of us look forward to hosting the "Dirtbags" again when the need arises.

Kindest regards,
Ken Broering, General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I have stayed her many times in the last five years while visiting family. It has indeed become our home away from home. All the staff are so helpful and friendly especially Ken and Donna. We are always greeted like old friends. It is clean and comfortable and quiet. Breakfast is the best we have had at any other hotel across the country. Our only complaint would be the internet set up which has various flaws. But that is a very small minus with all the other pluses.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broerik0, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Pattycake73

Thanks for your review. It is our pleasure to be your home away from home during your travels to the Cincinnati Area. I have passed along your comments to Donna with my added thanks for making you feel like you are part of the family here. All of us here look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Ken Broering, General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Any Beach
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a very large group staying here for a long weekend. Wedding in town. Everyone on staff, from the front desk to housekeeping to breakfast area...they were all extremely friendly and helpful the whole time we were there. We were able to use the breakfast room any time we wanted as a "hospitality room" and it worked out just perfectly. The rooms were fine, the beds very comfortable.
I have to say the air conditioners were my main complaint. They cycled off and on all night, very loudly too, keeping me from getting a good nights sleep. (other rooms had similar complaints) We had to have a cool room, so we could not turn it off at night. Also our mini-fridge seemed to stop working after the 2nd day. Other than those two things...the room was nice. Large enough and comfortable. The free breakfast was perfect, filling, and a big hit with our group.
We have stayed here a few times before and will again, as well as recommending it to others. I just hope they get the AC noise fixed.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are for people with pets. Top floor has very nice large King rooms. All rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West

Address: 5505 Rybolt Road (Exit 11), Cincinnati, OH 45248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our western Cincinnati hotel is centrally located to where you want to be! Located only 10 miles from downtown Cincinnati, the Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West is central to Cincinnati's business centers and tourist attractions. Located off I-74 at exit 11, Rybolt Road, and only 15 miles from Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky International Airport, your hotel is within just a few minutes of 4 Cincinnati convention centers. Duke Energy Convention Center, Northern Kentucky Convention Center, Wyoming Civic Center, and Sharonville Convention Center are all within fifteen miles of our hotel. Our Cincinnati accommodations also offer close proximity to many corporate businesses, including Proctor & Gamble (P&G), General Electric (GE), Kroger Company and Chiquita Brands. Getting to tourist attractions is easy from your western Cincinnati hotel, which is only a short drive from downtown Cincinnati and Newport on the Levee. Sports fans will appreciate our close proximity to the stadiums of both the Cincinnati Reds and the Cincinnati Bengals. Other nearby attractions include Kings Island and the Argosy Casino in Lawrenceburg, IN. Your hotel offers free high-speed, wireless Internet access along with a Hot Breakfast each day. The hotel also features an outdoor pool with sun deck, a fitness center and a business center. Come and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West Hotel Cincinnati
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.