We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the Holiday Inn in Lawrenceburg!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5505 Rybolt Road (Exit 11), Cincinnati, OH 45248   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Much better than the Holiday Inn in Lawrenceburg!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you are visiting people on the West side of Cincinnati, this hotel is much cleaner and better located than the Holiday Inn in Lawrenceburg. The rooms are MUCH bigger, too. The staff was helpful and made sure we had adjoining rooms, even though they couldn't guarantee this when we made the reservation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
14
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This location with easy access to the expressway & convenient to stores & restaurants was great for visiting family & friends in Cincinnati. Our room was clean & quiet, staff at the desk was always pleasant & the breakfast was delicious. We stayed on a busy weekend with the Reds in town & a bowling tournament so prices were a little high.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed nine days at this Holiday Inn Express and were very happy with our stay! It was very clean, the rooms were nice, the shower worked well.
Since we travel with pets this was an ideal place since they do allow pets. We requested a room near the exit which was good with the pets.
The staff was exceptional nice, and Mary the housekeeper was very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast that was served every morning varied so it wasn't the same thing twice in a row. The staff at the breakfast were just great to everyone.
We absolutely would stay here again, its close to the interstate and there is a shopping center across the road if you need to get anything.
The smoke detector does have a flashing light that can be annoying.

Room Tip: If you travel with pets try getting room 112 its two doors from the exit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sejalarch, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Greetings CL M,
Thank you for your kind words and compliments. The staff at the Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West is exceptional! They enjoy interacting with the guests, more importantly, making sure the guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will stay with us again and look forward to creating an even more enjoyable experience for you.

Maybe we can figure out how to manage that annoying (mandatory) blinking light....

Safe travels.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Holdiay Inn Express hotels are not particulary cookie-cutter like some chains but they are generally a good value. This location is about 15 miles NE of Cincinnati but access via I-74 is almost effortless. The rooms come with a microwave and dorm fridge and there's a supermarket accross the highway if you don't want to eat out every meal. Front desk staff is largely invisible except on day shift, apparently preferring to stay in a back office, but they are pleasant and helpful once you see them. The breakfast food is very standard but the great room is a very nice, large space for the usual morning rush. I particularly liked their citrus soap and shampoo fragrance. Only downside eas the strange smell in all the hallways - not in the rooms, however.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Bed was hard and firm and the water had a funky smell to it. The location was nice, lots of areas around to eat and was close to the highway. Didn't know that you could bring your pets to this hotel, otherwise would have opted to go some place else as both my husband and I are allergic to dogs and cats

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Baseballgirl1975,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience our pet policy may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostburg, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel has been completely renovated and there is very little that remains from the prior Hotel (Imperial House - I think). Staff was very friendly from reception, breakfast area, and the cleaning staff. There was 1 little issue which is very, very minor, but it did bother me. The smoke detector has a flashing light and is mounted on the wall above the beds. There are 2 small LED light that change colors - RED, Green and Yellow. It flashes constantly, at various rates. I didn't notice it when I went to sleep, but the red flashing lights reflected off a picture hanging on the opposite wall, and it actually woke me up during the middle of the night. Because it was near the patio door I thought maybe it was coming from outside, then I realized it was in the room. By this time, I was wide awake; I couldn't fall back asleep. Lesson to all future guests - ignore the flashing light, and to Holiday Inn - Move the smoke detector to the other side of the half wall so the light isn't flashing into the room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

First I want to say that I have been a travel agent for 19 years and after reading some of the previous reviews I was worried but I must say to all that you have nothing to worry about. This property is placed high up on a hill which was actually kind of nice for a property like this, it's not every day that a Holiday Inn Express is located in a unique spot. Yes there is a vacant hotel right next door but who cares, it had no impact on my stay whatsoever. The hotel rooms were very large for a simple type property. We stayed in the King suite and for the money it was just perfect and very very clean. No issues with any of the basic ammenities, It had a refrigerator and microwave with more than enough room.. The free breakfast was one of the best you can get at an economy property with a very nice area for eating with plenty of space. The surrounding area had everyting you an ask for. Nearby was a huge grocery store, a Kohls, plenty of fast food restaurants and a couple of bars. It is also very close to the highway. No worries staying here at all, a perfect property!

Room Tip: King suite is perfect and not much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West Hotel Cincinnati
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West Ohio
Address: 5505 Rybolt Road (Exit 11), Cincinnati, OH 45248
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our western Cincinnati hotel is centrally located to where you want to be! Located only 10 miles from downtown Cincinnati, the Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West is central to Cincinnati's business centers and tourist attractions. Located off I-74 at exit 11, Rybolt Road, and only 15 miles from Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky International Airport, your hotel is within just a few minutes of 4 Cincinnati convention centers. Duke Energy Convention Center, Northern Kentucky Convention Center, Wyoming Civic Center, and Sharonville Convention Center are all within fifteen miles of our hotel. Our Cincinnati accommodations also offer close proximity to many corporate businesses, including Proctor & Gamble (P&G), General Electric (GE), Kroger Company and Chiquita Brands. Getting to tourist attractions is easy from your western Cincinnati hotel, which is only a short drive from downtown Cincinnati and Newport on the Levee. Sports fans will appreciate our close proximity to the stadiums of both the Cincinnati Reds and the Cincinnati Bengals. Other nearby attractions include Kings Island and the Argosy Casino in Lawrenceburg, IN. Your hotel offers free high-speed, wireless Internet access along with a Hot Breakfast each day. The hotel also features an outdoor pool with sun deck, a fitness center and a business center. Come and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cincinnati West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.