We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things right and wrong” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Cincinnati

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Cincinnati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Things right and wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hyatt lobby is very nice, its check in process very nice and straight forward. The room was fairly up-to-date, the bed and pillows comfortable, the air-conditioning on the quiet side, quiet enough that it doesn't wake you up in the middle of the night, but loud enough to know it's on.

Elevators are good with short waits. The bed to me was very comfortable with a large selection of pillows. Lots of places to plug in. Good laundry service (no onsite laundry, typical of higher end hotels). Room service was timely with hot food and prices were not over the top. Maid service was timely. Bathroom was acceptable. The toilet flushed and the shower pressure was barely acceptable. I didn't hear much noise around my room, though the door to the hallway seems paper thin. For my room, they try to abate the noise by putting the bed behind a wall, with reasonable success. As well, the breakfast buffet was very good. Parking, if you self-park is $15/day (connected via Skywalk) and i am betting there are cheaper options around.

The hotel location on the west side of downtown is good. You are two blocks from Fountain Square and about 10 minutes from Great American. Restaurant choices are very good. You are safe.

Those are the pluses. You get a good room, comfortable bed, and decent experience. Staff are friendly and pleasant to me. The breakfast buffet was very good and service within the Red Rooster was also excellent.

The minuses:
Terrible SD (but flat screen) TV with very limited channel selection. Lots of sports, lots of news, and the networks, and very little else. No menu for movie channels. Move to HD please especially if you going to have flat-screen.

Limited room service and on-site food options. The room service menu was small as was the Red Rooster's menu. Dinner featured 5-6 mains and a few starters. With a full kitchen, the chef could add more dishes that prevent me from searching out variety in surrounding restaurants.

The coffee in the downstairs restaurant was very strong and bordering on terrible. This is a very minor and fixable transgression. The coffee in the coffee shop on the other hand was very good.

The wireless (standard or premier) is very very slow to the point of being unusable at times. For a business traveler, it is unacceptably slow.

So overall, the hotel can be improved in many ways. Fix the TV, the Internet, and improve the room service offerings and you have a solid business class contender that would keep me coming back.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor away from the elevator and the ice maker. Look for an even number room that does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCincinnati, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for the compliments on our room, laundry, and housekeeping services! We will pass your suggestions on adding more food items to our culinary team. The internet is an issue we are aware of and are actively working on. We hope to have a new and faster provider in the coming weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    64
    24
    9
    10
See reviews for
22
33
5
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grove City, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First I would like to say that Hyatt Place locations we have visited have been great. Which is why we decided to stay at the Cincy Regency. What a mistake we made. The employees were nice enough, the room was fine however this should be called the party hotel of Cincinnati. We experienced people banging on doors yelling to open up many times throughout the early morning meaning 1 am on. At 2 am I woke to pounding on a door then a blood curling screen from a female I thought she may be in trouble I went to take a look and the fire alarm went off. I went back to tell my wife to get ready we are going to go down the stairs. I called the desk and was told that someone accidently set off the alarm. Fire trucks came in. What was suppose to be a relaxing get away was an exhausting nightmare. I provided feedback but have no response from Hyatt as of yet. If you are not ok with sleepless nights and heavy partying with lots of drama, you may want to avoid this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

it's what i expect of a hyatt regency - modern / clean / well appointed ...
nice room - although it felt a bit small - but very comfortable bed and clean.
convenient location to stadiums / bars / restaurants -
good value - for weekend getaway -

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCincinnati, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your warm review of our location and room. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend getaway and our closeness to popular Cincinnati attractions. We hope to see you again for your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel staff, particularly the bellman Ron, were very freindly and helpful. The hotel was clean and very handy to downtown Cincinnati. Casino goers can get a printed time schedule of the complimentary shuttle. The bathroom was definitely desinged for only one person at a time, but was well stocked. Checkin was quick and easy, but they could use some extra help at checkout. The room rate was the best downtown. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCincinnati, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi William, thanks for your compliments on our location! We're happy you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle to the Horseshoe Casino. We'll let the management know about your advice on staffing up at checkout and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, but lacking for a 4-star hotel. The common-area aesthetics were lovely, the room itself was dated, and the beds were horribly uncomfortable-- Im taking Days Inn uncomfortable. Spend the extra cash to stay in one the 4-star hotels in the area worthy of their rating. Ive been to so many disappointing Hyatt's because of their lower rates, but from now on its Westin or Hilton if I feel the urge to splurge on a nicer hotel.

Room Tip: Book somewhere the beds won't leave you aching for 2 days after leaving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCincinnati, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time it took to write it. We're glad you enjoyed the location, but do apologize for your uncomfortable stay. We pride ourselves on excellent experiences and are sorry that yours wasn't up to par. Hopefully, you'll give us another chance the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let's start with no 24 hrs room service, if you get up late or arrive late you are done.
The decor and comfort leaves a lot to be desired.
I stayed in the Hilton and Westin before, so I wanted to see if Hyatt had a better product.
Sorry, but no.
If you can hear your neighbor going to the bathroom, it is too much, at least for me.

The staff is friendly. The amenities poor

Again, if you have a choice go somewhere else

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCincinnati, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Alex, thank you for taking the time to write a review on our location. We're sorry you were unable to take advantage of our room service that operates 6am-midnight and were additionally dissatisfied with the decor. We appreciate the compliments to our friendly staff and if you do choose to stay with us again, hope that you have a quieter experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 5 nights for a work trip. Everything was seamless - check in was fast and easy, the room was clean, spacious, and well-maintained, and it was wonderful to have a refrigerator in the room. Elevators for the most part worked quickly. The only thing that I can say would need some improvement, was service in the hotel restaurant. We were there late one night, around 10PM and the server was flustered, got some things wrong, and took an extremely long time to bring the check over when we asked for it (and equally long to bring back the credit card slip to be signed). Other than that, the stay was a good one and I'm looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCincinnati, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your business trip. We're happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with our check-in process and enjoyed your room. We have taken note of your service experience at Red Roost and will send your feedback to the restaurant's managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cincinnati

Address: 151 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#13 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cincinnati 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 story contemporary Hyatt with the best service in Cincinnati by our highly trained staff! Onsite there are 2 restaurants, Findlay’s breakfast restaurant and Champ’s Restaurant and Sports Bar there’s something for everyone or dine from the comfort of your room with our In Room Dining. Cardio room overlooking the indoor pool and strength training room on 5th floor. 24HR Business Center, WiFi access. Print boarding pass or check-in at our kiosks or via web. Valet or Self Park off 5th St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.