We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerously Dirty?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Cincinnati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Cincinnati to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Cincinnati
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dangerously Dirty?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 1803 for two nights and after two days of misery discovered that the room's air filter was covered with dirt and what appeared to be mold. When I woke up the first morning my throat was burning, and by the second morning my neck, ears and throat all felt like they were on fire. My roommate suspected the air in the room was the culprit (she and a friend staying in another room were having similar symptoms) and found the air filter which appeared quite dangerously dirty. Unfortunately after a visit with the front desk and a phone call with a "manager" I was offered only a "we will get back to you once the engineers evaluate the situation" even when I politely explained that as a matter of customer service when a filter that dirty is found, even if the guest has no apparent problems, they might want to offer an apology. Not even a polite, "I'm so sorry, we will look into it." I travel for work at least once or twice a month and I've never ever given a negative review before, but others need to know that not only does this Hyatt have a potentially dangerous situation but they are lacking in basic customer service skills whether I'm suffering from the dirty air filter or simply a cold.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    79
    36
    12
    11
See reviews for
27
43
8
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, Bucks
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Two night stay on business - lovely facility and nice downtown location, within easy walk of restaurants and the music events in the town square.
Reception - on arrival late in evening (11pm-ish) the only desk clerk on duty spent 5 minutes trying to find another guest a toothbrush (or something) and didn't even acknowledge that I was waiting in the queue. Found that a bit rude.
Breakfast - very grumpy waiter serving with no explanation of what was available. It was OK - nothing startling.
Room - room was actually quite comfortable, I liked it. But - it wasn't serviced on my first day. I mentioned this to desk clerk on way out to dinner, and was assured it would be cleaned. It wasn't. I phoned down again after returning from dinner to ask what was happening - desk clerk didn't know, so I said to forget it, I was going to bed. 10 minutes later there was a knock on the door and a maid offered to clean my room. At 9.30pm. I declined.
Next morning I was due to make some business calls - but the phone on the desk wasn't working. So again I reported it to the front desk and asked if it could be fixed by 10am so I could make those calls and was told someone would have a look at it whilst I was at breakfast. They didn't. Eventually the duty manager came up when I contacted the desk again - she couldn't fix it so we jury-rigged the bedside phone to reach to the desk. She was very helpful.
I wanted to like it, as the hotel looked so good. But the service levels need some attention in order for it to match service with facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCincinnati, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your stay and we apologize for not meeting your expectations in service. Your presence at the front desk, room cleanliness, and phone should have all been addressed promptly and cordially. We have passed on your feedback to the appropriate departments and hope we can make your next stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed mid week for one night. Room immaculate and large. Bed quite comfortable. In room safe and lighted closet. Large bathroom. AC easy to regulate. Front Desk staff professional, friendly and easy going. WiFi is free and sometimes balky in the room. Only negative was incredibly poor service in RR Bar during late hours. Ordered a chip dish, two beers and an ice tea for three people. Took forever to receive the beverages and the order was incorrect. Appetizer showed up twenty minutes later after waiter stopped conversing with a fellow wait staffer. Place was not busy and was adequately staffed around 10 PM. They need some serious training.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCincinnati, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our room and front desk staff. Red Roost should've been more attentive to your needs and we apologize that wasn't the case. We've passed on your review to the restaurant manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

When I had booked my stay the hotel manager assured us that all renovations were going to be completed before our arrival. FALSE!! The lobby was a shambles, only 1 elavator worked and the hotel bar was closed. The room was not clean when we checked in so they re-aasigned us another, fine no problem there. We get into our new digs, had a great view of the roof and a/c units. TV did not work. Called for someone to repair, that took an hour then when it did get fixed the power went out. Funny how it was only our room that was affected. That took quite some time to get fixed. The maintenance staff was very nice and you could tell they were doing their best under seemingly very difficult conditions. Clearly we were not the only ones with room problems. This is a brand problem not a staff problem. Hyatt should have had the proper amount of people on staff to serve its customers. This is the second time I've stayed at this location and whether under renovation or not both stays were attrocious. I have returned my Hyatt card, I will never stay at another Hyatt location EVER! I've tried a dozen different ones and am always dissapointed. From now on its the Hilton or nothing! We had a business function for about 500 people and the bar was set up on wheels with only 2 bartenders for both bars on wheels. It literally took 45 minutes to get a drink and people were auctioning off spots closer to the front of the line. Seems to me that when you know how many people are going to occupy a space in a hotel, you staff it properly. No comps for any inconvenience! Not even the slow wifi at 19.95 per day! I<m done. Never again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Brilliantly located in the heart of downtown Cincinnati this hotel is staffed by friendly, helpful staff who seemed to take a real pleasure in helping guests.

The decor was light and airy, the rooms perfectly large, and the gym was great.

I actually ended up here as many other hotels were fully booked as there was a big convention in town, but I left thinking this is where I will always stay in future in Cincinnati.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCincinnati, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We're so glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by your stay and were able to take advantage of our gym. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and hope we excel at that again for your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency July 19 -21. Exceptional service, friendly staff, quiet, just what I was hoping for. Staff went above and beyond to make sure my stay was a good one. Shout out to all the great folks at the Hyatt Regency who did just that. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCincinnati, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay a few weeks ago and will be sure to pass on your compliments to the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We spent the night in Cincinnati, before the a day at Kings Island Amusement Park the next day. The bed was very comfortable. The front desk was very nice and helpful. The only issue was my son wanted to watch the Disney Channel the hotel did not have the channel. The hotel welcome book said it did. I was disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCincinnati, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We're honored that you chose our hotel to stay at before your fun trip to Kings Island! Thank you for the kind words about our front desk staff and room. At the time of your stay, we did not offer the Disney Channel and we apologize that the error was made in the welcome book. In about a month, we'll be switching to a new cable provider so at your next day, your son should be able to enjoy Disney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cincinnati

Address: 151 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#14 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cincinnati 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 story contemporary Hyatt with the best service in Cincinnati by our highly trained staff! Onsite there are 2 restaurants, Findlay’s breakfast restaurant and Champ’s Restaurant and Sports Bar there’s something for everyone or dine from the comfort of your room with our In Room Dining. Cardio room overlooking the indoor pool and strength training room on 5th floor. 24HR Business Center, WiFi access. Print boarding pass or check-in at our kiosks or via web. Valet or Self Park off 5th St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.