We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricy, lacking heart” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Cincinnati

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Cincinnati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #15 of 47 hotels in Cincinnati
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pricy, lacking heart”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Given the price that one pays my 6 day stay was very average. The building and rooms were obviously recently redone (one of the elevators was still being worked on) and therefore clean and fresh. The service was good, but lacked heart. Although I was always helped most of the times it felt rehearsed and forced, not natural and welcoming. I got the feeling that some of the staff feels that answering and helping is a bit beyond them, but, *sigh* must do it... Breakfast on some of the days were rather cramped with clearly not enough staff and tables available for the morning rush.
Would I stay here again? Possibly, but not definitely - it is rather convenient when you must be at the Duke Energy Convention Center! Maybe some people will find the aloof service attractive, but if you are an ordinary guy like me it's more than a bit irritating.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
17
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I first visited the Cincinnati Hyatt a few years ago and was not impressed. The lobby was outdated, the restaurant was a sad excuse for a sports bar and the rooms felt like they were in a time warp. I went back a month or so ago and it was a whole new hotel. Everything feels modern and well trout out. The restaurant was refreshing - locally sourced products, innovative dishes, they even had a selection of local craft beers, not just the big names. They have a really cool market in the lobby with gifts and food to go and a place to work with free wifi and restaurant service in the evenings.

I was very pleasantly surprised by what I found and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wi
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed during a very busy weekend. Oktoberfest & Packer/Bengals were the events of the weekend. The hotel was packed with vistors for both event and was very accomodating by being perfectly located for both events. Oktoberfest was within walking distance as was the stadium. The rooms were very nice and clean. My only complaint was the size of the shower. It was just barely big enough for one person.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 8 days last week and enjoyed the stay a lot. Location was good and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We attended 2 NFL games at Paul Brown Stadium and it was an easy walk to it and the Banks restaurant District.

Room was clean and very comfortable, and the pool was a hit with the kids. In fact we all slept in which is something the kids don't usually do!!

Valet staff did a great job, though they did find dealing with an exiting football crowd and the road closures for Octoberfest a bit tough.

And a special mention (thank you) to Daniel who checked us in, and always remembered me by name and was happy to help with any request, especially lending us an iPhone cord.

Overall would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a base in Cincinnati.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I called to make a reservation for a business meeting and I was assured that no charge would be made to my account and I would have upto 3pm the day before to cancel my reservation for travel in a few weeks .... the hotel reservations debited my account immediately and when I called to question an unexpected charge on my account from the Hyatt, the staff including the manager, reservations and Guest Services were rude, upleasant and unprofessional when a simple apology and acknowledgement of their error would have sufficed. Cinci has many other hotels that will be glad to have my business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRCincinnati, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced when trying to cancel your reservation. I definitely understand your frustration and I assure you that this is certainly not acceptable. If you would like to discuss details of your expereince further so we may pinpoint areas of concern and improve our services, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Natasha Hristovska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was here a couple weeks ago for one night. Great property with so many things to do within walking distance. Newly renovated and very clean. You can walk to the ball park, square and the convention center is just across the street. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Great rooms and pretty large junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I visited Cincinnati at the end of July during the Macy Music Festival. The hotel was packed with people attending the concerts over the weekend. I must give the Hyatt many kudos for being on pointe with efficient service with a smile. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the valet was quick in moving cars out, and the hotel staff was cordial in the face of having a full hotel.

The hotel was convenient to Paul Brown Stadium, restaurants, and shops. We also walked to the Freedom Museum, and we were glad we did.

All in all, I would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: I asked for a high floor on the end, and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Cincinnati

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati Hotel
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Cincinnati
Cincinnati Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati Ohio
Address: 151 West Fifth Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#11 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#12 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Cincinnati 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 story contemporary Hyatt with the best service in Cincinnati by our highly trained staff! Onsite there are 2 restaurants, Findlay’s breakfast restaurant and Champ’s Restaurant and Sports Bar there’s something for everyone or dine from the comfort of your room with our In Room Dining. Cardio room overlooking the indoor pool and strength training room on 5th floor. 24HR Business Center, WiFi access. Print boarding pass or check-in at our kiosks or via web. Valet or Self Park off 5th St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.