We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be closed and torn down!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cincinnati

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Cincinnati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Inn Cincinnati
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Glensprings Drive, Cincinnati, OH 45246   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #29 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Should be closed and torn down!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were on the 1st floor there must have been a flood at some point. The entire room and floor smells of mildew. There is water damage to the walls which was attempted to be covered with paint. No linen (towels) or toilet paper in room when we called front desk at night to ask for some, we were told to come to the desk to get toilet paper and towels would be available at 9am. Went to get towels in the am and there still was none, lady at desk said the hotel was booked so that is why there was no towels. The lid over the air conditioner in my room was missing. The tub was filthy. The comforter had burn marks. The breakfast consist of little Debbie snacks and knats flying all around and the worst coffee ever. Everything was old and out dated. I saw reviews where they are suppose to be remoldeling I didn't notice it, I would suggest to take a bull dozer and tear down the entire building then build a new one. I am surprised the health department hasn't shut this place down.

Room Tip: Trust me don't waste your time or money, or risk your health. Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    16
    14
    16
See reviews for
27
14
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the night of August 3rd, at the last minute for one night. (You can see my review on the Baymont Inn and Suites is the reason why we didn't have a reservation).

We got two rooms at this hotel at $55.00 a night for two families.

The lady working at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The front desk area was under construction, but we weren't worried about the construction, since that was the only area under construction.

We got to our room and it was very old looking and dingy. My husband came out of the restroom and said you are not going to like this bathroom. There were urine and that time of the month stains on the toilet. I have pictures if someone needs me to forward them over. Needless to say, we never used the bathroom at all. We were so tired we just went to bed. During the night I thought a bug was crawling in my hair, and realized it was the fitted sheet that was too large for the bed curled on my head.

The other room that we had, had mold in the shower. The carpet was coming up, so you had to watch that you didn't trip. The rooms need to be refurbished.

The hotel is in a good location if you are going to Kings Island.

Room Tip: The front desk was very nice and helpful. I think if they end up remodeling the rooms, this could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I Travel 5-10 times a year this was the worst stay ever. Had an alergic reaction to bug bites. First was told they were ants. Then we found bedbugs. Manager apologized and said he would refund room charges. We got home no refund we called hotel and Manager said no refund and accused me of having a history of doing this.......OMG MY EYE WAS ALMOST SWOLLEN SHUT and he witnessed this. No worries I have pictures and plenty of eye witnesses if it goes to court I will seek more than just room fees.

I could have accepted just bad luck or luck of the draw if you will, but when they denied it once I was back home it showed an attempt to fraud.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

OK, there were good and bad things about my stay here. When I first got there I was turned off by all the construction inside the hotel. It really did not matter though because I was never in the lobby, where most of it was. When I got to my room I was a little shocked that the paint job on the door was horribly done; it had me scared for what I will encounter when I opened the door. The bad things I found when I opened the door were towels with some stains on them and a few bugs (I think there were 3 total in my room). I was dismayed at the breakfast options. I was expecting some hot food only to find that the choices were muffins (small ones); donuts; and if were lucky enough to get there early, bagels. I am really glad I set my alarm because if I did not I would have missed out on the food.

OK, what did I like about my stay? For the most part the staff were friendly. Not always the most knowledgeable, but they tried. The TV had a lot of channels; it was a great way for me to wind down after a busy day. The water pressure in the shower was great and the water got hot quickly. I had a room by the pool but was very pleased when I saw the sign that said it was only open from 10 AM to 10 PM (and this rule is enforced by a lock on the door). The area was safe (make a right out of the driveway...those houses are AMAZING!) and close to a major highway that led you to other major highways.

I am not sure if I'd stay there again, but the price was great and I had no major problems.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This motel online said it was updated in 2010. It is still in poor shape. At the front desk their is still a sign excuse our remodeling. . Toilet seat was broken off. Room was still dirty. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Associates333, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Cincinnati, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your Review while negative it is very helpful we are attempting to fix a lot of Maintenance issues as well as Training Issues and it is an ongoing battle which we hope to win very soon. We try to make it right if you would let us know at time of Check In, we do have 119 rooms so a few rooms may be missed at times when inspected we apologize for the broken toilet seat but without know what room now we will have to figure it out. In closing a customer is entitled to a clean well maintained room which I do agree with you on 110%, and if given the opportunity at Check In, we will do what we can in our power to make it right. Again we apologize for your unfortunate experience and Thank You again for your professional and mature review which will assist us greatly in getting things fixed ASAP, it is work in progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My mate and I stay at this hotel whenever we are in cincy and will not stay anywhere else. we love the atmosphere, the courtesy of the staff, the excellent accommodations, professionalism, clean rooms and everything else about it. Poolside is great in the summer and all events held in the conference room that we attended were excellent. What more can i say? Simply not enough. We look forward to every stay. Our thanks to Peter Panchal and staff for making every stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Poolside!!!! Second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

On the up side, this hotel was clean, safe and rather pleasantly furnished. It is readily apparent that improvements are being made to the quality of the rooms and building. Unlike Motel 6, our room included a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board that one might expect in a pricier hotel. The owner/manager was friendly and helpful. And the price was great--only $44/night for two which included a continental breakfast. Several restaurants are within walking distance.

On the downside, the hotel manager smokes and smoking is permitted in some rooms. When we checked in, there was a heavy smell of smoke in the lobby. The first room we were given had the front off the AC. And during the four days of our stay, the housekeeping in our room was quite minimal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Cincinnati

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Cincinnati Hotel Cincinnati
Howard Johnson Inn Cincinnati Hotel
Cincinnati Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Cincinnati
Howard Johnson Inn Cincinnati Ohio
Address: 400 Glensprings Drive, Cincinnati, OH 45246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 hotels in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Cincinnati 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently Located Off Interstate 275 At State Route 4. Free High Speed Wireless Internet, & Continental Breakfast, Rooms With King Beds or 2 Doubles, recliner chairs, jet tubs, and work desk with task lamp, Mini Refrigerator And Microwave oven. Interior corridors, Outdoor Pool, Restaurants Adjacent, Golf. Five Minutes To Cincinnati Mills And Tri-County Shopping Malls, 15 Minutes From Kings Island, 20 Minutes To Great American Ballpark. Riverboat Gambling In Lawrenceburg, Indiana- Only 30 Minutes Away. Hairdryers, Irons And Boards In Every Room, Pet Friendly With Fee, Sports Stadiums in Downtown. Sports Bars within a 5 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Cincinnati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.